The social functions of the public relations service of the regional executive branch

Release:

2020, Vol. 4. № 4 (14)

Title: 
The social functions of the public relations service of the regional executive branch


For citation: Vdovkina N. I., Ponomareva Yu. E. 2020. “The social functions of the public relations service of the regional executive branch”. Siberian Socium, vol. 4, no. 4 (14), pp. 67-79. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-4-67-79

About the authors:

Natalya I. Vdovkina, Temporary Deputy Head of the Information and Publishing Department, Agency of Labor and Employment of the Population of the Krasnoyarsk Territory (Krasnoyarsk, Russian Federation); natasha2595@mail.ru

Yulia E. Ponomaryova, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Siberian Federal University (Krasnoyarsk, Russian Federation); if79@inbox.ru

Abstract:

This article studies the social functions of a public relations service of a regional executive authority on the example of the information and publishing department of the labor and employment agency of the Krasnoyarsk Territory. The Public Relations Service is regarded as a social institution, wherein this institute is interpreted as an approved and stable set of statuses and roles. This set acts in society, and its goal is to form an environment for effective public communications between social actors. The authors consider the main approaches to the analysis of the service responsible for public relations as a social institution; in addition, they define the specifics of the social functions of the service implementing public relations — the executive authority of the region. The relevance of the study is determined by the fact that the public relations service, which operates in the structure of the authority, determines, among other things, a positive idea about all public authorities in general. The purpose of the study is to analyze the social function of the public relations service of the regional executive authorities. The authors have employed the following methods: expert survey, content analysis of media materials, secondary analysis of data from sociological analysis of the image of the state employment service of the population of the Krasnoyarsk Territory. Based on the results of theoretical, methodological, and empirical studies, the authors conclude that in addition to the obvious social function of information, the public relations service performs a managerial social function through the creation of an information and communication environment in which an effective dialogue between social actors unfolds. The public relations service of the executive branch of the region, in turn, has its own specifics of these social functions. This is one of the social institutions that creates the conditions not only for the gradual and growing development of the image of the executive branch, but also for the development of a favorable perception of the population about public services provided by the government.

References:

  1. Voytenko E. 2015. “PR-activity of the state press-service: basic methods of assessment”. Svyazi s obshchestvennostyu v gosudarstvennykh strukturakh, no. 1, pp. 11-14. [In Russian]

  2. Gerasimova G. I. 2015. Public Relations: Institutional Level of Management. Tyumen: TyumGNGU. 254 pp. [In Russian]

  3. Glotov M. B. 2003. “Social Institute: definition, structure, classification”. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya, no. 10, pp. 13-19. [In Russian]

  4. Dyuk A. 2003. “Technologies for working with public opinion at the local government level”. Gorodskoe upravlenie, no. 8, pp. 85-88. [In Russian]

  5. Konstantinova A. S. 2014. “Public relations as a social institution”. Pyatigorskiy gosudarstvennyy universitet, no. 13, pp. 23-28. [In Russian]

  6. Kohanov E. F. 2004. Theoretical and Methodological Basis of PR-Activities (Sociological Aspect). Moscow: RIP-holding. 201 pp. [In Russian]

  7. Nevostrueva, A. F. 2015. “Public relations as an important element of the information and communication space of modern Russia”. Diskussiya, no. 3 (55), pp. 91-97. [In Russian]

  8. Romashko T. V., Belyakova N. Yu. 2014. “Role of information and communication environment in the formation of modern educational space”. Vestnik Leningradskogo Gosudarstvennogo Universiteta im. A. S. Pushkina, no. 3, pp. 211-225. [In Russian]

  9. Stanovova, O. Yu. 2006. “Social functions of public relations services of state authorities”. Cand. Sci. (Soc.) diss. Moscow. 193 pp. [In Russian]

  10. Yadov V. A. 2009. Modern Theoretical Sociology as a Conceptual Basis for the Study of Russian Transformations. Saint Petersburg: Intersotsis. 138 pp. [In Russian]

  11. Bentele G., Wehmeier S. 2007. “Applying sociology to public relations: a commentary”. Public Relations Review, vol. 33, pр. 294-300.

  12. Johansson C. 2007. “Goffman’s sociology: an inspiring resource for developing public relations theory”. Public Relations Review, vol. 33, no. 3, September, pр. 275-280.

  13. Ihlen Ø., Ruler B. Van, Fredriksson M. (eds.). 2009. Public Relations and Social Theory: Key Figures and Concepts. New York; London: Taylor and Francis. 375 pр.

  14. Wæraas A. 2007. “The re-enchantment of social institutions: Max Weber and public relations”. Public Relations Review, vol. 33, no. 3, September, pp. 281-286.

Социальные функции службы связей с общественностью органа региональной исполнительной власти

Выпуск:

2020. Том 4. № 4 (14)

Название: 
Социальные функции службы связей с общественностью органа региональной исполнительной власти


Для цитирования: Вдовкина Н. И. Социальные функции службы связей с общественностью органа региональной исполнительной власти / Н. И. Вдовкина, Ю. Е. Пономарёва // Siberian Socium. 2020. Том 4. № 4 (14). С. 67-79. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-4-67-79

Об авторах:

Вдовкина Наталья Ивановна, временно замещающий должность начальника информационно-издательского отдела агентства труда и занятости населения Красноярского края (г. Красноярск, РФ); natasha2595@mail.ru

Пономарёва Юлия Евгеньевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры социологии Сибирского федерального университета (г. Красноярск, РФ); if79@inbox.ru

Аннотация:

Целью исследования стал анализ социальных функций службы связей с общественностью органов региональной исполнительной власти на примере работы информационно-издательского отдела агентства труда и занятости населения Красноярского края. Служба по связям с общественностью рассматривается как социальный институт. Данный институт трактуется в качестве официально утвержденной и устойчивой системы социальных статусов и ролей. Указанная система действует в социуме, и ее целью является формирование среды для эффективных общественных коммуникаций между социальными субъектами. В статье рассмотрены основные подходы к анализу службы, отвечающей за связи с общественностью, в качестве социального института, определена специфика социальных функций службы, реализующей связи с общественностью, органа исполнительной власти края. Актуальность исследования определяется тем, что служба по связям с общественностью, функционирующая в структуре органа власти, определяет в том числе положительное представление об всех органах государственной власти в целом. Применялись следующие методы исследования: экспертный опрос, контент-анализ материалов СМИ, вторичный анализ данных социологического исследования образа государственной службы занятости населения Красноярского края. По итогам теоретико-методологического и эмпирических исследований авторы приходят к выводу, что помимо очевидной социальной функции информирования служба по связям с общественностью выполняет управленческую социальную функцию через создание информационно-коммуникативной среды, в которой разворачивается результативный диалог между социальными субъектами. Служба по связям с общественностью органа исполнительной власти края в свою очередь имеет собственную специфику указанных социальных функций. Это один из социальных институтов, который создает условия не только для постепенного и нарастающего развития имиджа органа исполнительной власти, но и для развития благоприятного представления населения о государственных услугах, оказываемых органом власти.

Список литературы:

  1. Войтенко Э. PR-деятельность государственной пресс-службы: основные методики оценки / Э. Войтенко // Связи с общественностью в государственных структурах. 2015. № 1. С. 11-14.

  2. Герасимова Г. И. Связи с общественностью: институциональный уровень управления / Г. И. Герасимова. Тюмень: ТюмГНГУ, 2015. 254 с.

  3. Глотов М. Б. Социальный институт: определение, структура, классификация / М. Б. Глотов // Социологические исследования. 2003. № 10. С. 13-19.

  4. Дюк А. Технологии работы с общественным мнением на уровне местного самоуправления / А. Дюк // Городское управление. 2003. № 8. С. 85-88.

  5. Константинова А. С. Связи с общественностью как социальный институт / А. С. Константинова // Пятигорский государственный университет. 2014. № 13. С. 23-28.

  6. Коханов Е. Ф. Теоретические и методологические основы PR-деятельности (Социологический аспект): монография / Е. Ф. Коханов. М.: РИП-холдинг, 2004. 201 с.

  7. Невоструева А. Ф. Отношения с общественностью как важный элемент информационно-коммуникационного пространства современной России / А. Ф. Невоструева // Дискуссия. 2015. № 3 (55). С. 91-97.

  8. Ромашко Т. В. Роль информационно-коммуникативной среды в становлении современного образовательного пространства / Т. В. Ромашко, Н. Ю. Белякова // Вестник Ленинградского государственного университета им. А. С. Пушкина. 2014. № 3. С. 211-225.

  9. Становова О. Ю. Социальные функции служб по связям с общественностью органов государственной власти: дис. ... канд. социологических наук / О. Ю. Становова. М., 2006. 193 с.

  10. Ядов В. А. Современная теоретическая социология как концептуальная база исследования российских трансформаций / В. А. Ядов. СПб.: Интерсоцис, 2009. 138 с.

  11. Bentele G. Applying sociology to public relations: а commentary / G. Bentele, S. Wehmeier // Public Relations Review. 2007. No. 33. Рр. 294-300.

  12. Johansson C. Goffman’s sociology: an inspiring resource for developing public relations theory / C. Johansson // Public Relations Review. September 2007. Vol. 33. Iss. 3. Pp. 275-280.

  13. Public Relations and Social Theory: Key Figures and Concepts / Ø. Ihlen, B. Van Ruler, M. Fredriksson (eds.). New York; London: Taylor and Francis, 2009. 375 pр.

  14. Wæraas A. The re-enchantment of social institutions: Max Weber and public relations / A. Wæraas // Public Relations Review. September 2007. Vol. 33. Iss. 3. Pp. 281-286.