Collective memory of student youth in the post-modern era

Release:

2020, Vol. 4. № 3 (13)

Title: 
Collective memory of student youth in the post-modern era


For citation: Grosheva I. A., Groshev I. L., Grosheva L. I. 2020. “Collective memory of student youth in the post-modern era”. Siberian Socium, vol. 4, no. 3 (13), pp. 33-48. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-3-33-48

About the authors:

Irina A. Grosheva, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Head of the Department of Theory and History of State and Law, Humanities and Natural Sciences, Institute for Business Career, Tyumen Branch (Tyumen, Russian Federation); Scopus AuthorID: 304639; grosh@nextmail.ru 

Igor L. Groshev, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Professor, Department of Humanities and General Sciences, Tyumen Higher Military Engineering Command School named after the Marshal of Engineering Forces A. I. Proshlyakov (Tyumen, Russian Federation); Scopus AuthorID: 304631; grosh@nextmail.ru

Lyubov I. Grosheva, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor of the Department of Humanities and General Sciences, Tyumen Higher Military Engineering Command School named after the Marshal of Engineering Forces A. I. Proshlyakov (Tyumen, Russian Federation); Scopus AuthorID: 767451; malivia@rambler.ru

Abstract:

The lack of consensus in society on the most important problems of history negatively affects the formation of the collective memory of the younger generation. The socialization of millennials (in the terms of N. Howe and W. Strauss) has specific features that become the main tool for the formation of a new collective identity. In the postmodern era, society faces a number of risks and needs recommendations to mitigate them. The purpose of this article is to reveal the features of the collective memory of student youth on the example of the perception of the events of the Great Patriotic War (WWII) in the conditions of a super-tolerant postmodern society. The following concepts were chosen as the methodological basis of the research: social construction (P. Berger, T. Luckmann), the concept of collective memory (M. Halbwachs, P. Nora, A. Assmann), as well as the post-structuralist direction of postmodernism (Z. Bauman, J. Baudrillard). The empirical base of the study was formed by the results of a large-scale research project of the Russian Society of Sociologists “Russian Students on the Great Patriotic War”, which has a fifteen-year history. Processing the data obtained has required using the software product Vortex 10. To study the peculiarities of young people’s perception of the events of the war years, the authors have chosen problematic issues, actualized by modern socio-political processes. The results have revealed the prerequisites for the alienation of generations (lack of discussion of events with relatives), as well as some inconsistencies in the perceptions of young people about the role of the countries participating in the Second World War to the real historical reality. The novelty of the results was predetermined by the identification of features in the views of civilian and military youth concerning controversial issues of history, explained by differences in the educational environment. In addition, the differences in ideas about patriotism in the two youth groups are shown and attributive markers of the concept of “patriotism” are proposed. The results obtained may be of interest to researchers studying youth problems.

References:

  1. Anikin D. A. 2016. ‘The passing of time’: modern Russian youth and risks of historical memory”. Proceedings of the International Interdisciplinary Conference “Kaleydoskop vremeni: uskorenie, inversiya, nelineynost, mnogoobrazie” (25-26 September 2015, Saratov, SGTU im. Gagarina Yu. A.), pp. 82-90. Saratov. [In Russian]

  2. Beck U. 2000. Risk Society. On the way to another modernity. Moscow: Progress-Traditsiya. 384 pp. [In Russian]

  3. Berger P., Lukman T. 1995. Social Construction of Reality. Treatise on the Sociology of Knowledge. Moscow: Medium. 323 pp. [In Russian]

  4. Bodriyar Zh. 2000. The Transparency of Evil. Translated by L. Lyubarskaya, E. Markovskaya. Moscow: Dobrosvet. 258 pp. [In Russian]

  5. Vishnevskiy Yu. R., Narkhov D. Yu. 2015. “The dynamic of patriotic attitudes of student youth: based on monitoring materials ‘Russian students on the Great Patriotic War (2005 — 2010 — 2015)”. In: Vishnevskiy Yu. R., Narkhov D. Yu. The War Was the Day before Yesterday… Russian Students about the Great Patriotic War: Monitoring Materials “Modern Russian Students about the Great Patriotic War”, pp. 85-201. Ekaterinburg: Izdatelstvo Uralskogo universiteta. [In Russian]

  6. Vishnevskiy Yu. R., Dulina N. V., Ikingrin E. N., Mansurov V.A., Pronina E. I. 2020. “Does the saved world remember — the eternal world, the living world? (based on the results of sociological research)”. Primo Aspectu, no. 2 (42), pp. 7-16. [In Russian]

  7. Zagutin D. S. 2020. “Historical memory in the postmodern culture”. Gumanitariy Yuga Rossii, vol. 9 (42), no. 2, pp. 225-233. DOI: 10.18522/2227-8656.2020.2.16 [In Russian]

  8. Alekseev S. V. (ed.). 2015. Historical Consciousness of Russian Youth. Moscow: Izdatelstvo Moskovskogo gumanitarnogo universiteta. 115 pp. [In Russian]

  9. Likhachov D. S. 1985. The Letters on the Kind and Wonderful. Edited by G. A. Dubrovskaya. Moscow: Detskaya literatura. Accessed 20 August 2020. https://b1.culture.ru/c/102019/%D0%9F%D0%B8%D1%81%D1%8C [In Russian]

  10. Nora P. 1999. “The problem of memory locations”. In: Nora P., Ozouf M., Puymège G., Winock M. Realms of Memory. Translated from French by D. Khapaeva. Pp. 17-50. Saint Petersburg: Izdatelstvo SPbGU. [In Russian]

  11. Omelchenko E. L., Andreeva Yu. V. 2017. “What remains in family history: the memory of the Soviet through the conversation of three generations”. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya, no. 11, pp. 147-156. DOI: 10.7868/S0132162517110162 [In Russian]

  12. Romanovskiy N. V. 2011. “What’s new in sociology is the ‘memory boom’”. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya, no. 6, pp. 13-23. [In Russian]

  13. All-Russian Center for Public Opinion Research (VTsIOM). “Russians about World War II: causes, allies, opponents”. No. 4043. 29 August 2019. Accessed 18 April 2020. https://wciom.ru/index.php?id=236&uid=9869 [In Russian]

  14. Toshchenko Zh. T. 2015. “Historical consciousness and historical memory”. In: Vishnevskiy Yu. R., Narkhov D. Yu. The War Was the Day before Yesterday… Russian Students about the Great Patriotic War: Monitoring Materials “Modern Russian Students about the Great Patriotic War”, pp. 40-42. Ekaterinburg: Izdatelstvo Uralskogo universiteta. [In Russian]

  15. Halbwachs M. 2007. Les cadres sociaux de la memoire. Translated from French and Introduction by S. N. Zenkin. Moscow: Novoe izdatelstvo. 348 pp. [In Russian]

  16. Shirokalova G. S., Shimanskaya O. K. 2020. “The historical memory and partiotism”. Filosofiya khozyaystva, no. 1, pp. 238-251. [In Russian]

  17. Assmann A. 2010. “Re-framing memory. between individual and collective forms of constructing the past”. In: Tilmans K., Vree F. van, Winter J. (eds.). Performing the Past: Memory, History, and Identity in Modern Europe, pp. 35-50. Amsterdam University Press.

  18. Bauman Z. 1992. Intimations of Postmodernity. London: Routledge. 232 pp.

  19. Giddens A. 1990. The Consequences of Modernity. Cambridge: Polity Press. 186 pр.

  20. Howe N., Strauss W. 2000. Millennials Rising: The Next Great Generation. New York: Vintage Books. 432 pр.

  21. Huyssen A. 1995. Twilight Memories: Marking Time in the Culture of Amnesia. New York: Routledge. 292 pp.

Коллективная память студенческой молодежи в эпоху постмодерна

Выпуск:

2020. Том 4. № 3 (13)

Название: 
Коллективная память студенческой молодежи в эпоху постмодерна


Для цитирования: Грошева И. А. Коллективная память студенческой молодежи в эпоху постмодерна / И. А. Грошева, И. Л. Грошев, Л. И. Грошева // Siberian Socium. 2020. Том 4. № 3 (13). С. 33-48. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-3-33-48

Об авторах:

Грошева Ирина Александровна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент, заведующий кафедрой теории и истории государства и права, гуманитарных и естественнонаучных дисциплин, Филиал Автономной некоммерческой организации высшего образования «Институт деловой карьеры» в Тюмени (г. Тюмень, РФ); Scopus AuthorID: 304639; grosh@nextmail.ru

Грошев Игорь Львович, кандидат социологических наук, доцент, профессор кафедры гуманитарных и общенаучных дисциплин, Тюменское высшее военно-инженерное командное училище имени маршала инженерных войск А. И. Прошлякова (г. Тюмень, РФ); Scopus AuthorID: 304631; grosh@nextmail.ru

Грошева Любовь Игоревна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры гуманитарных и общенаучных дисциплин, Тюменское высшее военно-инженерное командное училище имени маршала инженерных войск А. И. Прошлякова (г. Тюмень, РФ); Scopus AuthorID: 767451; malivia@rambler.ru

Аннотация:

Отсутствие согласия в обществе по важнейшим проблемам истории негативно сказывается на формировании коллективной памяти молодого поколения. Социализация миллениалов (в терминах Н. Хоува и У. Штрауса) имеет специфические особенности, которые становятся главным инструментом формирования новой коллективной идентичности. В эпоху постмодерна общество сталкивается с целым рядом рисков и нуждается в рекомендациях по их нивелированию. Цель данной статьи — выявить особенности коллективной памяти студенческой молодежи на примере восприятия событий Великой Отечественной войны (ВОВ) в условиях сверхтолерантного постмодернистского общества. В качестве методологической основы исследования были избраны концепция социального конструирования (П. Бергер, Т. Лукман), концепция коллективной памяти (М. Хальбвакс, П. Нора, А. Ассман), а также постструктуралистское направление постмодернизма (З. Бауман, Ж. Бодрийяр). Эмпирическую базу исследования составили результаты масштабного научно-исследовательского проекта Российского общества социологов «Российское студенчество о Великой Отечественной войне», имеющего пятнадцатилетнюю историю. Для обработки полученных данных использовался программный продукт Vortex 10. Для изучения особенностей восприятия молодыми людьми событий военных лет выбраны проблемные вопросы, актуализированные современными социально-политическими процессами. В ходе исследования выявлены предпосылки отчуждения поколений (отсутствие обсуждения событий с родственниками), а также некоторые несоответствия представлений молодых людей о роли стран-участниц ВОВ реальной исторической действительности. Новизну результатов предопределило выявление особенностей в представлениях гражданской и военной молодежи, касающихся спорных вопросов истории, объясняющихся различиями в образовательной среде. Кроме того, показаны различия в представлениях о патриотизме в двух молодежных группах и предложены атрибутивные маркеры концепта «патриотизм». Полученные результаты могут представлять интерес для исследователей, занимающихся изучением проблем молодежи.

Список литературы:

  1. Аникин Д. А. «Уходящее время»: современная российская молодежь и риски исторической памяти / Д. А. Аникин // Сборник статей по материалам Международной междисциплинарной конференции «Калейдоскоп времени: ускорение, инверсия, нелинейность, многообразие» (Саратов, 25-26 сентября 2015 г.). Саратов: СГТУ им. Гагарина Ю. А., 2016. С. 82-90.

  2. Бек У. Общество риска. На пути к другому модерну / У. Бек. М.: Прогресс-Традиция, 2000. 384 с.

  3. Бергер П. Социальное конструирование реальности. Трактат по социологии знания / П. Бергер, Т. Лукман. М.: Медиум, 1995. 323 с.

  4. Бодрийар Ж. Прозрачность зла / Ж. Бодрийар; пер. Л. Любарской, Е. Марковской. М.: Добросвет, 2000. 258 с.

  5. Вишневский Ю. Р. Динамика патриотических установок студенческой молодежи: по материалам мониторинга «Российское студенчество о Великой Отечественной войне» (2005 — 2010 — 2015 гг.) / Ю. Р. Вишневский, Д. Ю. Нархов // Война была позавчера… Российское студенчество о Великой Отечественной войне: материалы мониторинга «Современное российское студенчество о Великой Отечественной войне» / Ю. Р. Вишневский, Д. Ю. Нархов; под общ. ред. Ю. Р. Вишневского. Екатеринбург: Изд-во Урал. ун-та, 2015. С. 185-201.

  6. Вишневский Ю. Р. Помнит ли мир спасенный, мир вечный, мир живой? (по итогам социологического исследования) / Ю. Р. Вишневский, Н. В. Дулина, Е. Н. Икингрин, В. А. Мансуров, Е. И. Пронина // Primo Aspectu. 2020. № 2 (42). С. 7-16.

  7. Загутин Д. С. Историческая память в культуре постмодерна / Д. С. Загутин // Гуманитарий Юга России. 2020. Том 9 (42). № 2. С. 225-233. DOI: 10.18522/2227-8656.2020.2.16

  8. Историческое сознание российской молодежи: монография / под общ. ред. С. В. Алексеева. М.: Изд-во Мос. гум. ун-та, 2015. 115 с.

  9. Лихачёв Д. С. Письма о добром и прекрасном / Д. С. Лихачёв; сост., общ. ред. Г. А. Дубровской. М.: Дет. лит., 1985. URL: https://b1.culture.ru/c/102019/%D0%9F%D0%B8%D1%81%D1%8C (дата обращения: 20.08.2020).

  10. Нора П. Между памятью и историей. Проблематика мест памяти / П. Нора // Франция-память / П. Нора, М. Озуф, Ж. де Пюимеж, М. Винок; пер. с франц. Д. Хапаевой. СПб.: Изд-во СПбГУ, 1999. С. 17-50.

  11. Омельченко Е. Л. Что остается в семейной истории: память о советском сквозь разговор трех поколений / Е. Л. Омельченко, Ю. В. Андреева // Социологические исследования. 2017. № 11. С. 147-156. DOI: 10.7868/S0132162517110162

  12. Романовский Н. В. Новое в социологии — «бум памяти» / Н. В. Романовский // Социологические исследования. 2011. № 6. С. 13-23.

  13. Россияне о Второй мировой войне: причины, союзники, противники // Всероссийский центр изучения общественного мнения (ВЦИОМ). № 4043. 2019. 29 августа. URL: https://wciom.ru/index.php?id=236&uid=9869 (дата обращения: 18.04.2020).

  14. Тощенко Ж. Т. Историческое сознание и историческая память / Ж. Т. Тощенко // Война была позавчера… Российское студенчество о Великой Отечественной войне: Материалы мониторинга «Современное российское студенчество о Великой Отечественной войне» / Ю. Р. Вишневский, Д. Ю. Нархов; под общ. ред. Ю. Р. Вишневского. Екатеринбург: Изд-во Урал. ун-та, 2015. С. 40-42.

  15. Хальбвакс М. Социальные рамки памяти / М. Хальбвакс; пер. с фр. и вступ. ст. С. Н. Зенкина. М.: Новое изд-во, 2007. 348 с.

  16. Широкалова Г. С. Историческая память & патриотизм / Г. С. Широкалова, О. К. Шиманская // Философия хозяйства. 2020. № 1. С. 238-251.

  17. Assmann A. Re-framing memory. Between individual and collective forms of constructing the past / A. Assmann // Performing the Past: Memory, History, and Identity in Modern Europe / K. Tilmans, F. van Vree, J. Winter (eds.). Amsterdam University Press, 2010. Pp. 35-50.

  18. Bauman Z. Intimations of Postmodernity / Z. Bauman. London: Routledge, 1992. 232 рр.

  19. Giddens A. The Consequences of Modernity / A. Giddens. Cambridge: Polity Press, 1990. 186 рр.

  20. Howe N. Millennials Rising: The Next Great Generation / N. Howe, W. Strauss. New York: Vintage Books, 2000. 432 рр.

  21. Huyssen A. Twilight Memories: Marking Time in the Culture of Amnesia / A. Huyssen. N. Y.: Routledge, 1995. 292 рp.