Russian literary classics in the reading preferences of contempary Russian students

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №4 (10)

Title: 
Russian literary classics in the reading preferences of contempary Russian students


For citation: Kargapolova E. V., Davydova U. A., Osina E. M. 2019. “Russian literary classics in the reading preferences of contemporary Russian students”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 4 (10), pp. 74-86. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-4-74-86

About the authors:

Ekaterina V. Kargapolova, Dr. Sci. (Soc.), Professor, Academic Department of Political Science and Sociology, Plekhanov Russian University of Economics (Moscow, Russian Federation); ORCID: 0000-0002-2892-3953; Web of Science ReseacherID: O-6734-2017; K474671@list.ru

Uliia A. Davydova, Cand. Sci. (Hist.), Associate Professor, Academic Department of Political Science and Sociology, Plekhanov Russian University of Economics (Moscow, Russian Federation); ORCID: 0000-0001-5660-328X; ylkadav@mail.ru

Ekaterina M. Osina, Undergraduate Student, Plekhanov Russian University of Economics (Moscow, Russian Federation); oca-ket@mail.ru

Abstract:

The problem of studying the structure of reading preferences of the population is interdisciplinary, as it belongs to the fields of literary studies, teaching, and social studies. There is a need for the research matching the current situation, which a number of authors quite rightfully name the “reading crisis”. At the same time, specific empirical studies of the recent years in Russia show an increase in reader interest (especially among young people). This actualizes the need to diagnose the structure of reader preferences in the vanguard of young people, the future scientific, technical, and managerial elite — the university students. In the world, one may see a reception of the national classical literary heritage as a reaction to globalist projects in the form of Americanization (or rather, McDonaldization). This study aims to analyze the place of Russian literary classics in the structure of reading preferences among the university students based on the results of a specific sociological questionnaire of the student audience in Astrakhan, Volgograd, and Moscow, implemented under the guidance and direct participation of the authors in 2016 and in 2019. As an indicator of familiarity of respondents with the works of Russian and Soviet writers of the 19th and 20th centuries, the authors counted the reading of a full text. The level of familiarity with the texts of the Golden Age of the Russian culture has increased, same goes for the readers’ interest in Soviet authors. Students pay more attention to the works of N. V. Gogol and M. A. Bulgakov nowadays. There is also a growing audience of authors, who write about the Great Patriotic War. The authors of this article associate this phenomenon with the activation of the historical memory of Russians. At the same time, the results show that students prefer the Soviet period of literary classics to a much lesser extent than the works of the Golden Age. The tendency to increase the importance of Russian literary classics in the structure of reader preferences of contemporary students can be associated with the processes of revival of interest in Russian culture, with the strengthening of civil position, and ultimately — the national identity. The prospects for further research are considered by the authors based on qualitative methods involving the theoretical and methodological potential of social and literary studies, which can show the possible transformation of the understanding of the meaning of works of Russian literary classics by modern students.

References:

  1. Bakaeva S. A. 2016. “Reception of the classics in modern French literature”. Moscow State University Bulletin. Series 9. Philology, no 4, pp. 145-153. [In Russian]

  2. Wallerstein I., Collins R., Mann M., Derluguian G., Calhoun C. 2015. Does Capitalism Have a Future? Moscow: Izdatelstvo Instituta Gaydara. [In Russian]

  3. Kazin A. L. 2019. “Classical art in the prospect of modern aesthetic experience”. Memoirs, no 2 (20), pp. 1-4. DOI: 10.34680/2411-7951.2019.2(20).4 [In Russian]

  4. Kargapolova E. V., Dulina N. V., Kargapolov S. V., Lashuk I. V. 2019. Youth in the Space of Electronic Culture. Edited by E. V. Kargapolova. Moscow: REU im. G. V. Plekhanova. [In Russian]

  5. Dulina N. V., Kargapolova E. V., Simonenko M. A. 2017. The Book Culture of the Conteporary Students (the case of the Lower Volga Region). Astrakhan: AGASU. [In Russian]

  6. VTsIOM. 2018. “Favorite books: what do Russians read?”. VTsIOM press release no 3776, 1 October. Accessed 10 February 2019. https://wciom.ru/index.php?id=236&uid=9338 [In Russian]

  7. Lyakhu V. S. 2017. “Literaturocentricity of Russian culture and biblical axiology”. In: Native Literature in the Contemporary Cultural and Educational Space, pp. 24-30. Tver: Tverskoy gosudarstvenniy universitet. [In Russian]

  8. Makarov D. V. 2016. “Problems of teaching Russian literature in the context of Christian axiology”. Modern High Technologies, no 12-2, pp. 378-381. [In Russian]

  9. Malinovskaya N. A. 2019. “Russian classical literature”. In: Youth of the 3rd Millennium, pp. 1239-1242. Omsk: Omskiy gosudarstvenniy universitet im. F. M. Dostoevskogo. [In Russian]

  10. Medetova I. A., Savelyeva Yu. A. 2017. “Domestic literary classics in the structure of reading preferences of modern students”. In: Alefirenko A. F., Semenenko N. N. Ethnocultural Dynamics of the Russian Language, pp. 242-249. Stariy Oskol: ROSA. [In Russian]

  11. Mikhina E. V. 2007. “Polemic interpretation of classics as a ‘paradigm of the era’”. Bulletin of the South Ural State University, no 8 (80), pp. 70-73. [In Russian]

  12. Nikonova T. A. 2003. “The New Man” in the Russian Literature of the 1900s-1930s: A Projective Model and Artistic Practice. Edited by V. M. Akatkin. Voronezh: Voronezhskiy gosudarstvenniy universitet. [In Russian]

  13. Paretskaya M. E. 2015. “Christian component of Russian classical literature”. Natsionalnaya assotsiatsiya uchenykh, no 1-2 (6).S. 40-42. [In Russian]

  14. Petrovskaya E. V. 2007. “The crisis of reading or the crisis of the quality of reading?”. Universum: Bulletin of the Herzen University, no 10, pp. 51-53. [In Russian]

  15. Pudov A. G. 2019. “The famous novel by Chernyshevsky: the experience of a contemporary reflection”. Proceedings of the Seminar on 190th Anniversary of N. G. Chernyishevsky “Vyidayuscheesya nauchnoe i literaturnoe nasledie”, pp. 10-14. Yakutsk: Akademiya; Yakutskiy nauchniy tsentr Sibirskogo otdeleniya RAN; Yakutskaya gosudarstvennaya selskohozyaystvennaya akademiya. [In Russian]

  16. Ruskin J. 1986. “Of Kings’ Treasuries”. In: Kunin V. V. (ed.). Ships of thought. English and French Writers about Books, Reading, Bibliophiles. Stories, Pamphlets, Essays, pp. 147-158. Moscow: Kniga. [In Russian]

  17. Romanicheva E. S. 2018. “On the commentary, about centrifugal and centripetal (article one)”. Pedagogicheskiy IMIDZh, no 2(39), pp. 57-65. [In Russian]

  18. Romanov I. A. 2017. “Russian literature in the era of the crossroads”. Proceedings of the 5th International Research Conference “Russkiy yazyik v sovremennom Kitae”. Edited by A.E. Gorkovenko. Pp. 129-132. Chita: Zabaykalskiy gosudarstvenniy universitet. [In Russian]

  19. Romanov P. V. 2009. “Bookstores in urban space”. Romanov P. V., Yarskaya-Smirnova E. R. (eds.). Visual Anthropology: Urban Memory Cards, pp. 235-258. Moscow: Variant. [In Russian]

  20. Rubtsov A. S. 2005. “The union of literature and cinema”. The Bulletin of Adyghe State University, no 3, pp. 111-113. [In Russian]

  21. Savvinyikh M. 2019. “‘I Will Find a Reader in the Progeny...’ (notes by a provincial teacher)”. School Technologies, no 3 (1474), pp. 110-150. [In Russian]

  22. Sennovskaya E. N. 2016. “Visualization of classics and problems of contemporary reading of fiction”. Proceedings of the International Research Conference “Sovremennoe hudozhestvennoe obrazovanie: vzaimodeystvie razlichnyih vidov iskusstva”, pp. 66-72. Moscow: Akademiya akvareli i izyaschnyih iskusstv Sergeya Andriyaki. [In Russian]

  23. Serebryakova Z. A. 2017. “Relevant issues of teaching the history of literature at the University of Culture”. Proceedings of the International Research Conference “Russkiy yazyik i literatura v obrazovatelnom prostranstve aziatskogo regiona” on 85th Anniversary of the Department of Russian and Foreign Literature of Buryatia State University. Edited by O. A. Kolmakova. Pp. 171-173. Ulan-Ude: Buryatskiy gosudarstvenniy universitet imeni Dorzhi Banzarova. [In Russian]

  24. Simonenko M. A., Kargapolova E. V. 2019. “Children’s book in the socialization of modern youth”. Proceedings of the 11th Russian Research Conference “Detskaya kniga kak institut sotsializatsii: ‘zolotoy klyuchik’ k miru vzroslyikh” (24-25 October, Nizhniy Tagil). Edited by A. N. Sadrieva. Pp. 101-104. Nizhniy Tagil: Nizhnetagilskiy gosudarstvenniy sotsialno-pedagogicheskiy institut (filial), Rossiyskiy gosudarstvenniy professionalno-pedagogicheskiy universitet. [In Russian]

  25. Sohryakov Yu. I. 2012. “Gogol and Western literature of the 20th century”. Bulletin of Moscow Region State University, no 2, pp. 101-110. [In Russian]

  26. Suryanarayan N. 2018. “The use of innovative technologies in the teaching of fiction in a foreign audience”. Proceedings of the 2nd International Research Conference “Yazyik i rech v internete: lichnost, obschestvo, kommunikatsiya, kultura” in 2 vols. Edited by A. V. Dolzhikova and V. V. Barabash. Pp. 40-52. Moscow: Rossiyskiy universitet druzhbyi narodov. [In Russian]

  27. Toporina E. A. 2015. “Aesthetic features of the artistic interpretation of Russian classical literature”. Philosophy and Culture, no 12 (96), pp. 1861-1866. [In Russian]

  28. Tselishchev N. N. 2015. “Russian language, classical literature, historical memory — spiritual bonds of the Russian people”. Agrarnoe obrazovanie i nauka, no 3, pp. 11. [In Russian]

  29. VTsIOM. 2018. “What do Russians read?”. VTsIOM press release no 3765. Accessed 2 March 2019. https://wciom.ru/index.php?id=236&uid=9315 [In Russian]

  30. Shagieva L. A. 2016. “Formation of the spiritual and moral potential of the young generation in higher education”. Vestnik Soveta molodyih uchenyih Ryazanskogo gosudarstvennogo agrotehnologicheskogo universiteta im. P.A. Kostyicheva, no 1 (2), pp. 139-145. [In Russian]

  31. Shulzhenko V. I. 2018. “Contemporary Russian literature in the context of the traditions of Russian classics and intercultural integration in the 21st century”. The World of Russian Word, no 4, pp. 79-87. [In Russian]

  32. Shamyakina T. I. 2009. “Belarusian Literary Classics and Studies”. Vesnik BDU. Seriya 4, filalogiya, zhurnalistyika, pedagogika, no 1, pp. 10-19. [In Russian]

  33. Bollier, D. 1994. The Future of Community and Personal Identity in the Coming Electronic Culture. A Report of the Annual Aspen Institute Roundtable on Information Technology (18-21 August, Aspen, Colorado). Queenstown, MD: Aspen Institute.

  34. Dulina N. V., Kargapolova E. V., Simonenko M. A. 2017. “Precedent text of belletristic literature in the cultural memory of students: sociolinguistic aspect”. Bulletin of Slavic Cultures, no 3, pp. 163-175.

  35. Hutchings S. 2004. “Russian Literary Culture in the Camera Age. The word as image”. RoutledgeCurzon. Accessed 10 February 2019. www.eBookstore.tandf.co.uk

  36. Kurschus S. 2015. European Book Cultures. Diversity as a Challenge. Wiesbaden: Springer Fachmedien.

Отечественная литературная классика в читательских предпочтениях современного российского студенчества

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №4 (10)

Название: 
Отечественная литературная классика в читательских предпочтениях современного российского студенчества


Для цитирования: Каргаполова Е. В. Отечественная литературная классика в читательских предпочтениях современного российского студенчества / Е. В. Каргаполова, Ю. А. Давыдова, Е. М. Осина // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 4 (10). С. 74-86. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-4-74-86

Об авторах:

Каргаполова Екатерина Владимировна, доктор социологических наук, профессор кафедры политологии и социологии, Российский экономический университет им. Г. В. Плеханова (г. Москва, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0002-2892-3953; Web of Science ReseacherID: O-6734-2017; K474671@list.ru

Давыдова Юлия Александровна, кандидат исторических наук, доцент кафедры политологии и социологии, Российский экономический университет им. Г. В. Плеханова (г. Москва, РФ); ORCID: 0000-0001-5660-328X; ylkadav@mail.ru

Осина Екатерина Максимовна, студентка 2 курса направления «Гостиничное дело», Российский экономический университет им. Г. В. Плеханова (г. Москва, РФ); oca-ket@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Проблема изучения структуры читательских предпочтений населения является междисциплинарной — ее изучением занимаются филологи, педагоги, социологи. Необходимы исследования, адекватные сложившейся ситуации, которую ряд авторов совершенно справедливо называет «кризисом чтения». Но при этом конкретные эмпирические исследования последних лет в России демонстрируют рост читательского интереса (особенно среди молодежи). Это актуализирует необходимость диагностики структуры читательских предпочтений у авангарда молодежи, будущей научно-технической и управленческой элиты — студенчества вузов. В мире наблюдается рецепция национального классического литературного наследия как реакция на глобалистские проекты в виде американизации (а точнее — макдональдизации). Цель исследования — анализ места отечественной литературной классики в структуре читательских предпочтений студенчества вузов на основе результатов конкретного социологического исследования студенческой аудитории Астрахани, Волгограда и Москвы, реализованного под руководством и при непосредственном участии авторов статьи в 2016 и в 2019 гг. методом анкетирования. В качестве индикатора знакомства респондентов с произведениями русских и советских писателей XIX-XX вв. авторы рассматривали прочтение полного текста. Новизна исследования состоит в следующем. Зафиксирован рост уровня знакомства с текстами золотого века русской культуры, также повысился читательский интерес и к советским авторам. Значительно увеличилось внимание студентов к произведениям Н. В. Гоголя и М. А. Булгакова. Также отмечается и рост аудитории авторов, чьи произведения посвящены Великой Отечественной войне. Авторы связывают это явление с активизацией исторической памяти россиян. Вместе с тем исследование показало, что советский период литературной классики актуализирован в читательских предпочтениях студенчества в значительно меньшей степени, чем произведения золотого века. По мнению авторов, тенденция увеличения значимости отечественной литературной классики в структуре читательских предпочтений современного студенчества связана с процессами возрождения интереса к отечественной культуре, с укреплением гражданской позиции и в конечном итоге — национальной идентичности. Перспективы дальнейших исследований авторами рассматриваются на основе качественных методов с привлечением теоретико-методологического потенциала социологии и филологии, которые смогут показать возможные трансформации понимания смысла произведений отечественной литературной классики современными студентами.

Список литературы:

  1. Бакаева С. А. Рецепция классики в современной французской литературе / С. А. Бакаева // Вестник Московского университета. Сер. 9: Филология. 2016. № 4. С. 145-153.

  2. Есть ли будущее у капитализма?: сборник статей / И. Валлерстайн, Р. Коллинз, М. Манн, Г. Дерлугьян, К. Калхун. М.: Изд-во Института Гайдара, 2015. 320 с.

  3. Казин А. Л. Классическое искусство в свете современного эстетического опыта / А. Л. Казин // Ученые записки Новгородского государственного университета. 2019. № 2 (20). С. 1-4. DOI: 10.34680/2411-7951.2019.2(20).4

  4. Каргаполова Е. В. Молодежь в пространстве электронной культуры / Е. В. Каргаполова, Н. В. Дулина, С. В. Каргаполов, И. В. Лашук; под ред. Е. В. Каргаполовой. М.: ФГБОУ ВО «РЭУ им. Г. В. Плеханова», 2019. 224 с.

  5. Книжная культура современного студенчества (на примере Нижневолжского региона) / Н. В. Дулина, Е. В. Каргаполова, М. А. Симоненко. Астрахань: АГАСУ, 2017. 184 с.

  6. Любимые книги: что читают россияне?: пресс-выпуск ВЦИОМ № 3776 // ВЦИОМ. 2018. 1 октября. URL: https://wciom.ru/index.php?id=236&uid=9338 (дата обращения: 10.02.2019).

  7. Ляху В. С. Литературоцентричность русской культуры и библейская аксиология / В. С. Ляху // Родная словесность в современном культурном и образовательном пространстве: сборник научных трудов. Тверь: Тверской гос. ун-т, 2017. С. 24-30.

  8. Макаров Д. В. Проблемы преподавания русской литературы в контексте христианской аксиологии / Д. В. Макаров // Современные наукоемкие технологии. 2016. № 12-2. С. 378-381.

  9. Малиновская Н. А. Классика русской литературы / Н. А. Малиновская // Молодежь третьего тысячелетия: сборник научных статей. Омск: Омский гос. ун-т им. Ф. М. Достоевского, 2019. С. 1239-1242.

  10. Медетова И. А. Отечественная литературная классика в структуре читательских предпочтений современного студенчества / И. А. Медетова, Ю. А. Савельева // Этнокультурная динамика русского языка: сборник трудов молодых ученых / ред. А. Ф. Алефиренко, Н. Н. Семененко. Старый Оскол: РОСА, 2017. С. 242-249.

  11. Mихина Е. В. Полемическая интерпретация классики как «парадигма эпохи» / Е. В. Михина // Вестник ЮУрГУ. 2007. № 8 (80). С. 70-73.

  12. Никонова Т. А. «Новый человек» в русской литературе 1900-1930-х годов: проективная модель и художественная практика / Т. А. Никонова; науч. ред. В. М. Акаткин. Воронеж: Воронежский гос. ун-т, 2003. 232 с.

  13. Парецкая М. Э. Христианская составляющая русской классической литературы / М. Э. Парецкая // Национальная ассоциация ученых. 2015. № 1-2 (6). С. 40-42.

  14. Петровская Е. В. Кризис чтения или кризис качества чтения? / Е. В. Петровская // Universum: Вестник Герценовского университета. 2007. Вып. 10. С. 51-53.

  15. Пудов А. Г. Знаменитый роман Чернышевского: опыт современной рефлексии / А. Г. Пудов // Выдающееся научное и литературное наследие: сборник материалов круглого стола, посвященного 190-летию со дня рождения Н. Г. Чернышевского. Якутский научный центр Сибирского отделения РАН, кафедра философии; Якутская государственная сельскохозяйственная академия, кафедра социально-гуманитарных дисциплин. Якутск: ЯРО РГО «Академия», 2019. С. 10-14.

  16. Рёскин Дж. Сокровища королей / Дж. Рескин // Корабли мысли: сборник. Английские и французские писатели о книге, чтении, библиофилах. Рассказы, памфлеты, эссе / сост. В. В. Кунин. М.: Книга, 1986. С. 147-158.

  17. Романичева Е. С. О комментарии, о центробежном и центростремительном (статья первая) / Е. С. Романичева // Педагогический ИМИДЖ. 2018. № 2 (39). С. 57-65.

  18. Романов И. А. Русская литература в эпоху распутья / И. А. Романов // Русский язык в современном Китае: сборник научно-методических статей V Международной научно-практической конференции / отв. ред. А. Е. Горковенко. Чита: Забайкальский государственный университет, 2017. С. 129-132.

  19. Романов П. В. Книжные магазины в городском пространстве / П. В. Романов // Визуальная антропология: городские карты памяти / под общ. ред. П. В. Романова, Е. Р. Ярской-Смирновой. М.: Вариант, 2009. С. 235-258.

  20. Рубцов А. С. Союз литературы и кино / А. С. Рубцов // Вестник Адыгейского государственного университета. 2005. № 3. С. 111-113.

  21. Саввиных М. «Читателя найду в потомстве...» (записки провинциальной учительницы) / М. Саввиных // Народное образование. 2019. № 3 (1474). С. 110-150.

  22. Сенновская Е. Н. Визуализация классики и проблемы современного прочтения художественной литературы / Е. Н. Сенновская // Современное художественное образование: взаимодействие различных видов искусства: сборник материалов Международной научно-практической конференции. М.: Фгбоуво «Академия акварели и изящных искусств Сергея Андрияки», 2016. С. 66-72.

  23. Серебрякова З. А. Актуальные вопросы преподавания истории литературы в вузе культуры / З. А. Серебрякова // Русский язык и литература в образовательном пространстве азиатского региона: материалы Международной научно-практической конференции, посвященной 85-летию со дня образования кафедры русского языка и общего языкознания, кафедры русской и зарубежной литературы Бурятского государственного университета / отв. ред. О. А. Колмакова. Улан-Удэ: Бурятский гос. ун-т им. Доржи Банзарова, 2017. С. 171-173.

  24. Симоненко М. А. Детская книга в социализации современной молодежи / М. А. Симоненко, Е. В. Каргаполова // Детская книга как институт социализации: «золотой ключик» к миру взрослых: материалы XI Всероссийской научно-практической конференции (Нижний Тагил, 24-25 октября 2019 г.) / отв. ред. А. Н. Садриева. Нижний Тагил: Нижнетагильский государственный социально-педагогический институт (филиал) ФГАОУ ВО «Российский государственный профессионально-педагогический университет», 2019. С. 101-104.

  25. Сохряков Ю. И. Гоголь и западная литература ХХ века / Ю. И. Сохряков // Вестник Московского государственного областного университета. 2012. № 2. С. 101-110.

  26. Сурьянараян Н. Использование инновационных технологий в преподавании художественной литературы в иноязычной аудитории / Н. Сурьянараян // Язык и речь в интернете: личность, общество, коммуникация, культура: сборник статей II Международной научно-практической конференции: в 2 томах / под общ. ред. А. В. Должиковой, В. В. Барабаша. М.: Российский университет дружбы народов, 2018. С. 40-52.

  27. Топорина Е. А. Эстетические особенности художественной интерпретации русской классической литературы / Е. А. Топорина // Философия и культура. 2015. № 12 (96). С. 1861-1866.

  28. Целищев Н. Н. Русский язык, классическая литература, историческая память — духовные скрепы российского народа / Н. Н. Целищев // Аграрное образование и наука. 2015. № 3. С. 11.

  29. Что читают россияне?: пресс-выпуск ВЦИОМ № 3765 // ВЦИОМ. 2018. URL: https://wciom.ru/index.php?id=236&uid=9315 (дата обращения: 02.03.2019).

  30. Шагиева Л. А. Формирование духовно-нравственного потенциала молодого поколения в высших учебных заведениях / Л. А. Шагиева // Вестник Совета молодых ученых Рязанского государственного агротехнологического университета им. П. А. Костычева. 2016. № 1 (2). С. 139-145.

  31. Шульженко В. И. Современная литература на русском языке в контексте традиций отечественной классики и межкультурной интеграции в XXI веке / В. И. Шульженко // Мир русского слова. 2018. № 4. С. 79-87.

  32. Шамякіна Т. І. Беларуская літаратурная класіка і сучаснасць / Т. І. Шамякіна // Веснік БДУ. Серыя 4: Філалогія. Журналістыка. Педагогіка. 2009. № 1. С. 10-19.

  33. Bollier D. The Future of Community and Personal Identity in the Coming Electronic Culture. A Report of the Annual Aspen Institute Roundtable on Information Technology (3rd, Aspen, Colorado, August 18-21, 1994) / D. Bollier. Queenstown, MD: Aspen Inst., 1994. 57 p.

  34. Dulina N. V. Precedent text of belletristic literature in the cultural memory of students: sociolinguistic aspect / N. V. Dulina, E. V. Kargapolova, M. A. Simonenko // Вестник славянских культур. 2017. № 3. С. 163-175.

  35. Hutchings S. Russian Literary Culture in the Camera Age: The Word as Image / S. Hutchings. RoutledgeCurzon, 2004. URL: www.eBookstore.tandf.co.uk (дата обращения: 10.02.2019).

  36. Kurschus S. European Book Cultures. Diversity as a Challenge / S. Kurschus. Springer Fachmedien. Wiesbaden, 2015. 365 р.