Class solidarity of working youth in the service sector

Release:

2021, Vol. 5. № 1 (15)

Title: 
Class solidarity of working youth in the service sector


For citation: Gavriliuk V. V. 2021. “Class solidarity of working youth in the service sector”. Siberian Socium, vol. 5, no. 1 (15), pp. 81-91. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2021-5-1-81-91

About the author:

Vera V. Gavriliuk, Dr. Sci. (Soc.), Professor, Department of Marketing and Municipal Management, Industrial University of Tyumen (Tyumen, Russian Federation); ORCID: 0000-0002-0131-4939; gavriliuk@list.ru

Abstract:

The purpose of this article is to show the peculiarities of the class self-awareness and solidarity formation among the new working class youth occupied in the service sector of the economy. The main tasks include revealing the correlation between the traditional content and forms of class solidarity of workers and their manifestations among the new working class youth; substantiating the use of a class approach to the analysis of the problems of young people employed in the service sector of the economy; and revealing the contradictions between the class interests and corporate habitus of the young customer service workers. The research methodology is grounded in the traditional institutional approach adopted in Russian sociology. This article is based on the materials of an empirical study using quantitative and qualitative sociological methods: a mass survey of working-class youth in the Ural Federal District (a target multistage sample model according to four objective criteria: age, gender, place of residence, and employment). Additionally, a biographical interview was conducted, the informants of which are employed in the real sector of the economy and the service sector. The results have revealed that a new working class is being formed in modern Russia, a significant part of which is employed in the service sector of the economy. The active formation of the sphere of customer service reflects the global patterns of the traditional working class tranformation. In the service sector, in contrast to the traditional working class, a significant proportion of young people lack the experience of the class solidarity of previous generations. A new generation of young workers is shaping their own experience of class solidarity in the face of conflicting demands of corporate culture and social status.

References:

  1. Badzagua G. Zh. 2015. “The controversial concept of solidarity”. Gumanitarnye vedomosti TGPU im. L. N. Tolstogo. Filosofskie nauki, no. 3, pp. 35-41. [In Russian]

  2. Boytsova O. Yu. 2018. “On the ‘negative solidarity’ as a concept of political philosophy”. Vestnik Moskovskogo universiteta. Ser. 7. Filosofija, no. 4, pp. 60-69. [In Russian]

  3. Gofman A. B. 2017. “Léon Bourgeois, Célestin Bouglé and solidarism: Introductory article”. In: Gofman A. B. (ed.). Solidarism in France during the Third Republic: Léon Bourgeois and Célestin Bouglé, pp. 4-20. Moscow: KDU, Universitetskaya kniga. [In Russian]

  4. Gavrilyuk T. V. (ed.). 2020. Life Strategies of the New Working Class Youth in Modern Russia: A Collective Monograph. Moscow: FLINTA. 408 pp. [In Russian]

  5. Efremenko D. V. 2012. “Research on social solidarity in contemporary sociology: current trends”. Socialnye i gumanitarnye nauki, serija 11 Sociologija, no. 1, pp. 5-12. [In Russian]

  6. Kovalev V. V., Popov A. V., Khotsenko V. P. 2018. “Ideas of solidarity and solidarity in the intellectual tradition of Russia and the West”. Socialno-gumanitarnye znanija, no. 7, pp. 103-110. [In Russian]

  7. Russian Statistical Yearbook. 2016. Statistical Collection. 2016. Moscow: Rosstat. [In Russian]

  8. Sorokina M. V. 2018. “Change of priorities? Job expectations of retail workers in the mirror of internet communications”. Sociologicheskie issledovanija, no. 5, pp. 99-109. [In Russian]

  9. Toshhenko Zh. T. 2019. Society of Trauma: Between Evolution and Revolution (An Experience of Theoretical and Empirical Analysis). Moscow: Ves Mir. 352 pp. [In Russian]

  10. Ursulenko K. 2009. “Social solidarity: the development of the concept in the history of sociology and its modern interpretations”. Sociologija: teorii, metody, marketing, no. 1, pp. 138-157. [In Russian]

  11. Sorokin P. A. 1947. Society, Culture, and Personality: Their Structure and Dynamics: A System of General Sociology. New York: Harper & Bros. 700 pp.

Классовая солидарность рабочей молодежи сервисной сферы

Выпуск:

2021. Том 5. № 1 (15)

Название: 
Классовая солидарность рабочей молодежи сервисной сферы


Для цитирования: Гаврилюк В. В. Классовая солидарность рабочей молодежи сервисной сферы / В. В. Гаврилюк // Siberian Socium. 2021. Том 5. № 1 (15). С. 81-91. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2021-5-1-81-91

Об авторе:

Гаврилюк Вера Владимировна, доктор социологических наук, профессор кафедры маркетинга и муниципального управления, Тюменский индустриальный университет (г. Тюмень, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0002-0131-4939; gavriliuk@list.ru

Аннотация:

В статье показываются особенности формирования классового самосознания и солидарности молодежи нового рабочего класса сервисной сферы экономики. Для этого выявляется соотношение традиционного содержания и форм классовой солидарности рабочих и их проявлений среди молодежи нового рабочего класса; обосновывается использование классового подхода к анализу проблем молодежи, занятой в сервисной сфере экономики; исследуются противоречия между классовыми интересами и корпоративным габитусом молодежи клиентского сервиса. Методология исследования опирается на традиционный институциональный подход, принятый в отечественной социологии. Статья основана на материалах эмпирического исследования с использованием количественных и качественных социологических методов: массового опроса рабочей молодежи Уральского федерального округа (использована модель целевой многоступенчатой выборки по четырем объективным критериям — возраст, пол, место жительства, сфера занятости). Кроме того, было проведено биографическое интервью, информанты которого заняты в реальном секторе экономики и сервисной сфере. Выявлено, что в современной России формируется новый рабочий класс, значительная часть которого занята в сервисной сфере экономики. Активное формирование сферы клиентского сервиса отражает общемировые закономерности трансформации традиционного рабочего класса. В сервисной сфере, в отличие от традиционного рабочего класса, значительна доля молодежи, лишенной опыта классовой солидарности предшествующих поколений. Новое поколение рабочей молодежи формирует собственный опыт классовой солидарности в условиях противоречивых требований корпоративной культуры и социального статуса.

Список литературы:

  1. Бадзагуа Г. Ж. Противоречивое понятие солидарности / Г. Ж. Бадзагуа // Гуманитарные ведомости ТГПУ им. Л. Н. Толстого. Философские науки. 2015. № 3. С. 35-41.

  2. Бойцова О. Ю. К вопросу о «негативной солидарности» как концепте политической философии / О. Ю. Бойцова // Вестник Московского университета. Серия 7. Философия. 2018. № 4. С. 60-69.

  3. Гофман А. Б. Леон Буржуа, Селестен Бугле и солидаризм: вступительная статья / А. Б. Гофман // Солидаризм во Франции в период Третьей Республики: Леон Буржуа и Селестен Бугле / под ред. А. Б. Гофмана. М.: КДУ, Университетская книга, 2017. C. 4-20.

  4. Жизненные стратегии молодежи нового рабочего класса: коллективная монография / под ред. Т. В. Гаврилюк. М.: ФЛИНТА, 2020. 408 с.

  5. Ефременко Д. В. Исследования социальной солидарности в современной социологии: актуальные тенденции / Д. В. Ефременко // Социальные и гуманитарные науки. Серия 11. Социология. 2012. № 1. С. 5-12.

  6. Ковалев В. В. Идеи солидаризма и солидарности в интеллектуальной традиции России и Запада / В. В. Ковалев, А. В. Попов, В. П. Хоценко // Социально-гуманитарные знания. 2018. № 7. С. 103-110.

  7. Российский статистический ежегодник. 2016. Стат. сб. М.: Росстат, 2016. 725 с.

  8. Сорокина М. В. Смена приоритетов? Трудовые ожидания работников ритейла в зеркале интернет-коммуникаций // Социологические исследования. 2018. № 5. С. 99-109.

  9. Тощенко Ж. Т. Общество травмы: между эволюцией и революцией (опыт теоретического и эмпирического анализа) / Ж. Т. Тощенко. Москва: Весь Мир, 2019. 352 с.

  10. Урсуленко К. Социальная солидарность: развитие понятия в истории социологии и современные интерпретации / К. Урсуленко // Социология: теории, методы, маркетинг. 2009. № 1. С. 138-157.

  11. Sorokin P. A. Society, Culture, and Personality: Their Structure and Dynamics: a System of General Sociology / P. A. Sorokin. New York: Harper & Bros, 1947. 700 pp.