Big Data as a source of sociological information: the analysis of the blog by Saint Petersburg’s governor

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №3

Title: 
Big Data as a source of sociological information: the analysis of the blog by Saint Petersburg’s governor


For citation: Maltseva A. V., Matveev M. S., Moiseeva M. B. 2019. “Big Data as a source of sociological information: the analysis of the blog by Saint Petersburg’s governor”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 3, pp. 74-84. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-3-74-84

About the authors:

Anna V. Maltseva, Dr. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Social Analysis and Mathematical Methods on Sociology, Saint Petersburg State University (Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, Scopus AuthorID, Google Scholarannamaltseva@rambler.ru

Mikhail S. Matveev, Undergraduate Student, Saint Petersburg State University (Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, mikhail.matveev97@gmail.com

Maria B. Moiseeva, Undergraduate Student, Saint Petersburg State University (Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation); mariamoiseeva108@gmail.com

Abstract:

This article explores the possibilities of Big Data in forecasts and social networks as a source of information about society, as well as its role in security processes. The authors aim to study the possibility of obtaining socially significant information through Big Data, in particular, on one of the aspects of environmental safety. Fundamental sociological theories are considered, such as theories of the risk society by W. Beck and E. Giddens, as well as the information society (accounting for the peculiarities of the influence of the latest information technologies on society, including Big Data). Based on a number of studies systematizing approaches to the definition of Big Data, the authors derive their own. Using qualitative methods (in particular, content analysis), the authors analyzed the example of the incident-management application provided by the Committee on Informatization and Communications of the City of Saint Petersburg. The empirical base of the study includes 16,694 comments on the public page of the governor of St. Petersburg Alexander Beglov, obtained through a program in Python and using VK Api. The study analyzes user comments on environmental risks in the districts of St. Petersburg, identifies areas that are most exposed to environmental risks, as well as the sources of these risks and the subjects of responsibility for them. The results show that informal means of communication between representatives of the executive branch and citizens are of great interest as a source of sociological information investigated using algorithms and methods for analyzing Big Data. Such analysis helps in increasing security by reducing uncertainty and gaining new knowledge about society. On the other hand, the researchers have identified possible social risks associated with collecting, storing, and using Big Data. In particular, these are the risks of external interference with the application. In practice, these risks should be prevented and minimized by improving and testing applications by the developing company. Sociology, in turn, must consider this fact and avoid introducing undue errors in the research results.

References:

  1. Beck W. 2000.Risk Society. On the Way to Another Art Nouveau. Moscow: Progress-Tradition. [In Russian]
  2. Giddens E. 2005. Organization of Society: Essay on the Theory of Structure. 2nd edition. Moscow: Academic Project. [In Russian]
  3. Castells M. 2004. Galaxy Internet. Reflections on the Internet, Business and Society. U-Factoria. [In Russian]
  4. Kuznetsov V. 2007.Sociology of Security: A Training Manual. Moscow: Moscow State University. [In Russian]
  5. Maltseva A. V. 2017. “The problems of representativeness when working with ‘big data’: Social practices and management: the problem field of sociology”. Proceedings of the Siberian sociological forum with international participation, pp. 141-145. [In Russian]
  6. Medialogy: How It Works. https://tech.mlg.ru/ [In Russian]
  7. Odintsov A. V. 2017. “The Sociology of Public Opinion and the Challenge of Big Data”. Monitoring Public Opinion: Economic and Social Changes, no 3, pp. 30-43. [In Russian]
  8. The National Security Strategy of the Russian Federation until 2020 (approved by Decree of the President of the Russian Federation of 12 May 2009 No 537). http://kremlin.ru/supplement/424 [In Russian]
  9. RF Federal Law of 28 December 2010 N 390-FZ “On Security”. http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_108546/ [In Russian]
  10. Boyd D., Crawford K. 2012. “Critical questions for BigData”. Information, Communication and Society, vol. 15, no 5, pp. 662-679. DOI: 10.1080/1369118X.2012.678878
  11. De Mauro A. 2016 “Formal definition of Big Data based on its essential features”. Library Review, vol. 65, no 3, pp. 122-135. DOI: 10.1108/LR-06-2015-0061
  12. De Mauro A., Greco M., Grimaldi M. 2014. “What is big data? A consensual definition and a review of key research topics”. Proceedings of the 4th International Conference on Integrated Information. Madrid. DOI: 10.13140/2.1.2341.5048
  13. Giddens A. 1987. The Nation State and Violence: Volume Two of a Contemporary Critique of Historical Materialism. University of California Press.
  14. Giddens A. 1999. “Risk and Responsibility”. The Modern Law Review, vol. 62, no 1, pp. 1-10. DOI: 10.1111/1468-2230.00188
  15. Kitchin R., McArdle G. 2016. “What makes Big Data, Big Data? Exploring the ontological characteristics of 26 datasets”. In: Big Data & Society, pp. 1-10. DOI: 10.1177/2053951716631130
  16. Lazer D., Kennedy R., King G., Vespignani A. 2014. “The parable of Google flu: traps in Big Data analysis”. Science, 14 March, vol. 343, no 6176, pp. 1203-1205. DOI: 10.1126/science.1248506
  17. Lupton D. 2015. “The thirteen Ps of Big Data”. In: This Sociological Life: a blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton. https://simplysociology.wordpress.com/2015/05/11/the-thirteen-ps-of-big-data/

Big Data как источник социологической информации: пример анализа блога губернатора Петербурга

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №3

Название: 
Big Data как источник социологической информации: пример анализа блога губернатора Петербурга


Для цитирования: Мальцева А. В. Big Data как источник социологической информации: пример анализа блога губернатора Петербурга / А. В. Мальцева, М. С. Матвеев, М. Б. Моисеева // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 3. С. 74-84. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-3-74-84

Об авторах:

Мальцева Анна Васильевна, доктор социологических наук, доцент кафедры социального анализа и математических методов в социологии, Санкт-Петербургский государственный университет (г. Санкт-Петербург, РФ); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, Scopus AuthorID, Google Scholarannamaltseva@rambler.ru

Матвеев Михаил Сергеевич, студент Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета (г. Санкт-Петербург, РФ); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, mikhail.matveev97@gmail.com

Моисеева Мария Борисовна, студентка Санкт-Петербургского государственного университета (г. Санкт-Петербург, РФ); mariamoiseeva108@gmail.com

Аннотация:

В статье исследуются возможности Big Data (больших данных) в построении прогнозов, социальные сети как источник информации об обществе, а также рассматривается роль технологии больших данных в процессах обеспечения безопасности. Целью исследования является изучение возможности получения социально значимой информации посредством больших данных, в частности, по одному из аспектов экологической безопасности. Рассмотрены фундаментальные социологические теории, такие как теории общества риска У. Бека, Э. Гидденса, а также информационного общества, учитывающие особенности влияния новейших информационных технологий на общество, в том числе больших данных. На основе ряда исследований, систематизирующих подходы к определению больших данных, выводится авторское определение данного понятия. В работе использованы качественные методы, в частности контент-анализ. Анализ был произведен на примере предоставленного Комитетом по информатизации и связи города Санкт-Петербурга приложения «Инцидент-менеджмент». Эмпирическая база исследования — 16694 комментария на публичной странице губернатора Санкт-Петербурга Александра Беглова, полученные посредством программы на языке Python с использованием VK Api. В ходе исследования проанализированы комментарии пользователей на тему экологических рисков по районам Санкт-Петербурга, выявлены районы, подверженные экологическим рискам в наибольшей степени, а также источники этих рисков и субъекты ответственности за них. В результате проведенного исследования было сделано заключение, что неформальные средства коммуникации представителей исполнительной власти и граждан вызывают большой интерес в качестве источника социологической информации, исследуемого с помощью алгоритмов и методов анализа больших данных. Такой анализ помогает повысить уровень безопасности за счет снижения неопределенности и получения новых знаний об обществе. С другой стороны, исследователи выявили возможные социальные риски, связанные со сбором, хранением и применением больших данных. В частности, это риски внешнего вмешательства в работу приложения. На практике эти риски должны быть предупреждены и минимизированы путем совершенствования и тестирования приложений компанией-разработчиком. Социология, в свою очередь, должна учитывать этот факт и избегать внесения неправомерных погрешностей в исследовательские результаты.

Список литературы:

  1. Бек У. Общество риска. На пути к другому модерну / У. Бек. М.: Прогресс-Традиция, 2000. 384 с.
  2. Гидденс Э. Устроение общества: очерк теории структурации / Э. Гидденс. 2-е изд. М.: Академический Проект, 2005. 528 с.
  3. Кастельс М. Галактика Интернет. Размышления об Интернете, бизнесе и обществе / М. Кастельс. Екатеринбург: У-Фактория, 2004. С. 319.
  4. Кузнецов В. Социология безопасности: учебное пособие / В. Кузнецов. М.: МГУ, 2007. 423 с. 
  5. Мальцева А. В. Проблемы репрезентативности при работе с «большими данными» / А. В. Мальцева // Социальные практики и управление: проблемное поле социологии: материалы Сибирского социологического форума с международным участием / отв. ред. С. В. Ровбель, С. А. Ильиных. Новосибирск: НГУЭУ, 2017. С. 141-145.
  6. Медиалогия: инструмент оценки эффективности коммуникаций. Как работает. URL: https://tech.mlg.ru/
  7. Одинцов А. В. Социология общественного мнения и вызов Big Data / А. В. Одинцов // Мониторинг общественного мнения: экономические и социальные перемены. 2017. № 3. С. 30-43.
  8. Стратегия национальной безопасности Российской Федерации до 2020 года (утв. Указом Президента Российской Федерации от 12 мая 2009 года № 537). URL: http://kremlin.ru/supplement/424
  9. Федеральный закон «О безопасности» от 28.12.2010 № 390-ФЗ // Справочно-правовая система «Консультант Плюс». URL: http://www.consultant.ru/document/cons_doc_LAW_108546/
  10. Boyd D. Critical questions for BigData / D. Boyd, K. Crawford // Information, Communication and Society. 2012. Vol. 15. Issue 5. Pp. 662-679. DOI: 10.1080/1369118X.2012.678878
  11. De Mauro A. Formal definition of Big Data based on its essential features / A. De Mauro, M. Greco, M. Grimaldi // Library Review. 2016. Vol. 65. No 3. Pp. 122-135. DOI: 10.1108/LR-06-2015-0061
  12. De Mauro A. What is big data? A consensual definition and a review of key research topics / A. De Mauro, M. Greco, M. Grimaldi // Conference: 4th International Conference on Integrated Information. Madrid, 2014. URL: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/265775800_What_is_Big_Data_A_Consensual_Definition_and_a_Re... DOI: 10.13140/2.1.2341.5048
  13. Giddens A. The Nation State and Violence: Volume Two of a Contemporary Critique of Historical Materialism / A. Giddens. University of California Press, 1987. P. 178.
  14. Giddens A. Risk and Responsibility / A. Giddens // The Modern Law Review. 1999. Vol. 62. No 1. Pp. 1-10. DOI: 10.1111/1468-2230.00188
  15. Kitchin R. What makes Big Data, Big Data? Exploring the ontological characteristics of 26 datasets / R. Kitchin, G. McArdle // Big Data & Society. 2016. Pp. 1-10. DOI: 10.1177/2053951716631130
  16. Lazer D. The parable of Google Flu: traps in Big Data analysis / D. Lazer, R. Kennedy, G. King, A. Vespignani // Science. 2014. 14 Mar. Vol. 343. Issue 6176. Pp. 1203-1205. DOI: 10.1126/science.1248506
  17. Lupton D. The Thirteen Ps of Big Data / D. Lupton // This Sociological Life: a blog by sociologist Deborah Lupton. 2015. URL: https://simplysociology.wordpress.com/2015/05/11/the-thirteen-ps-of-big-data/