The distance learning during the pandemic: university teachers’ and students’ opinion

Release:

2021, Vol. 5. № 1 (15)

Title: 
The distance learning during the pandemic: university teachers’ and students’ opinion


For citation: Lazareva O. P., Moroz N. A. 2021. “The distance learning during the pandemic: university teachers’ and students’ opinion”. Siberian Socium, vol. 5, no. 1 (15), pp. 50-67. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2021-5-1-50-67

About the authors:

Oksana P. Lazareva, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Centre of Foreign Languages and Communicative Technologies, University of Tyumen (Tyumen, Russian Federation); ORCID: 0000-0001-7242-8397; o.p.lazareva@utmn.ru

Narkiza A. Moroz, Cand. Sci. (Philol.), Associate Professor, Centre of Foreign Languages and Communicative Technologies, University of Tyumen (Tyumen, Russian Federation); ORCID: 0000-0002-7987-0986; n.a.moroz@utmn.ru

Abstract:

This article studies the problem of distance teaching in the pandemic of spring and autumn 2020. The topic of the necessary transition to the computer-mediated interrelation between university teachers and students gains important nowadays, as the worldwide events lead to an inevitable transformation of the educational structure. The changes in the higher educational institutions make students and teaсhers review their attitude to the system and methods of education. We can find the analysis of distance learning in many sources, but the remote learning in state of emergency has not been fully examined. The purpose of this article is to analyze the situation, connected with the distance learning in higher educational institutions, its impact on the level of students’ knowledge and skills. This article gives the perspectives of education taking into consideration information and communication technologies. The authors have conducted the theoretical and comparative analysis of literature, observed the learning process at university, and offered a questionnaire to university teachers and students. The researchers have revealed that, in spite of the technologies being a part of our lives, the quality of education depends on teachers who can use these technologies to their best. A technology without a person does not work. According to the majority of the respondents, the principles of teaching dominate over technologies. However, some elements of teaching should be definitely automated. The pandemic revealed the specific mistakes and weaknesses of high education in Russia, and the authors suggest some ways for its improvement in the period of sanitary and epidemiological restrictions.

References:

  1. Gubernatorov E. “The ‘stress test’ of the pandemic revealed the main shortcomings of Russian universities”. RBC. Accessed 15 February 2021. https://www.rbc.ru/society/03/07/2020/5efdf6e09a794734267c9521 [In Russian]

  2. Interfax — Higher Education in Russia. “Distance Learning in Extreme Conditions”. Accessed 15 February 2021. https://academia.interfax.ru/ru/analytics/research/4491/ [In Russian]

  3. Dronova E. N. 2018. “Distance learning technologies in higher education: experience and challenges of use”. Nauka, obrazovanie, kultura, no. 3, pp. 26-34. [In Russian]

  4. Kalacheva I. V. 2018. “Moodle distance learning system in the educational space of the university”. Proceedings of the 10th International Teaching and Methodical Conference “The Modern University in a Digital Educational Environment: A Focus on Advanced Development”, pp. 19-23. Ulyanov Cheboksary State University. [In Russian]

  5. Karpinskaya E. “COVID-19: effects for higher education”. Kazan (Volga Region) Federal University — the official website. Accessed 15 February 2021. https://kpfu.ru/womens-league/aktualno/obrazovanie/covid-19-effekty-dlya-vysshego-obrazovaniya-38990... [In Russian]

  6. Kiseleva T. Yu. 2016. “Innovation digital decisions of quality improving and optimization of learning process in the conditions of adaptation after the pandemic”. Innovations. Science. Education, no. 16, pp. 299-305. [In Russian]

  7. Kostenko Ya. “Passing the test: students’ professional aptitude will be checked by their digital trail”. Izvestia — news of economics, politics, sports, culture. IZ.RU. Accessed 16 February 2021. https://iz.ru/1040639/iaroslava-kostenko/sdast-analiz-profprigodnost-studentov-proveriat-po-tcifrovo... [In Russian]

  8. Lazareva O. P., Moroz N. A., Poletaeva O. B., Shatilovich O. V. 2020. “Integration of formal and informal teaching of translation at university in the frame of the programm 5-100”. Bulletin of Tomsk State University, vol. 457, pp. 192-204. [In Russian]

  9. Lobova S. V., Ponkina E. V. 2021. “Online courses: to accept impossible to ignore”. Vysshee Obrazovanie v Rossii = Higher Education in Russia, vol. 30, no. 1, pp. 25-35. DOI: 10.31992/0869-3617-2021-30-1-23-35 [In Russian]

  10. “Pitmen, Isaac”. Krugosvet Encyclopedia. Accessed 30 October 2020. https://www.krugosvet.ru/enc/gumanitarnye_nauki/lingvistika/PITMEN_ISAAK.html [In Russian]

  11. Pyanzina E. P. 2013. “Competence of distance learning teacher as the basis for the quality of distance learning system”. Proceedings of the 16th International Research Conference of the humanitarian University (Ekaterinburg). Vol. 2, pp. 144-146. [In Russian]

  12. Sevrukova E. A. 2019. “Teaching digital skills: global challenges and progressive practices. experience of educational organization in the sphere of digital skills formation”. Proceedings of Russian Scientific Conference, pp. 159-162. [In Russian]

  13. Smolin O. N. 2016. “E-learning: Russian educational policy and international experience”. Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research, vol. 2, no. 1. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2016-2-1-27-41 [In Russian]

  14. Stupina S. B. 2009. Technologies of Interactive Teaching at University: Textbook. Saratov: Nauka. 52 pp. [In Russian]

  15. Tischenko V. A. 2009. “Computer-mediated communication: communication barriers”. Vestnik Tomskogo gosudarstvennogo pedagogicheskogo universiteta, vol. 9 (87), pp. 24-28. [In Russian]

  16. Kholodkova I. V. 2009. “Didactic conditions for the integration of full-time and distance learning”. Cand. Sci. (Ped.) diss. abstract. Moscow. 29 pp. [In Russian]

  17. Shafranov-Kutsev G. F. 2017. “Some trends in the development of the russian higher education in the digital age”. Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research, vol. 3, no. 4, pp. 8-18. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2017-3-4-8-18 [In Russian]

  18. Shtikhno D. A., Konstantinova L. V., Gagiyev N. N. 2020. “Transition of universities to distance mode during the pandemic: problems and possible risks”. Open Education, vol. 24, no. 5, pp. 72-81. DOI: 10.21686/1818-4243-2020-5-72-81 [In Russian]

  19. Shutenko A. I. 2016. “Distance learning information technologies as tools to improve the accessibility and usefulness of university training”. Vestnik po pedagogike i psikhologii Yuzhnoy Sibiri, no. 4, pp. 56-67. [In Russian]

  20. Attia A. 2017. “A few techniques to teach soft skills in the classroom”. British Council. https://www.britishcouncil.org/voices-magazine/few -techniques-teach-soft-skills-classroom

  21. Godwin-Jones R. 2009. “Focusing on form: tools and strategies”. Language Learning & Technology, no. 13 (1), pp. 5-12. http://llt.msu.edu/vol13num1/emerging.pdf

  22. Haines K. J. 2015. “Learning to identify and actualize affordances in a new tool”. Language Learning & Technology, no. 19 (1), pp. 165-180. http://llt.msu.edu/issues/february2015/haines.pdf

  23. Ushioda E. 2013. “Motivation matters in mobile language learning: a brief commentary”. Language Learning & Technology, no. 17 (3), pp. 1-5. http://llt.msu.edu/issues/october2013/commentary.pdf

Дистанционное обучение в условиях пандемии: мнение преподавателей и студентов вуза

Выпуск:

2021. Том 5. № 1 (15)

Название: 
Дистанционное обучение в условиях пандемии: мнение преподавателей и студентов вуза


Для цитирования: Лазарева О. П. Духовно-экологическая цивилизационная перспектива: ценностный потенциал молодежи в сибирском контексте / О. П. Лазарева, Н. А. Мороз // Siberian Socium. 2021. Том 5. № 1 (15). С. 50-67. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2021-5-1-50-67

Об авторах:

Лазарева Оксана Петровна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент Центра иностранных языков и коммуникативных технологий, Тюменский государственный университет (г. Тюмень, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0001-7242-8397; o.p.lazareva@utmn.ru

Мороз Наркиза Абриковна, кандидат филологических наук, доцент Центра иностранных языков и коммуникативных технологий, Тюменский государственный университет (г. Тюмень, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0002-7987-0986; n.a.moroz@utmn.ru

Аннотация:

В статье рассматривается дистанционное обучение в вузе в период пандемии весной и осенью 2020 г. Тема вынужденного перехода на компьютерно-опосредованное взаимодействие между преподавателями высшей школы и студентами остается актуальной и по сей день, так как происходящие в России и за рубежом процессы приводят к неизбежной трансформации структуры образования. Обучение в высшей школе претерпевает значительные изменения, которые в свою очередь ведут к необходимости пересмотра отношения как студентов, так и преподавателей к существующим системе и формам обучения. Дистанционная форма обучения рассматривается во многих источниках, но удаленное обучение в высших учебных заведениях в период чрезвычайной ситуации еще не изучено достаточно полно. Цель статьи — анализ ситуации, связанной с дистанционным обучением в вузах, его влиянием на уровень знаний и умений студентов в условиях пандемии. В статье очерчены перспективы развития образования с точки зрения развития информационных и коммуникационных технологий. Использованы теоретический и сравнительный анализ литературы, наблюдение за процессом обучения в одном из вузов, а также анкетный опрос преподавателей и студентов. Исследование позволило авторам сделать вывод, что, хотя технологии играют огромную роль в обучении студентов и необходимо принять ситуацию такой, какова она есть и позитивно смотреть в будущее, качество обучения в значительной степени зависит от преподавателя. Никакая компьютерная технология не сможет заменить хорошего педагога в студенческой аудитории. По мнению большинства респондентов, принципы обучения главенствуют над технологиями. Но некоторые элементы обучения должны быть автоматизированы. Период пандемии показал определенные слабые стороны и проблемы в функционировании системы современного высшего образования в нашей стране. В статье предложены конкретные шаги по его совершенствованию в условиях санитарно-эпидемиологических ограничений.

Список литературы:

  1. Губернаторов Е. «Стресс-тест» пандемии выявил главные недостатки российских вузов / Е. Губернаторов // РБК. URL: https://www.rbc.ru/society/03/07/2020/5efdf6e09a794734267c9521 (дата обращения: 15.02.2021).

  2. Дистанционное обучение в экстремальных условиях // Интерфакс — Высшее образование в России. URL: https://academia.interfax.ru/ru/analytics/research/4491/ (дата обращения: 15.02.2021).

  3. Дронова Е. Н. Технологии дистанционного обучения в высшей школе: опыт и трудности использования / Е. Н. Дронова // Наука, Образование, Культура. 2018. № 3. С. 26-34.

  4. Калачева И. В. Система дистанционного обучения Moodle в образовательном пространстве вуза / И. В. Калачева // Материалы Х Международной учебно-методической конференции «Современный университет в цифровой образовательной среде: ориентир на опережающее развитие», Чебоксарский государственный университет имени И.Н. Ульянова. 2018. С. 19-23.

  5. Карпинская Е. COVID-19: эффекты для высшего образования / Е. Карпинская // Казанский (Приволжский) федеральный университет — официальный сайт. URL: https://kpfu.ru/womens-league/aktualno/obrazovanie/covid-19-effekty-dlya-vysshego-obrazovaniya-38990... (дата обращения: 15.02.2021).

  6. Киселева Т. Ю. Инновационные цифровые решения повышения качества и оптимизации учебного процесса в условиях адаптации после пандемии / Т. Ю. Киселева // Инновации. Наука. Образование. 2020. № 16. С. 299-305.

  7. Костенко Я. Сдаст анализ: профпригодность студентов проверят по цифровому следу / Я. Костенко // Известия — новости экономики, политики, спорта, культуры. IZ.RU. URL: https://iz.ru/1040639/iaroslava-kostenko/sdast-analiz-profprigodnost-studentov-proveriat-po-tcifrovo... (дата обращения 16.02.2021)

  8. Лазарева О. П. Интеграция формального и неформального обучения переводу в вузе в рамках реализации программы 5-100 / О. П. Лазарева, Н. А. Мороз, О. Б. Полетаева, О. В. Шатилович // Вестник Томского государственного университета. 2020. № 457. С. 192-204.

  9. Лобова С. В. Онлайн-курсы: принять нельзя игнорировать / С. В. Лобова, Е. В. Понькина // Высшее образование в России. 2021. Том 30. № 1. С. 23-35. DOI: 10.31992/0869-3617-2021-30-1-23-35

  10. Питмен, Исаак // Энциклопедия «Кругосвет»: универсальная научно-популярная энциклопедия. URL: https://www.krugosvet.ru/enc/gumanitarnye_nauki/lingvistika/PITMEN_ISAAK.html (дата обращения: 30.10.2020).

  11. Пьянзина Е. П. Компетентность преподавателя дистанционного обучения как основа качества системы дистанционного обучения / Е. П. Пьянзина // Материалы XVI Международной научно-практической конференции Гуманитарного университета (Екатеринбург). 2013. Том 2. С. 144-146.

  12. Севрюкова Е. А. Обучение цифровым навыкам: глобальные вызовы и передовые практики / Е. А. Севрюкова // Опыт образовательной организации в сфере формирования цифровых навыков. Сборник материалов Всероссийской научно-методической конференции с международным участием. 2019. С. 159-162.

  13. Смолин О. Н. Электронное обучение: российская образовательная политика и зарубежный опыт / О. Н. Смолин // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования. 2016. Том 2. № 1. С. 27-41.

  14. Ступина С. Б. Технологии интерактивного обучения в высшей школе: учебно-методическое пособие / С. Б. Ступина. Саратов: Наука, 2009. 52 с.

  15. Тищенко В. А. Компьютерно-опосредованная учебная коммуникация: коммуникативные барьеры / В. А. Тищенко // Вестник Томского государственного педагогического университета. 2009. № 9 (87). С. 24-28.

  16. Холодкова И. В. Дидактические условия интеграции очной и дистанционной форм обучения: автореферат дис. … канд. пед. наук / И. В. Холодкова. Москва. 2009. 29 с.

  17. Шафранов-Куцев Г. Ф. Некоторые тенденции развития российского высшего образования в цифровую эпоху / Г. Ф. Шафранов-Куцев // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования. 2017. Том 3. № 4. С. 8-18.

  18. Штыхно Д. А. Переход вузов в дистанционный режим в период пандемии: проблемы и возможные риски / Д. А. Штыхно, Л. В. Константинова, Н. Н. Гагиев // Открытое образование. 2020. № 24 (5) С. 72-81. DOI: 10.21686/1818-4243-2020-5-72-81

  19. Шутенко А. И. Информационные технологии дистанционного обучения как инструменты повышения доступности и полноценности вузовской подготовки / А. И. Шутенко // Вестник по педагогике и психологии Южной Сибири. 2016. № 4. C. 56-67.

  20. Attia А. A few techniques to teach soft skills in the classroom / A. Attia // British Council. 2017. URL: https://www.britishcouncil.org/voices-magazine/few-techniques-teach-soft-skills-classroom (дата обращения: 16.02.2021).

  21. Godwin-Jones R. Focusing on form: Tools and strategies / R. Godwin-Jones // Language Learning & Technology. 2009. No. 13 (1). Pp. 5-12. URL: https://scholarspace.manoa.hawaii.edu/bitstream/10125/44162/1/13_01_emerging.pdf (дата обращения: 16.02.2021).

  22. Haines K. J. Learning to identify and actualize affordances in a new tool / K. J. Haines // Language Learning & Technology. 2015. No. 19 (1). Pp. 165-180. URL: https://unitec.researchbank.ac.nz/bitstream/handle/10652/3208/LLT%20article%20Feb%202015%20haines.pd... (дата обращения 16.02.2021)

  23. Ushioda E. Motivation matters in mobile language learning: A brief commentary / E. Ushioda Language Learning & Technology. 2013. No. 17 (3). Pp. 1-5. URL: http://llt.msu.edu/issues/october2013/commentary.pdf (дата обращения: 16.02.2021).