The resistance of the social landscape: “barbarism” and “civilization” in the social space

Release:

2020, Vol. 4. № 1 (11)

Title: 
The resistance of the social landscape: “barbarism” and “civilization” in the social space


For citation: Trufanov D. O. 2020 ‘The resistance of the social landscape: “barbarism” and “civilization” in the social space’. Siberian Socium, vol. 4, no. 1 (11), pp. 8-22. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-1-8-22

About the author:

Dmitry O. Trufanov, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Institute of Education, Psychology and Sociology, Siberian Federal University (Krasnoyarsk, Russian Federation); ORCID: 0000-0002-5946-7479; WoS ResearcherID: AAJ-6463-2020dtrufanov@sfu-kras.ru

Abstract:

This article discusses the concept of “social landscape” and studies the structure of the social landscape and its elements’ functions. The author analyzes the relationship between the concepts of “geographical landscape”, “socio-cultural landscape”, and “social landscape”. The defining feature of the social landscape is the value-normative structure that regulates the social relations of actors who act in the social space of a particular location. Changing this structure leads to the movement of the social landscape and its transition from one state to another. In the social landscape, the author identifies such structural elements as the center and the periphery, where the center is associated with the value-normative institutions of the state, and the periphery is expressed in the form of multiple alternative value-normative structures and identities that are formed in local communities. From the position of state-centered discourse, the center of the social landscape is associated with civilization and civilizational development, while the periphery is associated with barbarism in its modern interpretation. Barbarism in social space is a set of practices of social behavior caused by alternative value-normative structures that go beyond state institutions. Areas of barbarism in the social landscape are associated with an increased level of deviation, weakened social control, and weak penetration of state norms and values. Such areas carry risks of destruction of value-normative structures of the center of the social landscape. The resistance of the social landscape is a barrier of communication that prevents the penetration of value-normative structures of the center in the peripheral areas. Barriers are associated with the existence of alternative state value-normative structures and identities. The areas of barbarism and civilization in the social landscape are in a relationship of complementarity and perform a number of necessary functions in relation to each other. Such functions are the formation and maintenance of socio-cultural identity, strengthening and development of forms of social control, and the function of social exchange.

References:

  1. Bagdasaryan N. G., Koloskov S. S. 2015. ‘Engineering elite in Postnonclassical Era: activity paradigm shift’. Humanities Bulletin of BMSTU, no. 11 (37). http://hmbul.ru/catalog/hum/socio/322.html [In Russian]

  2. Bauman Z. 2008. Liquid Modernity. Translated from English; edited by Yu. V. Asochakov. St. Petersburg: Piter. 540 pp. [In Russian]

  3. Bourdieu P. 2007. Sociology of Social Space. Translated from French; the translation edited by N. A. Shmatko. Moscow: Institut eksperimentaalnoy sotsiologii; St. Petersburg: Aleteya. 288 pp. [In Russian]

  4. Wallerstein I. 2001. Analysis of World Systems and the Situation in the Contemporary World. Translated from English by P. M. Kudyukin; edited by B. Yu. Kagarlitsky. St. Petersburg: Universitetskaay kniga. 416 pp. [In Russian]

  5. Vasilenko V .I., Shtanyko M. Yu. 2013. ‘Analysis of migration processes under globalization’. Questions of National and Federative Relations, no. 3 (22), pp. 147-155. [In Russian]

  6. Galiullina S. D., BreslerM. G., Suleymanov A. R., Rabogoshvili A. A., Bayramgulova N. N. 2018. ‘Social lending system in China as an element of the digital future’. Bulletin USPTU. Science, Education, Economy. Series Economy, no. 4 (26), pp. 114-120. [In Russian]

  7. Dirin D. A. 2015. ‘The main approaches to the study of cultural landscapes in Russian cultural geography’. Social and Economic Geography. Bulletin of the Association of Russian Geographers — Social Scientists, no. 4, pp. 24-37. [In Russian]

  8. Zborovsky G. E. 2010. ‘The regional social space as a sociological phenomenon’. Society and Power, no. 4 (28), pp. 11-20. [In Russian]

  9. Simmel G. 2002. ‘The Metropolis and Mental Life’. Logos, no. 3 (34), pp. 1-12. [In Russian]

  10. Ionin L. G. 2012. Rise of the Minorities. Moscow; St. Petersburg: Universitetskaya kniga. 237 pp. [In Russian]

  11. Isachenko G. A., Reznikov A. I. 1999. ‘Landscape and social boundaries: two sides of interaction (north-west of European Russia)’. RFBR Newsletter, no. 7. [In Russian]

  12. Kirillov A. 2018. ‘How the system of social trust in China works’. TASS. 29 May. https://tass.ru/opinions/5225841 [In Russian]

  13. Malashenko A. V., Nisnevich Yu. A., Ryabov A. V. 2018. ‘Modern barbarism: reasons and consequences’. Politeia, no. 2 (89), pp. 6-22. [In Russian]

  14. Skorik A. P. 2011. ‘Installation of the modern Cossacks in the social landscape of Russian society’. Proceedings of the All-Russian Research Conference “Russian Cossacks: History, Problems of Revival and Development Prospects” (October). Edited by V. N. Ratushnyak. Pp. 235-242. Krasnodar. [In Russian]

  15. Scott J. 2017. ‘The art of not being governed: orality, writing, and texts’. RUDN Journal of Sociology, vol. 17, no. 3, pp. 267-288. [In Russian]

  16. Scott J. 2017. The Art of Not Being Governed. An Anarchist History of Upland Southeast Asia. Translated from English by I. V. Trotsuk. Moscow: Novoe izdatelstvo. 568 pp. [In Russian]

  17. Torkunova A. V., Malygina A. V. (eds.). 2017. The Handbook of Contemporary International Relations. Moscow: Aspekt Press. 688 pp. [In Russian]

  18. Sokolova T. V. 2010. ‘Social landscape of the post-Soviet space in the context of globalization processes of the contemporary world’. In: Social Factors of Post-Soviet Integration. Series “International Economic and Political Studies”, pp. 221-241. Moscow: Russian Academy of Sciences, Institute of Economics. [In Russian]

  19. Sorokin P. A. 1992. Person. Civilization. Society. Edited and foreword by A. Yu. Sogomonov; translated from English. Moscow: Politizdat. 543 pp. [In Russian]

  20. Nevirko D. D. (ed.). 2017. Social Order in the Context of Modernity: Problems of Existence and Development. Krasnoyarsk: Siberian Federal University. 176 pp. [In Russian]

  21. Standing G. 2014. The Precariat: The New Dangerous Class. Moscow: Ad Marginem Press. 328 pp. [In Russian]

  22. Urry J. 2012. Sociology beyond Societies: Mobilities for the Twenty-First Century. Translated from English by D. Kralechkin. Moscow: Publishing. House of the Higher School of Economics. 336 pp. [In Russian]

  23. Ufimtseva E. I. 2016. ‘Social landscape of religious socialization of the older generation’. Proceedings of the 6th International Research Conference “Sociology of Religion in the Society of the Late Modern” (19-20 September, Belgorod), pp. 205-211. Belgorod State University [In Russian]

  24. RF Federal target program “Strengthening the unity of the Russian nation and the ethnocultural development of the peoples of Russia” 2014-2020. Approved by the RF Government Decree of 20 August 2013 No. 718. http://docs.cntd.ru/document/499040473 [In Russian]

  25. Shumkin G. N., Shumkina T. G. 2017. ‘Social landscapes of the Russian empire in the mid-nineteenth century’. Issues of World History, no 19, pp. 312-322. [In Russian]

  26. Ferguson S. J. 2017. Mapping the Social Landscape: Readings in Sociology. SAGE Publications. 712 pр.

  27. Friedmann J. 1966. Regional Development Policy: A Case Study of Venezuela. MIT Press. 279 pp.

  28. Livingstone S. 2002. ‘The changing social landscape’. In: Lievrouw L. A., Livingstone S. (eds.). Handbook of New Media: Social Shaping and Social Consequences of ICTs, pp. 17-21. London, UK: Sage.

  29. Sweetman P., Knowles С. (eds.). 2004. Picturing the Social Landscape. Visual Methods and the Sociological Imagination. London: Routledge. 216 pр.

  30. Rokkan S. 1987. ‘The center-periphery polarity’. In: Center Periphery Structures in Europe: An ISSC Workbook in Comparative Analysis, pp. 17-50. Frankfurt a. M.; N.Y.: Campus verl.

Сопротивление социального ландшафта: «варварство» и «цивилизация» в социальном пространстве

Выпуск:

2020. Том 4. № 1 (11)

Название: 
Сопротивление социального ландшафта: «варварство» и «цивилизация» в социальном пространстве


Для цитирования: Труфанов Д. О. Сопротивление социального ландшафта: «варварство» и «цивилизация» в социальном пространстве / Д. О. Труфанов // Siberian Socium. 2020. Том 4. № 1 (11). С. 8-22. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2020-4-1-8-22

Об авторе:

Труфанов Дмитрий Олегович, кандидат социологических наук, доцент кафедры социологии, Институт педагогики, психологии и социологии, Сибирский федеральный университет (г. Красноярск, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0002-5946-7479; WoS ResearcherID: AAJ-6463-2020dtrufanov@sfu-kras.ru

Аннотация:

В статье обсуждается содержание понятия «социальный ландшафт», рассматривается структура социального ландшафта и функции его элементов. Автор подвергает анализу соотношение понятий «географический ландшафт», «социокультурный ландшафт» и «социальный ландшафт». Определяющим признаком социального ландшафта признается ценностно-нормативная структура, которая регулирует социальные отношения акторов, действующих в социальном пространстве конкретной локации. Изменение данной структуры приводит к движению социального ландшафта, его переходу из одного состояния в другое. В качестве структурных элементов социального ландшафта автор выделяет центр и периферию, где центр связан с ценностно-нормативными установлениями государства, а периферия выражена в виде множественных альтернативных ценностно-нормативных структур и идентичностей, формирующихся в местных локальных сообществах. С позиции государственноцентричного дискурса центр социального ландшафта ассоциирован с цивилизацией и цивилизационным развитием, периферия — с варварством в его современном прочтении. Варварство в социальном пространстве определяется как совокупность практик социального поведения, обусловленных альтернативными ценностно-нормативными структурами, выходящими за пределы государственных установлений. Области варварства в социальном ландшафте связаны с повышенным уровнем девиации, ослабленным социальным контролем и затрудненным проникновением государственных норм и ценностей. Такие области несут риски разрушения ценностно-нормативных структур центра социального ландшафта. Сопротивление социального ландшафта состоит в существовании барьеров коммуникации, препятствующих проникновению ценностно-нормативных структур центра в периферийные области. Барьеры связаны с существованием альтернативных государственным ценностно-нормативных структур и идентичностей. Области варварства и цивилизации в социальном ландшафте находятся в отношениях взаимодополнительности и выполняют ряд необходимых функций по отношению друг к другу: формирование и поддержание социокультурной идентичности, укрепление и развитие форм социального контроля, функцию социального обмена.

Список литературы:

  1. Багдасарьян Н. Г. Инженерная элита в постнеклассическую эпоху: смена парадигмы деятельности / Н. Г. Багдасарьян, С. С. Колосков // Гуманитарный вестник МГТУ им. Н. Э. Баумана. 2015. № 11 (37). URL: http://hmbul.ru/catalog/hum/socio/322.html

  2. Бауман З. Текучая современность / З. Бауман; пер. с англ.; под ред. Ю. В. Асочакова. СПб.: Питер, 2008. 540 с.

  3. Бурдьё П. Социология социального пространства / П. Бурдьё; пер. с франц., отв. ред. перевода Н. А. Шматко. М.: Институт экспериментальной социологии; СПб.: Алетейя, 2007. 288 с.

  4. Валлерстайн И. Анализ мировых систем и ситуация в современном мире / И. Валлерстайн; пер. с англ. П. М. Кудюкина; под общ. ред. канд. полит. наук Б. Ю. Кагарлицкого. СПб.: Университетская книга, 2001. 416 с.

  5. Василенко В. И. Анализ миграционных процессов в условиях глобализации / В. И. Василенко, М. Ю. Штанько // Вопросы национальных и федеративных отношений. 2013. Вып. 3 (22). С. 147-155.

  6. Галиуллина С. Д. Система социального кредитования в Китае как элемент цифрового будущего / С. Д. Галиуллина, М. Г. Бреслер, А. Р. Сулейманов, А. А. Рабогошвили, Н. Н. Байрамгулова // Вестник УГНТУ. Наука, образование, экономика. Серия: Экономика. 2018. № 4 (26). С. 114-120.

  7. Дирин Д. А. Основные подходы к исследованию культурных ландшафтов в российской культурной географии / Д. А. Дирин // Социально-экономическая география. Вестник ассоциации российских географов-обществоведов. 2015. № 4. С. 24-37.

  8. Зборовский Г. Е. Региональное социальное пространство как социологический феномен / Г. Е. Зборовский // Социум и власть. 2010. № 4 (28). С. 11-20.

  9. Зиммель Г. Большие города и духовная жизнь / Г. Зиммель // Логос. 2002. № 3 (34). С. 1-12.

  10. Ионин Л. Г. Восстание меньшинств / Л. Г. Ионин. М.; СПб.: Университетская книга, 2012. 237 с.

  11. Исаченко Г. А. Ландшафтные и социальные границы: две стороны взаимодействия (северо-запад европейской России) / Г. А. Исаченко, А. И. Резников // Информационный бюллетень РФФИ № 7. 1999.

  12. Кириллов А. Как работает система социального доверия в Китае / А. Кириллов // ТАСС. 2018. 29 мая. URL: https://tass.ru/opinions/5225841

  13. Малашенко А. В. Современное варварство: причины и следствия / А. В. Малашенко, Ю. А. Нисневич, А. В. Рябов // Полития. 2018. № 2 (89). С. 6-22.

  14. Скорик А. П. Инсталляция современного казачества в социальном ландшафте российского общества / А. П. Скорик // Российское казачество: история, проблемы возрождения и перспективы развития: материалы Всерос. заоч. науч.-практ. конф. (октябрь 2011 г.) / отв. ред. В. Н. Ратушняк. Краснодар, 2012. С. 235-242.

  15. Скотт Дж. Искусство безгосударственной жизни: устная традиция, письменность, тексты / Дж. Скотт // Вестник РУДН. Серия «Социология». 2017. Том 17. № 3. С. 267-288.

  16. Скотт Дж. Искусство быть неподвластным: Анархическая история высокогорий Юго-Восточной Азии / Дж. Скотт; пер. с англ. М.: Новое издательство, 2017. 568 с.

  17. Современные международные отношения: учебник / под ред. А. В. Торкунова, А. В. Малыгина. М.: Аспект Пресс, 2017. 688 с.

  18. Соколова Т. В. Социальный ландшафт постсоветского пространства в контексте процессов глобализации современного мира / Т. В. Соколова // Социальные факторы постсоветской интеграции. Сер. «Международные экономические и политические исследования» / Российская академия наук, Институт экономики. М., 2010. С. 221-241.

  19. Сорокин П. А. Человек. Цивилизация. Общество / П. А. Сорокин; общ. ред., сост. и предисл. А. Ю. Согомонов; пер. с англ. М.: Политиздат, 1992. 543 с.

  20. Социальный порядок в контексте современности: проблемы существования и развития: монография / науч. ред. Д. Д. Невирко. Красноярск: Сиб. федер. ун-т, 2017. 176 с.

  21. Стэндинг Г. Прекариат: новый опасный класс / Г. Стендинг. М.: Ад Маргинем Пресс, 2014. 328 с.

  22. Урри Дж. Социология за пределами обществ: виды мобильности для ХХI столетия / Дж. Урри; пер. с англ. Д. Кралечкина. Нац. исслед. ун-т. «Высшая школа экономики». М.: Изд. дом Высшей школы экономики, 2012. 336 с.

  23. Уфимцева Е. И. Социальный ландшафт религиозной социализации старшего поколения / Е. И. Уфимцева // Социология религии в обществе Позднего Модерна: сборник статей по материалам VI Междунар. науч. конф. НИУ «БелГУ» (19-20 сент. 2016 г.). С. 205-211.

  24. Федеральная целевая программа «Укрепление единства российской нации и этнокультурное развитие народов России» 2014-2020 годы. Утверждена постановлением Правительства Российской Федерации от 20 августа 2013 г. № 718. URL: http://docs.cntd.ru/document/499040473

  25. Шумкин Г. Н. Социальные ландшафты Российской империи в середине XIX века / Г. Н. Шумкин, Т. Г. Шумкина // Вопросы всеобщей истории. 2017. № 19. С. 312-322.

  26. Ferguson S. J. Mapping the Social Landscape: Readings in Sociology / S. J. Ferguson. SAGE Publications, 2017. 712 pр.

  27. Friedmann J. Regional Development Policy: A Case Study of Venezuela / J. Friedmann. MIT Press, 1966. 279 pp.

  28. Livingstone S. The changing social landscape / S. Livingstone // Handbook of New Media: Social Shaping and Social Consequences of ICTs / L. A. Lievrouw, S. Livingstone (eds.). London, UK: Sage, 2002. Рp. 17-21.

  29. Picturing the Social Landscape. Visual Methods and the Sociological Imagination / P. Sweetman, С. Knowles (eds.). London: Routledge, 2004. 216 pр.

  30. Rokkan S. The center-periphery polarity / S. Rokkan // Center Periphery Structures in Europe: An ISSC Workbook in Comparative Analysis. Frankfurt a. M.; N.Y.: Campus verl., 1987. Pр. 17-50.