Representation of migrants in the Russian mass media and its dynamics (2010-2020)

Release:

2020, Vol. 4. № 4 (14)

Title: 
Representation of migrants in the Russian mass media and its dynamics (2010-2020)


For citation: Iakimova O. A. 2020. “Representation of migrants in the Russian mass media and its dynamics (2010 2020)”. Siberian Socium, vol. 4, no. 4 (14), pp. 22-40. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-4-22-40

About the author:

Olga A. Iakimova, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Integrated Marketing Communications and Branding, Ural Federal University (Yekaterinburg); ORCID: 0000-0003-2212-4357; o.a.iakimova@urfu.ru

Abstract:

Over the last decades, scholars have reported a high level of xenophobia in Russia, which persists and spreads amidst all strata of the population. This shows the significance of the migration issue in the country and its topicality in the public discourse. However, the explanatory models used to analyze the perception of immigrants in Western countries do not find absolute empirical support in Russia. For this reason, researchers emphasize the importance of media discourse as a leading factor in constructing attitudes toward the foreign migrants in Russia. We take into account, firstly, the persistence of xenophobic attitudes among Russians, and secondly — the role of the migrants’ image, constructed by mass media, in shaping the perception of the immigrants among the locals. In this regard, this article hypothesizes that despite the official ban of the “hate language” and ethnization of crime, the negative representation of immigrants not only persists in the Russian media discourse, but is unfortunately increasing. To test this hypothesis, we utilize the results of research on the representation of immigration in Russian media discourse published between 2010 and 2020, which we analyze in the methodological framework of critical discourse analysis. We conclude that at the end of the current decade, there have been certain improvements in the media coverage of the migration issue, caused by the shift of the spotlight onto other problems, thus, the negative images of immigrants simply were not a part of the media agenda. On the one hand, this can help reduce ethnic tensions, although on the other, it complicates the development of the culture of interaction between the local and immigrant communities, since the national and cultural characteristics of migrants and their experience of living in Russia remain underrepresented in the media.

References:

  1. Abashin S. N. 2012. “Migration from Central Asia: practices, local communities, transnationalizm”. Etnograficheskoe obozrenie, no. 4, pp. 3-13. [In Russian]

  2. Ablazhey N. N. 2012. “The image of labour migrants in the media and public conscience of Russians”. Vestnik NGU. Seriya: Istoriya, filologiya, vol. 11, no. 6: Zhurnalistika, pp. 17-23. [In Russian]

  3. Anisimov A. Yu., Tumanov D. V. 2017. “Features of the migration issue coverage in regional mass media”. Uchenye zapiski Kazanskogo Universiteta. Seriya: Gumanitarnye nauki, vol. 159, no. 3, pp. 672-679. [In Russian]

  4. Varganova O. F. 2012. “The image of a labour migrant in the media (on the results of content-analysis)”. Istoricheskaya i sotsial’no-obrazovatel’naya mysl’, no. 3 (13), pp. 184-186. [In Russian]

  5. Varganova O. F. 2015. “The image of a labour migrant in the federal and regional media”. Sotsiologicheskaya nauka i sotsialnaya praktika, no. 3 (11), pp. 81-93. [In Russian]

  6. Vesnina L. E. 2010. “Metaphorical modeling of migration in the Russian print media”. Politicheskaya lingvistika, no. 1 (31), pp. 84–89. [In Russian]

  7. Levada-center. 2018. “Xenophobic attitudes are on the rise in Russia”. 27 August. Accessed 23 November 2020. https://www.levada.ru/2018/08/27/v-rossii-vyrosli-ksenofobnye-nastroeniya [In Russian]

  8. Goncharova N. P. 2017. “‘Migration’ lexicon of the mass media and the public attitude towards migrants”. Sotsialnaya politika i sotsiologiya, vol. 16, no. 1, pp. 88-95. DOI: 10.17922/2071-3665-2017-16-1-88-95 [In Russian]

  9. Goncharova N. P., Omelchenko D. A. 2014. “Behavioral strategies of adaptation among transnational migrants in the receiving community”. In: Chernyshova Yu. G. (ed.). The Diary of Altai School of Political Studies, No. 30. Contemporary Russia and the World: Alternatives of Development (Transnational migrants and the hosting society: mutual perception and the issue of cultural interaction), pp. 112-117. Barnaul: Izd-vo Altaiskogo universiteta. [In Russian]

  10. Gudkov L. D. 2005. “Displaced aggression: the attitude of Russians toward migrants”. Vestnik obshchestvennogo mneniya, no. 6, pp. 60-77. [In Russian]

  11. Danilko E. S. 2020. “Migrant-related conflicts on YouTube.com”. Etnograficheskoe obozrenie, no. 3, pp. 10-23. DOI: 10.31857/S086954150010045-9 [In Russian]

  12. Dyatlov V. I. 2011. “Citizens of the ‘near abroad’ and others”. Druzhba narodov, no. 4. Accessed 24 November 2020. https://magazines.gorky.media/druzhba/2011/4/grazhdane-blizhnego-zarubezhya-i-drugie.html [In Russian]

  13. Ivleva I. V., Tavrovskiy A. V. 2019. “The representation of labour migrants in the Russian media”. Etnograficheskoe obozrenie, no. 1, pp. 149-165. DOI: 10.31857/S086954150004186-4 [In Russian]

  14. VTsIOM. 2018. “Immigration to Russia: good or bad? (Analytical review)”. 19 December. Accessed 22 November 2020. https://wciom.ru/analytical-reviews/analiticheskii-obzor/immigracziya-v-rossiyu-blago-ili-vred [In Russian]

  15. Kireeva O. V. 2019. “Metaphorical representation of migration in british and russian mass media discourse”. Politicheskaya lingvistika, no. 4 (76), pp. 31-38. DOI: 10.26170/pl19-04-03 [In Russian]

  16. Komarova E. V. 2019. “The image of a migrant in media discourse: traditional mass media and new media”. Philology and Culture, no. 4 (58), pp. 52-60. DOI: 10.26907/2074-0239-2019-58-4-52-60 [In Russian]

  17. Kuznetsova E. M., Zaytseva I. A. 2015. “Regional Internet media as a tool of the formation of intercultural communication”. Istoricheskie, filosofskie, politicheskie i yuridicheskie nauki, kulturologiya i iskusstvovedenie. Voprosy teorii i praktiki, no. 5 (55): in two parts, part 2, pp. 91-94. [In Russian]

  18. Nam I. V., Karageorgiy E. M., Ermolova A. I., Nikitina E. V. 2017. “The image of labour migrants constructed by the mass media: the case of Tomsk”. Siberian Historical Research, no. 1, pp. 166-192. DOI: 10.17223/2312461X/15/11 [In Russian]

  19. Nizamova L. R. 2014. “Representation of migrants’ protests in the newspaper discourse in Tatarstan. Uchenye zapiski Kazanskogo universiteta. Seriya: Gumanitarnye nauki, no. 6, pp. 253-262. [In Russian]

  20. Pipiya K. 2017. “The perception of labour migrants”. Levada-center, 28 April. Accessed 23 November 2020. http://www.levada.ru/2017/04/28/otnoshenie-k-trudovym-migrantam [In Russian]

  21. Pipiya K. 2019. “What is the ‘social glue’ made of?”. Vedomosti, 26 February. Accessed 12 November 2020. https://www.vedomosti.ru/opinion/articles/2019/02/26/795217-sotsialnii-klei [In Russian]

  22. Pyatkova E. A. 2005. “Social adaptation of labour migrants from Central Asia”. Cand. Sci. (Soc.) diss abstract. Ekaterinburg. [In Russian]

  23. Regame A. 2010. “The image of migrants and migration policy in Russia”. Antropologicheskiy forum, no. 13, pp. 389-406. [In Russian]

  24. Skrebtsova T. G. 2007. “The image of the migrant in the contemporary Russian mass media”. Politicheskaya lingvistika, issue 3 (23), pp. 115-118. [In Russian]

  25. Tompson J. B. 2003. “Ideology and contemporary culture”. In: Nazarov M. M. (ed.). Mass Communication and Society. Introduction to the Theory of Research, pp. 257-264. Moscow: Avanti plyus. [In Russian]

  26. Dyatlov I. V. (ed.). 2009. Transnational Migrations and Receiving Society: Mechanisms and Practices of Mutual Adaptation. Ekaterinburg: Izdatelstvo Uralskogo universiteta. 396 pp. [In Russian]

  27. Fadeev P. V. 2015. “The media as a factor of the formation of an attitude toward migrants”. Vestnik instituta sotsiologii, no. 4 (15), pp. 108-128. [In Russian]

  28. Chudinov A. P. 2001. Russia in a Metaphorical Mirror: The Cognitive Study of Political Metaphor. Ekaterinburg: Uralskii gosudarstvennyi pedagogicheskii universitet. 238 pp. [In Russian]

  29. Sherman E. M. 2014. “The image of ‘the other’: the portrait of migrants in the mass media and archetypes of the unconscious”. Dnevnik altayskoy shkoly politicheskikh issledovaniy, no. 30, pp. 41-45. [In Russian]

  30. Shibanova N. A. 2014. “Visualization of the image of a labour migrant in the Russian electronic media”. Vestnik ekonomiki, prava i sotsiologii, no. 1, pp. 191-195. [In Russian]

  31. Shibanova N. A. 2016. “The conflict potential of the formation of the image of a migrant by electronic media”. Ekonomika i sotsiologiya, no. 29, pp. 22-28. [In Russian]

  32. Iakimova O. A., Menshikov A. S. 2019. “The dynamics of attitudes toward immigrants in Russia in comparison with European countries”. Izvestiya Uralskogo federal’nogo universiteta. Seriya 3: Obshchestvennye nauki, no. 2 (188), pp. 46-61. [In Russian]

  33. Allen I. L. 1983. The Language of Ethnic Conflict: Social Organization and Lexical Culture. New York: Columbia University Press. 163 pp.

  34. Bahry D. 2016. “Opposition to immigration, economic insecurity and individual values: evidence from Russia”. Europe-Asia Studies, vol. 68, no. 5, pp. 893-916. DOI: 10.1080/09668136.2016.1178710

  35. Bessudnov A. 2016. “Ethnic hierarchy and public attitudes towards immigrants in Russia”. European Sociological Review, vol. 32, no. 5, pp. 567-580. DOI: 10.1093/esr/jcw002

  36. Esses V. M., Dovidio J. F., Jackson L. M., Armstrong T. L. 2001. “The immigration dilemma: the role of perceived group competition, ethnic prejudice, and national identity”. Journal of Social Issues, vol. 57, no. 3, pp. 389-412. DOI: 10.1111/0022-4537.00220

  37. Gilens M. 1995. “Racial attitudes and opposition to welfare”. Journal of Politics, vol, 57, no. 4, pp. 994‑1014. DOI: 10.2307/2960399

  38. Gorodzeisky A. 2019. “Opposition to immigration in contemporary Russia”. Post-Soviet Affairs, vol. 35, no. 3, pp. 205-222. DOI: 10.1080/1060586X.2018.1534473

  39. Gorodzeisky A., Glikman A., Maskileyson D. 2015. “The nature of anti-immigrants sentiment in post‑socialist Russia”. Post-Soviet Affairs, vol. 31, no. 2, pp. 115-135. DOI: 10.1080/1060586X.2014.918452

  40. Gudkov L. 2006. “Xenophobia: past and present”. Russia in Global Affairs, vol. 4, no. 1, pp. 58-66. Accessed 23 November 2020. https://eng.globalaffairs.ru/articles/xenophobia-past-and-present/

  41. Larsen Ch. A. 2011. “Ethnic heterogeneity and public support for welfare: is the American experience replicated in Britain, Sweden and Denmark?”. Scandinavian Political Studies, vol. 34, no. 4, pp. 332-353. DOI: 10.1111/j.1467-9477.2011.00276.x

  42. Pain E. A. 2007. “Xenophobia and ethnopolitical extremism in post-soviet Russia: dynamics and growth factors”. Nationalities Papers, vol. 35, no. 5, pp. 895-911. DOI: 10.1080/00905990701651851

  43. Schmidt-Catran A. W., Spies D. C. 2016. “Immigration and welfare support in Germany”. American Sociological Review, vol. 81, no. 2, pp. 242-261. DOI: 10.1177/0003122416633140

  44. Stephan W. G., Ybarra O., Rios K. 2016. “Intergroup threat theory”. In: Nelson T. D. (ed.). Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping, and Discrimination. 2nd edition, pp. 255-278. New York and London: Psychology Press.

  45. Suler J. 2004. “The online disinhibition effect”. CyberPsychology & Behavior, vol. 7, no. 3, pp. 321-326. DOI: 10.1089/1094931041291295

  46. Valluy J. 2008. “Du retournement de l’asile (1948–2008) à la xénophobie de gouvernement: construction d’un objet d’étude”. Cultures et conflits. Printemps, no. 69, pp. 81–111. DOI: 10.4000/conflits.10752

  47. Van Leeuwen T. 2008. Discourse and Practice. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

  48. Van Oorschot W. 2006. “Making the difference in social europe: deservingness perception among citizens of European welfare states”. Journal of European Social Policy, vol. 16, no. 1, pp. 23-42. DOI: 10.1177/0958928706059829

Репрезентация мигрантов в российских массмедиа и ее динамика (2010-2020 гг.)

Выпуск:

2020. Том 4. № 4 (14)

Название: 
Репрезентация мигрантов в российских массмедиа и ее динамика (2010-2020 гг.)


Для цитирования: Якимова О. А. Репрезентация мигрантов в российских массмедиа и ее динамика (2010 2020 гг.) / О. А. Якимова // Siberian Socium. 2020. Том 4. № 4 (14). С. 22-40. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-4-22-40

Об авторе:

Якимова Ольга Александровна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры интегрированных маркетинговых коммуникаций и брендинга, Уральский федеральный университет им. первого Президента России Б. Н. Ельцина (г. Екатеринбург, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0003-2212-4357; o.a.iakimova@urfu.ru

Аннотация:

На протяжении последних десятилетий исследователи фиксируют высокий уровень ксенофобии среди россиян и его стабильность, что свидетельствует о значимости миграционной проблематики в стране и об ее актуальности в публичном дискурсе. Однако объяснительные модели, используемые для анализа восприятия местными жителями иммигрантов в западных странах, не находят безусловного эмпирического подтверждения в России. В этом контексте исследователи акцентируют значимость медиадискурса как ведущего фактора в конструировании отношения россиян к иностранным мигрантам. Учитывая устойчивость ксенофобских настроений среди граждан России и роль конструируемого массмедиа образа мигрантов в формировании того или иного их восприятия у местных жителей, в статье выдвигается гипотеза о том, что, несмотря на официальную политику запрета «языка вражды» и этнизации преступности, в российском медиадискурсе не только сохраняется, но и усиливается негативная репрезентация трудовых мигрантов. В методологической рамке критического дискурс-анализа с целью проверки данной гипотезы анализируются результаты исследований российского медиадискурса о миграции, опубликованные в период с 2010 по 2020 г., что и выступает целью настоящей статьи. Исследование показало определенный прогресс, связанный с раскрытием ситуации с мигрантами в средствах массовой информации в конце текущего десятилетия, обусловленный уменьшением внимания массмедиа к миграционной проблематике. Делается вывод, что, с одной стороны, это может способствовать снижению межнациональной напряженности, а с другой — затруднять формирование культуры взаимоотношений местного и иммигрантского сообществ, поскольку национально-культурные особенности мигрантов и их опыт жизни в России по-прежнему остаются непредставленными в медиа.

Список литературы:

  1. Абашин С. Н. Среднеазиатская миграция: практики, локальные сообщества, транснационализм / С. Н. Абашин // Этнографическое обозрение. 2012. № 4. С. 3-13.

  2. Аблажей Н. Н. Образ трудового мигранта в прессе и массовом сознании россиян / Н. Н. Аблажей // Вестник НГУ. Серия: История, филология. 2012. Том 11. Вып. 6: Журналистика. С. 17-23.

  3. Анисимов А. Ю. Специфика освещения миграционной тематики на страницах районных печатных средств массовой информации / А. Ю. Анисимов, Д. В. Туманов // Ученые записки Казанского университета. Сер.: Гуманит. науки. 2017. Том 159. Кн. 3. С. 672-679.          

  4. Варганова О. Ф. Образ трудового мигранта в СМИ (по результатам контент-анализа) / О. Ф. Варганова // Историческая и социально-образовательная мысль. 2012. № 3 (13). С. 184-186.

  5. Варганова О. Ф. Образ трудового мигранта в федеральных и региональных СМИ (по результатам контент-анализа) / О. Ф. Варганова // Социологическая наука и социальная практика. 2015. № 3 (11). С. 81-93.

  6. Веснина Л. Е. Метафорическое моделирование миграции в российских печатных СМИ / Л. Е. Веснина // Политическая лингвистика. 2010. № 1 (31). С. 84-89.

  7. В России выросли ксенофобные настроения // Левада-центр. 2018. 27 августа. URL: https://www.levada.ru/2018/08/27/v-rossii-vyrosli-ksenofobnye-nastroeniya (дата обращения: 23.11.2020).

  8. Гончарова Н. П. «Миграционный» лексикон средств массовой информации и общественное отношение к мигрантам / Н. П. Гончарова // Социальная политика и социология. 2017. Том 16. № 1. С. 88-95. DOI: 10.17922/2071-3665-2017-16-1-88-95

  9. Гончарова Н. П. Поведенческие стратегии адаптации трансграничных мигрантов в принимающем сообществе / Н. П. Гончарова, Д. А. Омельченко // Дневник Алтайской школы политических исследований № 30. Современная Россия и мир: альтернативы развития (Трансграничные мигранты и общество страны пребывания: взаимное восприятие и проблемы межкультурного взаимодействия): сб. науч. ст. / под ред. Ю. Г. Чернышова. Барнаул: Изд-во Алт. ун-та, 2014. С. 112‑117.

  10. Гудков Л. Д. Смещенная агрессия: отношение россиян к мигрантам / Л. Д. Гудков // Вестник общественного мнения. 2005. № 6. C. 60-77.

  11. Данилко Е. С. Конфликты, связанные с мигрантами, на YouTube.com / Е. С. Данилко // Этнографическое обозрение. 2020. № 3. С. 10-23. DOI: 10.31857/S086954150010045-9

  12. Дятлов В. И. «Граждане ближнего зарубежья» и другие… / В. И. Дятлов // Дружба народов. 2011. № 4. URL: https://magazines.gorky.media/druzhba/2011/4/grazhdane-blizhnego-zarubezhya-i-drugie.html (дата обращения: 24.11.2020).

  13. Ивлева И. В. Образы трудовых мигрантов в российских медиа / И. В. Ивлева, А. В. Тавровский // Этнографическое обозрение. 2019. № 1. С. 149-165. DOI: 10.31857/S086954150004186-4

  14. Иммиграция в Россию: благо или вред? (Аналитический обзор) // ВЦИОМ. 2018. 19 декабря. URL: https://wciom.ru/analytical-reviews/analiticheskii-obzor/immigracziya-v-rossiyu-blago-ili-vred (дата обращения: 22.11.2020).

  15. Киреева О. В. Метафорическое моделирование миграции в дискурсе российских и британских СМИ / О. В. Киреева // Политическая лингвистика. 2019. № 4 (76). С. 31-38. DOI: 10.26170/pl19-04-03

  16. Комарова Е. В. Образ мигранта в медиадискурсе: традиционные СМИ и новые медиа / Е. В. Комарова // Филология и культура. 2019. № 4 (58). С. 52-60. DOI: 10.26907/2074-0239-2019-58-4-52-60

  17. Кузнецова Е. М. Региональные интернет-СМИ как инструмент формирования межкультурных коммуникаций (на примере информационного портала 59.ru) / Е. М. Кузнецова, И. А. Зайцева // Исторические, философские, политические и юридические науки, культурология и искусствоведение. Вопросы теории и практики. 2015. № 5 (55): в 2 ч. Ч. II. С. 91-94.

  18. Нам И. В. Конструирование образа трудового мигранта в региональных СМИ (на примере Томска) / И. В. Нам, Е. М. Карагеоргий, А. И. Ермолова, Е. В. Никитина // Сибирские исторические исследования. 2017. № 1. С. 166-192. DOI: 10.17223/2312461X/15/11

  19. Низамова Л. Р. Репрезентация миграционных процессов в газетном дискурсе республики Татарстан / Л. Р. Низамова // Ученые записки Казанского университета. Серия: Гуманитарные науки. 2014. № 6. С. 253-262.

  20. Пипия К. Отношение к трудовым мигрантам / К. Пипия // Левада-центр. 2017. 28 апреля. URL: http://www.levada.ru/2017/04/28/otnoshenie-k-trudovym-migrantam (дата обращения: 23.11.2020).

  21. Пипия К. Из чего сделан «социальный клей» / К. Пипия // Ведомости. 2019. 26 февраля. URL: https://www.vedomosti.ru/opinion/articles/2019/02/26/795217-sotsialnii-klei (дата обращения: 12.11.2020).

  22. Пяткова Е. А. Социальная адаптация трудовых мигрантов из Средней Азии: автореф. дис. … канд. социол. наук / Е. А. Пяткова. Екатеринбург, 2005. 22 с.

  23. Регаме А. Образ мигрантов и миграционная политика в России / А. Регаме // Антропологический форум. 2010. № 13. С. 389-406.

  24. Скребцова Т. Г. Образ мигранта в современных российских СМИ / Т. Г. Скребцова // Политическая лингвистика. 2007. Вып. 3 (23). С. 115-118.

  25. Томпсон Дж. Б. Идеология и современная культура / Дж. Б. Томпсон // Массовая коммуникация и общество. Введение в теорию исследования / М. М. Назаров. М.: Аванти плюс, 2003. С. 257-264.

  26. Трансграничные миграции и принимающее общество: механизмы и практики взаимной адаптации: монография / науч. ред. В. И. Дятлов. Екатеринбург: Изд-во Урал. ун-та, 2009. 396 с.

  27. Фадеев П. В. Медиа как фактор формирования отношения к мигрантам / П. В. Фадеев // Вестник института социологии. 2015. № 4 (15). С. 108-128.

  28. Чудинов А. П. Россия в метафорическом зеркале: когнитивное исследование политической метафоры (1991-2000) / А. П. Чудинов. Екатеринбург: Урал. гос. пед. ун-т, 2001. 238 с.

  29. Шерман Е. М. Образ «Чужого»: портрет мигрантов в СМИ и архетипы коллективного бессознательного / Е. М. Шерман // Дневник алтайской школы политических исследований. 2014. № 30. С. 41-45.

  30. Шибанова Н. А. Визуализация образа трудового мигранта на страницах российских электронных СМИ / Н. А. Шибанова // Вестник экономики, права и социологии. 2014. № 1. С. 191-195.

  31. Шибанова Н. А. Конфликтный потенциал конструирования образа мигранта электронными СМИ / Н. А. Шибанова // Экономика и социология. 2016. № 29. С. 22-28.

  32. Якимова О. А. Динамика отношения к иммигрантам в России в контексте ее сравнения с Европейскими странами / О. А. Якимова, А. С. Меньшиков // Известия Уральского федерального университета. Серия 3: Общественные науки. 2019. № 2 (188). С. 46-61.

  33. Allen I. L. The Language of Ethnic Conflict: Social Organization and Lexical Culture / I. L. Allen. New York: Columbia University Press, 1983. 163 pp.

  34. Bahry D. Opposition to immigration, economic insecurity and individual values: evidence from Russia / D. Bahry // Europe-Asia Studies. 2016. Vol. 68. No. 5. Pp. 893-916. DOI: 10.1080/09668136.2016.1178710

  35. Bessudnov A. Ethnic hierarchy and public attitudes towards immigrants in Russia / A. Bessudnov // European Sociological Review. 2016. Vol. 32. No. 5. Pp. 567-580. DOI: 10.1093/esr/jcw002

  36. Esses V. M. The immigration dilemma: the role of perceived group competition, ethnic prejudice, and national identity / V. M. Esses, J. F. Dovidio, L. M. Jackson, T. L. Armstrong // Journal of Social Issues. 2001. Vol. 57. No. 3. Pp. 389-412. DOI: 10.1111/0022-4537.00220

  37. Gilens M. Racial attitudes and opposition to welfare / M. Gilens // Journal of Politics. 1995. Vol. 57. No. 4. Pp. 994-1014. DOI: 10.2307/2960399

  38. Gorodzeisky A. Opposition to immigration in contemporary Russia / A. Gorodzeisky // Post-Soviet Affairs. 2019. Vol. 35. No. 3. Pp. 205-222. DOI: 10.1080/1060586X.2018.1534473

  39. Gorodzeisky A. The nature of anti-immigrants sentiment in post-socialist Russia / A. Gorodzeisky, A. Glikman, D. Maskileyson // Post-Soviet Affairs. 2015. Vol. 31. No. 2. Pp. 115-135. DOI: 10.1080/1060586X.2014.918452

  40. Gudkov L. Xenophobia: past and present / L. Gudkov // Russia in Global Affairs. 2006. Vol. 4. No. 1. Pp. 58-66. URL: https://eng.globalaffairs.ru/articles/xenophobia-past-and-present/ (дата обращения: 23.11.2020).

  41. Larsen Ch. A. Ethnic heterogeneity and public support for welfare: is the American experience replicated in Britain, Sweden and Denmark? / Ch. A. Larsen // Scandinavian Political Studies. 2011. Vol. 34. No. 4. Pp. 332-353. DOI: 10.1111/j.1467-9477.2011.00276.x

  42. Pain E. A. Xenophobia and ethnopolitical extremism in Post-Soviet Russia: dynamics and growth factors / E. A. Pain // Nationalities Papers. 2007. Vol. 35. No. 5. Pp. 895-911. DOI: 10.1080/00905990701651851

  43. Schmidt-Catran A. W. Immigration and welfare support in Germany / A. W. Schmidt-Catran, D. C. Spies // American Sociological Review. 2016. Vol. 81. No. 2. Pp. 242-261. DOI: 10.1177/0003122416633140

  44. Stephan W. G. Intergroup Threat Theory / W. G. Stephan, O. Ybarra, K. Rios // Handbook of Prejudice, Stereotyping, and Discrimination / T. D. Nelson (ed.). 2nd ed. New York; London: Psychology Press, 2016. Pp. 255-278.

  45. Suler J. The online disinhibition effect / J. Suler // CyberPsychology & Behavior. 2004. Vol. 7. No. 3. Pp. 321-326. DOI: 10.1089/1094931041291295

  46. Valluy J. Du retournement de l’asile (1948-2008) à la xénophobie de gouvernement: construction d’un objet d’étude / J. Valluy // Cultures et conflits. Printemps. 2008. No. 69. Pp. 81-111. DOI: 10.4000/conflits.10752

  47. Van Leeuwen T. Discourse and Practice / T. Van Leeuwen. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008. 192 рp.

  48. Van Oorschot W. Making the difference in Social Europe: deservingness perception among citizens of European Welfare States / W. Van Oorschot // Journal of European Social Policy. 2006. Vol. 16. No. 1. Pp. 23-42. DOI: 10.1177/0958928706059829