Regional features of migrants’ treatment (the case of the Tomsk and Vladimir Regions)

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №4 (10)

Title: 
Regional features of migrants’ treatment (the case of the Tomsk and Vladimir Regions)


For citation: Filkina A. V., Bulatova T. A. 2019. “Regional features of migrants’ treatment (the case of the Tomsk and Vladimir Regions)”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 4 (10), pp. 17-37. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-4-17-37

About the authors:

Alexandra V. Filkina, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Tomsk State Pedagogical University (Tomsk, Russian Federation); Web of Science RecheacherID: AAB-5217-2020; alexandra.filkina.tspu@gmail.com

Tatiana A. Bulatova, Cand. Sci. (Med.), Associate Professor, Tomsk State Pedagogical University (Tomsk, Russia); Web of Science RecheacherID: AAB-1578-2020; bulatowa@mail.ru

Abstract:

This article presents a comparative analysis of attitudes toward ethnic migrants in two Russian regions: the Tomsk and Vladimir Regions. Its relevance is associated with a high migration influx of foreign citizens into various Russian regions. According to the UN data (2015), our country is the third in the world in terms of the migrants’ influx. Moreover, there is no reliable and comparable sociological information both about the attitude of the local population to them and about the factors that determine it. Against the backdrop of a growing trend of interethnic tension in relations with migrants, the results of such studies acquire important social and political significance. This article relies on the results of representative questionnaires of the population of the Tomsk (in 2014, 563 respondents) and Vladimir Regions (2015, 500) using the general methodology. In the process of research, groups with different levels of tolerance towards migrants were identified in the “host community”. Subsequently, different groups of tolerance of the population were compared in these two regions. The findings show that the attitude towards migrants in the regions can vary even under similar economic conditions and within the framework of a uniform political situation. Significant differences were found in the size of groups that showed varying degrees of tolerance towards migrants. While in the Tomsk Region, the half of the sample can be attributed to the group of the tolerant people, in the Vladimir Region, their percentage is equal to the xenophobes’. The structure of attitudes towards migrants presents particular interest: for the Tomsk Region, the difference between educational and labor migrants is more significant. The obtained results actualize the issue of factors differentiating attitudes towards migrants in different regions of one country. Based on the results obtained, the authors propose a hypothesis that the specificity of the local urban social and cultural context can occupy an important place among these factors. Therefore, in Tomsk (an educational center), there is an obviously higher level of tolerance towards migrants. The authors speak for additional studies using qualitative methods to test their hypothesis.

References:

  1. Alekseyeva A. Yu. 2009. “The main elements and structure of interpersonal trust”. Sociological Journal, no 3, pp. 22-40. [In Russian]

  2. Bavin P. S. 2006. “Social geography of xenophobia and tolerance”. Polis. Political Studies, no 6, pp. 37-58. [In Russian]

  3. RF Federal State Statistic Service. 2018. Vladimir Region in Numbers: A Short Statistical Compendium. Vladimir. Accessed 10 March 2019. https://gks.ru/folder/210/document/12993

  4. Drobizheva L. M. 2015. “The potential of interethnic harmony: understanding of the concept and social practice in Moscow”. Sociological Studies, no 12, pp. 80-90. [In Russian]

  5. Komornikova O. M. 2010. “Types of tolerant attitude of young people to migrants”. Sociological Studies, no 8 (316), pp. 133-134. [In Russian]

  6. Malakhov V. S. 2015. Integration of Migrants: Concepts and Practices. Moscow: Fond “Liberalnaya missiya”. [In Russian]

  7. Mastikova N. S. 2016. “Interethnic tension in Russia and Europe (according to ESS for 2012)”. Sociological Journal, vol. 22, no 1, pp. 95-113. [In Russian]

  8. Levada-Center. Materials on the tag “migrants”. Accessed 10 March 2019. http://www.levada.ru/tag/migranty/

  9. Mukomel V. I. 2013. “The role of the state and society in the production of discrimination”. In: Demintseva E. (ed.). Racism, Xenophobia, Discrimination. How We Saw Them…, pp. 195-211. Moscow: Novoye literaturnoye obozreniye. [In Russian]

  10. Mukomel V. I. 2016. “Adaptation and integration of migrants: methodological approaches to assessing the effectiveness and the role of the host society”. In: Gorshkov M. K. (ed.). Reforming Russia: A Yearbook. Vol. 14, pp. 411-467. Moscow: Novyy khronograf; Institut sotsiologii RAN. [In Russian]

  11. Mukomel V. I., Ryzhova S. V. 2017. “Trust and distrust in interethnic relations”. Sociological Studies, no 1, pp. 37-46. [In Russian]

  12. Petrosyan D. I., Svintsov I. V. 2015. Sociological Analysis of Factors Contributing to the Reduction of Tension in the Field of Interethnic Relations in the Vladimir Region. Vladimir: Vladimirskiy filial RANKhiGS. [In Russian]

  13. RF Federal State Statistic Service. 2018. Russian in Numbers. 2018: A Short Statistical Compendium. Accessed 10 March 2019. https://www.gks.ru/free_doc/doc_2018/rusfig/rus18.pdf

  14. Ryzhova S. V. 2016. “Trust and ethnic tolerance under conditions of social change”. Sociological Journal, vol. 22, no 1, pp. 72-94. DOI: 10.19181/socjour.2016.22.1.3920 [In Russian]

  15. Stepanov V. V., Tishkov V. A. (eds.). 2014. Social Factors of Ethnic Intolerance: The Results of an Interdisciplinary Study. Moscow: Institut etnologii i antropologii RAN. [In Russian]

  16. Tomsk Statistic Service. 2018: Statistical Compendium. Accessed 10 March 2019. https://tmsk.gks.ru/storage/mediabank/%D0%A1%D1%82%D0%B0%D1%82%D0%B8%D1%81%D1%82%D0%B8%D1%87%D0%B5%D...

  17. Shnirelman V. A. 2011. “The Threshold of Tolerance”: Ideology and Practice of a New Racism. Vol. 2, part 4. What Do Sociological Polls Talk about? Moscow: Novoye literaturnoye obozreniye. [In Russian]

  18. Yakimova O. A. 2017. “Xenophobia in English-language social research: from an explanation of the reasons to an understanding of the dynamics”. Society and Power, no 6 (68), pp. 44-51. [In Russian]

  19. Allport G. 1954.The Nature of Prejudice. Doubleday. Garden City. New York.

  20. Barry D. 2018. “Ethnodoxy, national exceptionalism, and xenophobia: a case study of contemporary Russia”. National Identities, 11 February. DOI: 10.1080/14608944.2018.1431876

  21. Blumer H. 1958. “Race prejudice as a sense of group position”. Pacific Sociological Review, no 1, pp. 3-7.

  22. Bobo L., Hutchings V. L. 1996. “Perceptions of racial group competition: extending Blumer’s theory of group position to a multiracial social context”. American Sociological Review, no 61, pp. 951-972.

  23. Freitag M., Rapp C. 2014. “The personal foundations of political tolerance towards immigrants”. Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, no 41 (3), pp. 351-373. DOI: 10.1080/1369183X.2014.924847

  24. Garcia F. L. 2017. “Determinants of attitudes towards immigration: testing the influence of interculturalism. Group threat theory and national contexts in time of crisis first”. International migrations, April, vol. 55, no 2, pp. 10-22. DOI: 10.1111/imig.12261

  25. Herrera Y. M., Butkovich K. N. M. 2016. “Pride versus prejudice: ethnicity, national identity, and xenophobia in Russia”. Comparative Politics, April, vol. 48, no 3.

  26. Hellwig T., Sinno A. 2016. “Different groups, different threats: public attitudes towards immigrants”. Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, no 43 (3), pp. 1-20. DOI: 10.1080/1369183X.2016.1202749

  27. Hjerm M. 1998. “National identities, national pride and xenophobia: a comparison of four western countries”. Acta Sociologica, vol. 41, no 4, pp. 335-347.

  28. Iakimova O. 2018. “Exploring the dynamics of xenophobia in the Nordic countries”. Changing Societies & Personalities, vol. 2, no 1, pp. 17-31.

  29. Inglehart R. 1997. Modernization and Postmodernization: Cultural. Economic and Political Change in 43 Societies. Princeton: Princeton University Press.

  30. Janmaal J. G. Braun R. 2009. “Diversity and postmaterialism as rival perspectives in accounting for social solidarity: evidence from international surveys”. International Journal of Comparative Sociology, no 50 (1), pp. 39-68.

  31. Janmaat G., Keating A. 2017. “Are today’s youth more tolerant? Trends in tolerance among young people in Britain”. Ethnicities, vol. 19 (1), pp. 44-65. DOI: 10.1177/1468796817723682

  32. O’Rourke K. H., Sinnott R. 2006. “The determinant of individual attitudes toward immigration”. European Journal of Political Economy, no 22, pp. 838-861.

  33. Quillian L. 1995. “Prejudice as a response to perceived group threat: population composition and anti-immigrant and racial prejudice in Europe”. American Sociological Review, no 60 (4), pp. 586-611.

  34. Roccas S., Brewer M. B. 2002. “Social identity complexity”. Personality and Social Psychology, no 6, pp. 88-106.

  35. Turper S., Iyengar S., Aarts K., van Gerven M. 2014. “Who is less welcome? The impact of individuating cues on attitudes towards immigrants”. Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies, no 41 (2), pp. 239-259. DOI: 10.1080/1369183X.2014.912941

  36. Weldon S. A. 2006. “The institutional context of tolerance for ethnic minorities: a comparative, multilevel analysis of Western Europe”. American Journal of Political Science, vol. 50, no 2, pp. 331-349. DOI: 10.1111/j.1540-5907.2006.00187.x

Региональная специфика отношения к мигрантам (на материалах Томской и Владимирской областей)

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №4 (10)

Название: 
Региональная специфика отношения к мигрантам (на материалах Томской и Владимирской областей)


Для цитирования: Филькина А. В. Региональная специфика отношения к мигрантам (на материалах Томской и Владимирской областей) / А. В. Филькина, Т. А. Булатова // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 4 (10). С.17-37. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-4-17-37

Об авторах:

Филькина Александра Витальевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент, Томский государственный педагогический университет (г. Томск, РФ); Web of Science RecheacherID: AAB-5217-2020; alexandra.filkina.tspu@gmail.com

Булатова Татьяна Алексеевна, кандидат медицинских наук, доцент, Томский государственный педагогический университет (г. Томск, РФ); Web of Science RecheacherID: AAB-1578-2020; bulatowa@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Цель данной статьи — сравнительный анализ отношения к этническим мигрантам в двух регионах России: Томской и Владимирской областях. Его актуальность связана с высоким миграционным притоком иностранных граждан в различные регионы Российской Федерации. По данным ООН (2015 г.), наша страна является третьей в мире по притоку мигрантов. При этом отсутствует достоверная и сопоставимая социологическая информация как об отношении к ним со стороны местного населения, так и об определяющих его факторах. На фоне тенденции роста межнациональной напряженности в отношениях с мигрантами результаты подобных исследований приобретают важное социально-политическое значение. Статья опирается на результаты репрезентативных анкетных опросов населения Томской области в 2014 г. (n = 563) и Владимирской — в 2015 г. (n = 500) с использованием общей методики. В процессе исследования в «принимающем сообществе» были выделены группы с различным уровнем толерантности по отношению к мигрантам. В дальнейшем осуществлялось сопоставление различных групп толерантности населения в двух регионах РФ — Владимирской и Томской областях. Обнаружено, что отношение к мигрантам в регионах может различаться даже при сходных экономических условиях и в рамках однородной политической ситуации. В процессе исследования установлены значительные различия в размерах групп, демонстрирующих неодинаковые степени толерантности по отношению к мигрантам. Если в Томской области половину выборки можно отнести к группе толерантных, то во Владимирском регионе группа толерантных в процентном отношении сопоставима с группой ксенофобов. Специфична структура установок в отношении мигрантов: для Томской области более значимо различие между образовательными и трудовыми мигрантами. Полученные результаты актуализируют вопрос о факторах, дифференцирующих отношение к мигрантам в разных регионах одной страны. На основании полученных результатов выдвинута гипотеза, в соответствии с которой важное место среди этих факторов может занимать специфика локального городского социально-культурного контекста. Так, в Томске, позиционируемом как образовательный центр, имеет место больший уровень толерантности по отношению к мигрантам. Делается вывод о необходимости проведения дополнительных исследований с использованием качественных методов для проверки данной гипотезы.

Список литературы:

  1. Алексеева А. Ю. Основные элементы и структура межличностного доверия / А. Ю. Алексеева // Социологический журнал. 2009. № 3. C. 22-40.

  2. Бавин П. С. Социальная география ксенофобии и толерантности / П. С. Бавин // Полис. Политические исследования. 2006. № 6. С. 37-58.

  3. Владимирская область в цифрах: краткий статистический сборник. Владимир, 2018. С. 30, 33. URL: https://gks.ru/folder/210/document/12993 (дата обращения: 10.03.2019).

  4. Дробижева Л. М. Потенциал межнационального согласия: осмысление понятия и социальная практика в Москве / Л. М. Дробижева // Социологические исследования. 2015. № 12. С. 80-90.

  5. Коморникова О. М. Типы толерантного отношения молодежи к мигрантам / О. М. Коморникова // Социологические исследования. 2010. № 8 (316). С. 133-134.

  6. Малахов В. С. Интеграция мигрантов: концепции и практики / В. С. Малахов. М.: Фонд «Либеральная миссия», 2015. 272 с.

  7. Мастикова Н. С. Межэтническая напряженность в России и Европе (по данным ESS на 2012 год) / Н. С. Мастикова // Социологический журнал. 2016. Том 22. № 1. С. 95-113.

  8. Материалы «Левада-Центра» по тегу «мигранты». URL: http://www.levada.ru/tag/migranty/ (дата обращения: 10.03.2019).

  9. Мукомель В. И. Роль государства и общества в продуцировании дискриминаций / В. И. Мукомель // Расизм, ксенофобия, дискриминация. Какими мы их увидели… / сб. статей; сост. и отв. ред. Екатерина Деминцева. М.: Новое литературное обозрение, 2013. С. 195-211.

  10. Мукомель В. И. Адаптация и интеграция мигрантов: методологические подходы к оценке результативности и роль принимающего общества / В. И. Мукомель // Россия реформирующаяся: Ежегодник [сборник научных статей] / отв. ред. М. К. Горшков; Институт социологии РАН. М.: Новый хронограф, 2016. Вып. 14. С. 411-467.

  11. Мукомель В. И. Доверие и недоверие в межнациональных отношениях / В. И. Мукомель, С. В. Рыжова / Социологические исследования. 2017. № 1. С. 37-46.

  12. Петросян Д. И. Социологический анализ факторов, способствующих снижению напряженности в сфере межнациональных отношений во Владимирской области: монография / Д. И. Петросян, И. В. Свинцов. Владимир: Владимирский филиал РАНХиГС, 2015. 161 с.

  13. Россия в цифрах. 2018: крат. стат. сб. / Росстат. M., 2018. С. 125. URL: https://www.gks.ru/free_doc/doc_2018/rusfig/rus18.pdf (дата обращения: 10.03.2019).

  14. Рыжова С. В. Доверие и этническая толерантность в условиях социальных перемен / С. В. Рыжова // Социологический журнал. 2016. Том 22. № 1. C. 72-94. DOI: 10.19181/socjour.2016.22.1.3920

  15. Социальные факторы этнической нетерпимости: итоги междисциплинарного исследования / Ин-т этнологии и антропологии им. Н. Н. Миклухо-Маклая, Российская акад. наук; под общ. ред. В. В. Степанова и В. А. Тишкова. М.: Институт этнологии и антропологии РАН, 2014. 364 с.

  16. Статистический ежегодник. 2018: стат. сб. / Томскстат. Томск, 2018. С. 12, 15, 16. URL: https://tmsk.gks.ru/storage/mediabank/%D0%A1%D1%82%D0%B0%D1%82%D0%B8%D1%81%D1%82%D0%B8%D1%87%D0%B5%D... (дата обращения: 10.03.2019).

  17. Шнирельман В. А. «Порог толерантности»: идеология и практика нового расизма / В. А. Шнирельман. М.: Новое литературное обозрение, 2011. Том 2. Ч. 4: О чем говорят социологические опросы? 856 с.

  18. Якимова О. А. Ксенофобия в англоязычных социальных исследованиях: от объяснения причин к пониманию динамики / О. А. Якимова // Социум и власть. 2017. № 6 (68). С. 44-51.

  19. Allport G. The Nature of Prejudice / G. Allport. New York: Doubleday: Garden City, 1954.

  20. Barry D. Ethnodoxy, national exceptionalism, and xenophobia: a case study of contemporary Russia / D. Barry // National Identities. 2018. 11 February. DOI: 10.1080/14608944.2018.1431876

  21. Blumer H. Race prejudice as a sense of group position / H. Blumer // Pacific Sociological Review. 1958. No 1. Pр. 3-7.

  22. Bobo L. Perceptions of racial group competition: extending Blumer’s theory of group position to a multiracial social context / L. Bobo, V. L. Hutchings // American Sociological Review. 1996. No 61. Pр. 951-972.

  23. Freitag M. The personal foundations of political tolerance towards immigrants / M. Freitag, C. Rapp // Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies. 2014. No 41 (3). Pр. 351-373. DOI: 10.1080/1369183X.2014.924847

  24. García Faroldi L. Determinants of attitudes towards immigration: testing the influence of interculturalism, group threat theory and national contexts in time of crisis first / L. García Faroldi // International Migrations. April 2017. Vol. 55. Issue 2. Pр. 10-22. DOI: https://doi.org/10.1111/imig.12261

  25. Herrera Y. M. Pride versus prejudice: ethnicity, national identity, and xenophobia in Russia / Y. M. Herrera, N. M. Butkovich Kraus // Comparative Politics. April 2016. Vol. 48. No 3. Рр. 293-315.

  26. Hellwig T. Different groups, different threats: public attitudes towards immigrants / T. Hellwig, A. Sinno // Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies. 2016. No 43 (3). Pр. 1-20. DOI: 10.1080/1369183X.2016.1202749

  27. Hjerm M. National identities, national pride and xenophobia: a comparison of four Western countries / M. Hjerm // Acta Sociologica. 1998. Vol. 41. No 4. Pр. 335-347.

  28. Iakimova O. Exploring the dynamics of xenophobia in the Nordic countries / O. Iakimova // Changing Societies & Personalities. 2018. Vol. 2. Iss. 1. Pр. 17-31.

  29. Inglehart R. Modernization and Postmodernization: Cultural, Economic and Political Change in 43 Societies / R. Inglehart. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1997. 464 p.

  30. Janmaal J. G. Diversity and postmaterialism as rival perspectives in accounting for social solidarity: evidence from international surveys / J. G. Janmaal, R. Braun // International Journal of Comparative Sociology. 2009. No 50 (1). Pр. 39-68.

  31. Janmaat G. Are today’s youth more tolerant? Trends in tolerance among young people in Britain / G. Janmaat, A. Keating // Ethnicities. 2019. Vol. 19 (1). Pp. 44-65. DOI: 10.1177/1468796817723682

  32. O’Rourke K. H. The determinant of individual attitudes toward immigration / K. H. O’Rourke, R. Sinnott // European Journal of Political Economy. 2006. No 22. Pр. 838-861.

  33. Quillian L. Prejudice as a response to perceived group threat: population composition and anti‐immigrant and racial prejudice in Europe / L. Quillian // American Sociological Review. 1995. No 60 (4). Pр. 586-611.

  34. Roccas S. Social identity complexity / S. Roccas, M. B. Brewer // Personality and Social Psychology. 2002. No 6. Pр. 88-106.

  35. Turper S. Who is less welcome? The impact of individuating cues on attitudes towards immigrants / S. Turper, S. Iyengar, K. Aarts, M. van Gerven // Journal of Ethnic and Migration Studies. 2014. No 41 (2). Pр. 239-259. DOI: 10.1080/1369183X.2014.912941

  36. Weldon S. A. The institutional context of tolerance for ethnic minorities: a comparative, multilevel analysis of Western Europe / S. A. Weldon // American Journal of Political Science. 2006. Vol. 50. No 2. Pр. 331-349. DOI: 10.1111/j.1540-5907.2006.00187