Social protest in the Altai Territory: research experience in the methodology of social conflict

Release:

2020, Vol. 4. № 4 (14)

Title: 
Social protest in the Altai Territory: research experience in the methodology of social conflict


For citation: Nagaytsev V. V., Shrayber A. N., Artyukhina V. A. 2020. “Social protest in the Altai Territory: research experience in the methodology of social conflict”. Siberian Socium, vol. 4, no. 4 (14), pp. 41-53. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-4-41-53

About the authors:

Victor V. Nagaytsev, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Head of the Department of Empirical Sociology and Conflictology, Altai State University (Barnaul, Russian Federation); nvvv@yandex.ru

Angelina N. Shrayber, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Empirical Sociology and Conflictology, Altai State University (Barnaul, Russian Federation); ORCID: 0000-0001-5846-1297; 336680@bk.ru

Valentina A. Artyukhina, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Empirical Sociology and Conflictology, Altai State University (Barnaul, Russian Federation); a-walentina@mail.ru

Abstract:

This article studies the phenomenon of social protest in the Altai Territory. The authors present the data from a sociological study on this issue conducted in 2018-2020. The main method of empirical research was a survey of the population in various territories of the region, which revealed the real and potential level of protest activity of citizens. This article considers the process of formation and development of protest as a special form of social conflict, studying the influence of a complex of factors on the formation of protest moods, as well as the real protest behavior of the population. The authors show the social nature of protest, which is based on contradictions in the interests of various social groups in the regional society. In the authors’ understanding, the protest behavior is represented as individual or collective actions of subjects demonstrating dissatisfaction with the existing situation in society. The significance of the research lies in the understanding of social protest as a form of conflict. This article deals with problems related to various scientific interpretations of the essence and content of social protest, traditional and non-classical methodological approaches to determining its essence and content. Attention is paid to the functions of protest, the constructive orientation of some protest actions of civil activists, and the extent to which the protest behavior of the population affects various aspects of the life of the regional society. In the course of the research, the following components of social protest in the region were analyzed: the real and potential level; causes; and the forms of manifestation, among others. As it turned out in the course of the study, social protest actions in regional society are one-time and situational in nature, and they can be prevented and regulated. The authors conclude that the lack of effective mechanisms for managing the protest behavior of social actors in regional society can lead to the most unfavorable social consequences — an increased conflict between different levels of subjects, increased tension, aggravation of social problems and other crisis phenomena in society. The conclusions are also formulated, according to which the reason for the protest is the rejection of certain subjects of the current social situation in society, dissatisfaction with various aspects of their life.

References:

  1. Baranova G. V. 2012. “Methodology of analysis of protest activity of the Russian population”. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya, no. 10, pp. 143–152. DOI: 10.7868/S0132162517110046 [In Russian]

  2. Vavilina N. D., Kotov D. A. 2018. “Regional peculiarities of protest potential in the conditions of social tension”. Idei i idealy, vol. 2, no. 1 (35), pp. 176-186. [In Russian]

  3. Gaba O. I. 2015. “Young people as a subject of protest sentiment”. Znanie, ponimanie, umenie, no. 1, pp. 144–151. Accessed 20 September 2020. http://www.zpu-journal.ru/zpu/contents/2015/1/Gaba_Youth-Protest-Feelings/ [In Russian]

  4. Kaira Yu. V. 2017. “Social tension and protest activity of the region’s population”. Srednerusskiy vestnik obshchestvennykh nauk, vol. 12, no. 2, pp. 20-28. [In Russian]

  5. Kostyushev V. V. 2011. “Social protest in the political field: potential, discourse (experience of theoretical understanding and empirical verification)”. Polis, no. 4, pp.144-157. [In Russian]

  6. Kuchukyan A. V. 2017. “Sociostructural determinants of the influence of virtual networks on the protest activity of modern youth”. Cand. Sci. (Soc.) diss. Stavropol. 183 pp. [In Russian]

  7. Marin E. B. 2018. “Youth protest moods in Primorsky Krai (on the example of students)”. Vestnik Instituta sociologii, no. 26, pp. 63-82. Accessed 17 September 2020. DOI: 10.19181/vis.2018.26.3.524 [In Russian]

  8. Panichkina E. V. 2019. “”Protests in the social and political space of the region (on the example of the Kemerovo region). Teorii i problemy politicheskih issledovanij, vol. 8, no. 6A, pp. 53-63. DOI: 10.34670/AR.2020.46.6.101 [In Russian]

  9. Salavatova A. 2019. “Non-political protest in the regions: structure, dynamics and opportunities for politicization. Analytical report”. Agentstvo politicheskih i ekonomicheskih kommmunikatsiy. 29 October. Accessed 25 September 2020. http://www.apecom.ru/projects/item.php?SECTION_ID=91&ELEMENT_ID=5673 [In Russian]

  10. Sokolov V. A., Zagrebin V. V. 2019. “Social protest in the context of the Russian region (the case of the Yaroslavl Region)”. Sotsialnye i gumanitarnye znaniya, vol. 5, no. 2, pp. 108-116. [In Russian]

  11. Khadzhalova Kh. M. 2017. “Potential for social protest in the Republic of Dagestan”. UEPS: upravlenie, ekonomika, politika, sociologiya, no. 4, pp. 27-35. [In Russian]

  12. Chuvashova N. I. 2013. “Social protest at the regional level”. Vestnik Severnogo (Arkticheskogo) federalnogo universiteta. Seriya: Gumanitarnye i sotsialnye nauki, no. 4, pp. 40-47. [In Russian]

  13. Chuprov V. I., Zubok Yu. A. 2009. “Extremism among the youth”. Monitoring obshchestvennogo mneniya: ekonomicheskie i sotsialnye peremeny, no. 1 (89), pp. 146–166. [In Russian]

  14. Adler R., Goggin J. 2005. “What do we mean by ‘Civic engagement’?”. Journal of Transformative Education, vol. 3, no. 3, pp. 236-253.

  15. Arnold M. 2007. “The concept of community and the character of networks”. The Journal of Community Informatics, vol. 3, no. 2, pp. 327-355.

  16. Boulding K. E. 1962. Conflict and Defence: A General Theory. New York: Harper & Brothers Publishers. 349 рp.

  17. Bесk U. 2000. Thе Brаvе Nеw Wоrld. Саmbridgе, MA: Роlity Prеss. 543 рp.

  18. Cоllins R. 2004. Intеrасtiоn Rituаl Сhаins. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press. 439 рp.

  19. Davies J. 1970. When Men Revolt and Why. New York, N.Y.: The Free Press. 357 рp.

  20. Davis J. 1959. “A formal interpretation of the theory of relative deprivation”. Sociometry, vol. 22, no. 4, pp. 280-296.

  21. Ehrliсh T. 2000. Сiviс Rеsроnsibility. Nеw Yоrk, NY: Rоwmаn & Littlе-fiеld. 450 рр.

  22. Ekman J., Amna E. 2012. “Political participation and civic engagement”. Human Affairs, vol. 22, pp. 283‑300.

  23. Goffman I. 1957. “Status consistency and preference for change in power distribution”. American Sociological Review, vol. 22, no. 3, pp. 275-281.

  24. Gurney P., Tierney K. 1982. “Relative deprivation and social movements: a critical look at twenty years of theory and research”. Sociological Quarterly, vol. 23, no. 1, pp. 33-47.

  25. Gurr T. R. 1970. Why Men Rebel. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press. 420 рр.

  26. Inglehart R., Norris P. 2004. Sacred and Secular: Religion and Politics Worldwide. Саmbridgе, MA: Cambridge University Press. 424 рр.

  27. Nagaytsev V. V. 2019. “Conflictness in society: definition and causes”. 21 Сentury: fundamental science and technology XXI: Proceedings of the Conference. Vol. 10, pp. 129-132. Morrisville, NC.

Социальный протест в Алтайском крае: опыт исследования в методологии социального конфликта

Выпуск:

2020. Том 4. № 4 (14)

Название: 
Социальный протест в Алтайском крае: опыт исследования в методологии социального конфликта


Для цитирования: Нагайцев В. В. Социальный протест в Алтайском крае: опыт исследования в методологии социального конфликта / В. В. Нагайцев, А. Н. Шрайбер, В. А. Артюхина // Siberian Socium. 2020. Том 4. № 4 (14). С. 41-53. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-4-41-53

Об авторах:

Нагайцев Виктор Валентинович, кандидат социологических наук, доцент, заведующий кафедрой эмпирической социологии и конфликтологии, Алтайский государственный университет (г. Барнаул, РФ); nvvv@yandex.ru

Шрайбер Ангелина Николаевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры эмпирической социологии и конфликтологии, Алтайский государственный университет (г. Барнаул, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0001-5846-1297; 336680@bk.ru

Артюхина Валентина Андреевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры эмпирической социологии и конфликтологии, Алтайский государственный университет (г. Барнаул, РФ); a-walentina@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Статья посвящена изучению феномена социального протеста в Алтайском крае. Приводятся данные социологического исследования по данной проблеме, проведенного авторами в 2018-2020 гг. Основным методом эмпирического исследования выступил опрос населения на различных территориях региона, позволивший выявить реальный и потенциальный уровень протестной активности граждан. Цель статьи — рассмотреть процесс формирования и развития протеста как особой формы социального конфликта, изучив влияние комплекса факторов на формирование протестных настроений, а также реальное протестное поведение населения. В работе показана социальная природа протеста, в основе которого лежат противоречия в интересах различных социальных групп регионального социума. В авторском понимании протестное поведение представлено как индивидуальные или коллективные действия субъектов, демонстрирующих недовольство существующей ситуацией в социуме. Значимость исследования заключается в понимании социального протеста как формы конфликта. В статье рассматриваются проблемы, связанные с различными научными трактовками сущности и содержания социального протеста, традиционные и неклассические методологические подходы к определению его сущности и содержания. Большое внимание в статье уделено функциям протеста, конструктивной направленности некоторых протестных действий гражданских активистов и тому, в какой мере протестное поведение населения оказывает влияние на различные аспекты жизнедеятельности регионального социума. В процессе проведенных исследований были проанализированы следующие составляющие социального протеста в регионе: реальный и потенциальный уровень, причины возникновения, формы проявления и др. Как выяснилось в ходе исследования, акции социального протеста в региональном социуме носят разовый и ситуативный характер и поддаются профилактике и регулированию. Авторами сделан вывод, что отсутствие действенных механизмов управления протестным поведением социальных субъектов в регио­нальном социуме может привести к самым неблагоприятным социальным последствиям — усилению конфликтности разноуровневых субъектов, росту напряженности, обострению социальных проблем и другим кризисным явлениям в обществе. Также сформулированы выводы, согласно которым причиной протеста выступает неприятие определенными субъектами сложившейся социальной ситуации в социуме, недовольство различными аспектами их жизни.

Список литературы:

  1. Баранова Г. В. Методика анализа протестной активности населения России / Г. В. Баранова // Социологические исследования. 2012. № 10. С. 143-152. DOI: 10.7868/S0132162517110046

  2. Вавилина Н. Д. Региональные особенности протестного потенциала в условиях социальной напряженности / Н. Д. Вавилина, Д. А. Котов // Идеи и идеалы. 2018. Том 2. № 1 (35). С. 176-186.

  3. Габа О. И. Молодежь как субъект протестных настроений / О. И. Габа // Знание, понимание, умение. 2015. № 1. С. 144-151. URL: http://www.zpu-journal.ru/zpu/contents/2015/1/Gaba_Youth-Protest-Feelings/ (дата посещения: 20.09.2020).

  4. Каира Ю. В. Социальная напряженность и протестная активность населения региона / Ю. В. Каира // Среднерусский вестник общественных наук. 2017. Том 12. № 2. С. 20-28.

  5. Костюшев В. В. Социальный протест в поле политики: потенциал, дискурс (опыт теоретического понимания и эмпирической верификации) / В. В. Костюшев // Полис. 2011. № 4. С. 144-157.

  6. Кучукян А. В. Социоструктурные детерминанты влияния виртуальных сетей на протестную активность современной молодежи: дис. … канд. социол. наук / А. В. Кучукян. Ставрополь, 2017. 183 с.

  7. Марин Е. Б. Молодежные протестные настроения в Приморском крае (на примере студенчества) / Е. Б. Марин // Вестник Института социологии. 2018. № 26. С. 63-82. DOI: 10.19181/vis.2018.26.3.524 (дата обращения: 17.09.2020).

  8. Паничкина Е. В. Протесты в социально-политическом пространстве региона (на примере Кемеровской области) / Е. В. Паничкина // Теории и проблемы политических исследований. 2019. Том 8. № 6А. С. 53-63. DOI: 10.34670/AR.2020.46.6.101

  9. Салаватова А. Неполитический протест в регионах: структура, динамика и возможности политизации. Аналитический доклад / А. Салаватова; Агентство политических и экономических комммуникаций. 2019. 29 октября. URL: http://www.apecom.ru/projects/item.php?SECTION_ID=91&ELEMENT_ID=5673 (дата обращения: 25.09.2020).

  10. Соколов В. А. Социальный протест в контексте российского региона (на материалах Ярославской области) / В. А. Соколов, В. В. Загребин // Социальные и гуманитарные знания. 2019. Том 5. № 2. С. 108‑116.

  11. Хаджалова Х. М. Потенциал социального протеста в Республике Дагестан / Х. М. Хаджалова // УЭПС: управление, экономика, политика, социология. 2017. № 4. С. 27-35.

  12. Чувашова Н. И. Социальный протест на региональном уровне / Н. И. Чувашова // Вестник Северного (Арктического) федерального университета. Серия: Гуманитарные и социальные науки. 2013. № 4. С. 40-47.

  13. Чупров В. И. Экстремизм среди молодежи / В. И. Чупров, Ю. А. Зубок // Мониторинг общественного мнения: экономические и социальные перемены. 2009. № 1 (89). С. 146-166.

  14. Adler R. What do we mean by «Civic engagement»? / R. Adler, J. Goggin // Journal of Transformative Education. 2005. Vol. 3. No. 3. Pp. 236-253.

  15. Arnold M. The concept of community and the character of networks / М. Arnold // The Journal of Community Informatics. 2007. Vol. 3. No. 2. Pp. 327-355.

  16. Boulding K. E. Conflict and Defence: A General Theory / K. E. Boulding. New York: Harper & Brothers Publishers, 1962. 349 рp.

  17. Bесk U. Thе Brаvе Nеw Wоrld / U. Bесk. Саmbridgе, MA: Роlity Prеss, 2000. 543 рp.

  18. Cоllins R. Intеrасtiоn Rituаl Сhаins / R. Cоllins. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 2004. 439 рp.

  19. Davies J. When Men Revolt and Why / J. Davies. New York, NY: The Free Press, 1970. 357 рp.

  20. Davis J. A formal interpretation of the theory of relative deprivation / J. Davies // Sociometry. 1959. Vol. 22. No. 4. Pp. 280-296.

  21. Ehrliсh T. Сiviс Rеsроnsibility / T. Ehrliсh. Nеw Yоrk, NY: Rоwmаn & Littlе-fiеld, 2000. 450 рр.

  22. Ekman J. Political participation and civic engagement / J. Ekman, Е. Amna // Human Affairs. 2012. Vol. 22. Pp. 283-300.

  23. Goffman I. Status consistency and preference for change in power distribution / I. Goffman // American Sociological Review. 1957. Vol. 22. No. 3. Pp. 275-281.

  24. Gurney P. Relative deprivation and social movements: a critical look at twenty years of theory and research / Р. Gurney, К. Tierney // Sociological Quarterly. 1982. Vol. 23. No. 1. Pp. 33-47.

  25. Gurr T. R. Why Men Rebel / T. R. Gurr. Princeton, NJ: Princeton University Press, 1970. 420 рр.

  26. Inglehart R. Sacred and Secular: Religion and Politics Worldwide / R. Inglehart, P. Norris. Саmbridgе, MA: Cambridge University Press, 2004. 424 рр.

  27. Nagaytsev V. V. Conflictness in society: definition and causes / V. V. Nagaytsev // 21st Сentury: Fundamental Science and Technology XXI: Proceedings of the Conference. Morrisville, NC, 2019. Vol. 10. Pp. 129-132.