Dynamics of the formation of the social capital of youth (based on the research materials in the Vologda Region in 2016-2019)

Release:

2020, Vol. 4. № 4 (14)

Title: 
Dynamics of the formation of the social capital of youth (based on the research materials in the Vologda Region in 2016-2019)


For citation: Vorobyova I. N., Yasnikov N. N. 2020. “Dynamics of the formation of the social capital of youth (based on the research materials in the Vologda Region in 2016 2019)”. Siberian Socium, vol. 4, no. 4 (14), pp. 80-91. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-4-80-91

About the authors:

Irina N. Vorobyova, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor,  Cherepovets State University (Cherepovets, Russian Federation); vorobyova-i-n@yandex.ru

Nikolay N. Yasnikov, Master of Sociology, Research Engineer, Vologda Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Vologda, Russian Federation); Postgraduate Student, Cherepovets State University (Cherepovets, Russian Federation); ORCID: 0000-0003-1845-154X; WoS ResearcherID: U-2140-2018; nyasnikov94@mail.ru

Abstract:

Over the past few years, neither the real incomes of the population, nor the economic situation of the country as a whole have been favourable by the Russian citizens. The presence of objective problems in the acquisition of material resources, together with the natural desire of a person to live in the most comfortable conditions, raise the question of finding other, intangible, resources to meet needs. An example of such a resource is social capital, which has recently attracted the attention of researchers in Russia and the world more recently. In view of the peculiarities of youth (18-30 y. o.), as a period of development of the human personality, it is precisely on this segment of life that the first significant attempts to independently form social capital fall. Not least of all, this is connected with admission to higher educational institutions, which is often associated with leaving the familiar environment and the need to act in completely new social networks and roles. Consequently, the responsibility for independent actions in this area is becoming higher. In this regard, based on studies conducted by the Vologda Scientific Center of the Russian Academy of Sciences, we decided to identify the main features of the formation of social capital in youth and to see how the situation with its accumulation changes in time. The main results of our study include the discovery that the accumulation of social capital at a young age is more effective due to the greater readiness of young people for joint action. Clarification of the fact that investments in social capital, even in youth, quickly begin to bring dividends. Based on the positive changes in social capital over time, it was concluded that the Vologda Region has the potential for its further development. As a result, it was concluded that the active use of the potential for the accumulation of social capital in youth is characterized by increased productivity, due to the fact that in the considered period of life, people are more prone to unification.

References:

  1. Andreenkova N. V. 2010. “Comparative analysis of life satisfaction and its determinants”. Monitoring obshchestvennogo mneniya: ekonomicheskie i sotsialnye peremeny, no. 5 (99), pp. 189-215. [In Russian]

  2. Blok M., Golovin N. A. 2015. “Social capital: to summarize the concept”. Vestnik SPbGU, Ser. 12, no. 4, pp. 99-111. [In Russian]

  3. Weber M. 1990. Selected Works. Moscow: Progress. 808 pp. [In Russian]

  4. Guzhavina T. A. 2018. “Non-material resources of adaptation of the population in the context of crisis”. Problems of Territory’s Development, no. 3 (95), pp. 45-57. DOI: 10.15838/ptd.2018.3.95.3 [In Russian]

  5. Guzhavina T. A. 2017. “Social capital of young people: experience of the sociological analysis”. Social Area, no. 1 (8).Accessed 6 September 2020. http://socialarea-journal.ru/article/2187 [In Russian]

  6. Coleman J. 2001. “Social capital in the creation of human capital”. Obshchestvennye nauki i sovremennost, no. 3, pp. 121-139. [In Russian]

  7. Krotov D. V. 2009. “Social capital of Russian youth: the problem of reproduction”. Dr. Sci. (Soc.) diss. Rostov-on-Don. 251 pp. [In Russian]

  8. Lisovskiy V. T. 2000. Spiritual World and Value Orientations of Russian Youth. Saint Petersburg. 512 pp. [In Russian]

  9. Lukov V. A. 2012. Theories of Youth: Interdisciplinary Analysis. Moscow: Kanon+ ROOI “Reabilitatsiya”. 528 pp. [In Russian]

  10. Popova I. P. 2007. “Education — human and social capital of youth”. Vysshee obrazovanie v Rossii, no. 10, pp. 104-107. [In Russian]

  11. Guzhavina T. A. Afanasyev D. V., Vorobyova I. N., Mekhova A. A., Morev M. V., Dementyeva I. N. 2018. Regional Social Capital in Crisis Conditions. Cherepovets: CHGU. 220 pp. [In Russian]

  12. Rezanova E. V. 2016. Corporate Strategic Communications: Collection of Research Articles. Edited by S. V. Dubovik et al. Minsk: BGU. Accessed 8 September 2020. http://elib.bsu.by/handle/123456789/159386 [In Russian]

  13. Volkov Yu. G., Dobrenkov V. I., Kadariya F. D. et al. 2001. Youth Sociology. Rostov-on-Don. 576 pp. [In Russian]

  14. Strelnikova L. V. 2004. “Social capital: typology of foreign approaches”. Obshchestvennye nauki i sovremennost, no. 2, pp. 33-41. [In Russian]

  15. Chebunina O. A. 2019. “Virtual social capital in the process of youth Internet socialization”. Gumanitariy Yuga Rossii, vol. 8, no. 1, pp. 229-241. [In Russian]

  16. Yasnikov N. N. 2019. “Factors Contributing to the formation of the youth’s social capital”. Social Area, no. 5 (22), pp. 1-9 [In Russian]

  17. Yasnikov N. N. 2019. “Interaction of social capital and family institution”. Proceedings of the International Research Conference “Nauchnye razrabotki: Evraziyskiy region”, pp. 27-31. Ufa: Infiniti. [In Russian]

  18. Bourdieu P. 1983. “Ökonomisches Kapital, kulturelles Kapital, soziales Kaputal”. In: Kreckel R. (ed.). Soziale Ungeichheiten (Soziale Welt, Sonderheft 2), pp. 183-198. Goettingen: Otto Schwartz & Co.

  19. Fukuyama F. 1995. Trust: The Social Virtues and the Creation of Prosperity. New York: Free Press. 457 pp.

  20. Knack S., Keefer Ph. 1997. “Does social capital have an economic payoff? a cross-country investigation”. Quarterly Journal of Economics, vol. 112, no. 4, pp. 1251-1288.

  21. Nannicini T., Stella A., Tabellini G., Troiano U. 2010. “Social capital and political accountability”. CEPR Discussion Papers, no. 7782. https://econpapers.repec.org/paper/cprceprdp/7782.htm

  22. Ostrom E. 2000. “Collective action and the evolution of social norms”. Journal of Economic Perspectives, vol. 14, no. 3, pp. 137-158.

  23. Putnam D. 1994. Making Democracy Work: Civic Traditions in Modern Italy. Princeton, New Jersey, USA: Princeton University Press. 122 pp.

Динамика формирования социального капитала молодежи (на материалах исследований в Вологодской области в 2016-2019 гг.)

Выпуск:

2020. Том 4. № 4 (14)

Название: 
Динамика формирования социального капитала молодежи (на материалах исследований в Вологодской области в 2016-2019 гг.)


Для цитирования: Воробьёва И. Н. Динамика формирования социального капитала молодежи (на материалах исследований в Вологодской области в 2016 2019 гг.) / И. Н. Воробьёва, Н. Н. Ясников // Siberian Socium. 2020. Том 4. № 4 (14). С. 80-91. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-4-80-91

Об авторах:

Воробьева Ирина Николаевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент, Череповецкий государственный университет (г. Череповец, РФ); vorobyova-i-n@yandex.ru

Ясников Николай Николаевич, магистр социологии, инженер-исследователь, Вологодский научный центр РАН (г. Вологда, РФ); аспирант, Череповецкий государственный университет (г. Череповец, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0003-1845-154X; WoS ResearcherID: U-2140-2018; nyasnikov94@mail.ru

Аннотация:

На протяжении последних нескольких лет реальные доходы населения страны постепенно ухудшались. Наличие объективных проблем в вопросе приобретения материальных благ в совокупности с естественным желанием человека жить в наиболее комфортных условиях ставят вопрос о поиске иных, нематериальных ресурсов для удовлетворения потребностей. Примером подобного ресурса может служить социальный капитал, который в последнее время всё чаще привлекает внимание исследователей в России и мире. Ввиду особенностей молодости (18-30 лет) как периода развития человеческой личности, именно на этот отрезок жизни приходятся первые существенные попытки самостоятельного формирования социального капитала. Не в последнюю очередь это связано с поступлением в высшие учебные заведения, что зачастую сопряжено с изменением привычного окружения и необходимостью действовать в совершенно новых социальных сетях и ролях. Следовательно, и ответственность за самостоятельные действия в этой области становится выше. В связи с этим цель нашей статьи — на основании исследований, проводимых Вологодским научным центром РАН, выявить характерные особенности формирования социального капитала у молодежи и проанализировать их во временном разрезе (2016-2019 гг.). Основным результатом нашего исследования стало обнаружение того, что формирование социального капитала у молодежи происходит более активно, чем у представителей старших поколений. При этом установлено, что «инвестиционные вложения» в эту форму капитала сравнительно быстро «окупаются» и приводят к ожидаемым результатам. На основании положительных изменений в социальном капитале даже в краткосрочной динамике сделан вывод, что молодежь, проживающая в Вологодской области, имеет существенный потенциал для его дальнейшего развития.

Список литературы:

  1. Андреенкова Н. В. Сравнительный анализ удовлетворенности жизнью и определяющих ее факторов / Н. В. Андреенкова // Мониторинг общественного мнения: экономические и социальные перемены. 2010. № 5 (99). С. 189-215.

  2. Блок М. Социальный капитал: к обобщению понятия / М. Блок, Н. А. Головин // Вестник СПбГУ. 2015. Сер. 12. Вып. 4. С. 99-111.

  3. Вебер М. Избранные произведения / М. Вебер. М.: Прогресс, 1990. 808 с.

  4. Гужавина Т. А. Нематериальные ресурсы адаптации населения в условиях кризиса / Т. А. Гужавина // Проблемы развития территории. 2018. № 3 (95). С. 45-57. DOI: 10.15838/ptd.2018.3.95.3

  5. Гужавина Т. А. Социальный капитал молодежи: опыт социологического анализа / Т. А. Гужавина // Социальное пространство. 2017. № 1 (8). URL: http://socialarea-journal.ru/article/2187 (дата обращения: 06.09.2020).

  6. Коулман Дж. Капитал социальный и человеческий / Дж. Коулман // Общественные науки и современность. 2001. № 3. С. 121-139.

  7. Кротов Д. В. Социальный капитал российской молодежи: проблема воспроизводства: дис. … докт. социол. наук / Д. В. Кротов. Ростов-на-Дону, 2009. 251 с.

  8. Лисовский В. Т. Духовный мир и ценностные ориентации молодежи России / В. Т. Лисовский. СПб.: СПбГУП, 2000. 512 с.

  9. Луков В. А. Теории молодежи: Междисциплинарный анализ: науч. монография / В. А. Луков. М.: Канон+ РООИ «Реабилитация», 2012. 528 с.

  10. Попова И. П. Образование — человеческий и социальный капитал молодежи / И. П. Попова // Высшее образование в России. 2007. № 10. С. 104-107.

  11. Региональный социальный капитал в условиях кризиса: монография / Т. А. Гужавина, Д. В. Афанасьев, И. Н. Воробьёва, А. А. Мехова, М. В. Морев, И. Н. Дементьева. Череповец: ЧГУ, 2018. 220 с.

  12. Резанова Е. В. Корпоративные стратегические коммуникации: сб. науч. ст. / Е. В. Резанова; БГУ, Институт журналистики, каф. технологий коммуникации; редкол.: С. В. Дубовик (отв. ред.) [и др.]. Минск: БГУ, 2016. С. 62-87. URL: http://elib.bsu.by/handle/123456789/159386 (дата обращения: 08.09.2020).

  13. Социология молодежи: учеб. пособие для вузов / Ю. Г. Волков, В. И. Добреньков, Ф. Д. Кадария и др. Ростов-на-Дону: Феникс, 2001. 576 с.

  14. Стрельникова Л. В. Социальный капитал: типология зарубежных подходов / Л. В. Стрельникова // Общественные науки и современность. 2004. № 2. С. 33-41.

  15. Чебунина О. А. Виртуальный социальный капитал в процессе интернет-социализации молодежи / О. А. Чебунина // Гуманитарий Юга России. 2019. Том 8. № 1. С. 229-241.

  16. Ясников Н. Н. Факторы формирования социального капитала молодежи / Н. Н. Ясников // Социальное пространство. 2019. № 5 (22). С. 1-9.

  17. Ясников Н. Н. Взаимодействие социального капитала и института семьи / Н. Н. Ясников // Научные разработки: Евразийский регион: м-лы междунар. науч. конференции. Уфа: Инфинити, 2019. С. 27-31.

  18. Bourdieu P. Ökonomisches Kapital, kulturelles Kapital, soziales Kaputal / P. Bourdieu // Soziale Ungeichheiten (Soziale Welt, Sonderheft 2) / Kreckel, Reinhard (ed.). Goettingen: Otto Schwartz & Co., 1983. Рp. 183-198.

  19. Fukuyama F. Trust: The Social Virtues and the Creation of Prosperity / F. Fukuyama. New York: Free Press, 1995. 457 рp.

  20. Knack S. Does Social Capital have an economic payoff? A cross-country investigation / S. Knack, Ph. Keefer // Quarterly Journal of Economics. 1997. Vol. 112. No 4. Рр. 1251-1288.

  21. Nannicini T. Social Capital and political accountability / T. Nannicini, A. Stella, G. Tabellini, U. Troiano // CEPR Discussion Papers. 2010. No 7782. URL: https://econpapers.repec.org/paper/cprceprdp/7782.htm

  22. Ostrom E. Collective action and the evolution of social norms / E. Ostrom // Journal of Economic Perspectives. 2000. Vol. 14. No 3. Рр. 137-158.

  23. Putnam D. Making Democracy Work: Civic Traditions in Modern Italy / D. Putnam. Princeton, New Jersey, USA: Princeton University Press, 1994. 122 рp.