Ethno-cultural neo-traditionalism as a resource of identity formation in the contemporary social and cultural transformations

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №3

Title: 
Ethno-cultural neo-traditionalism as a resource of identity formation in the contemporary social and cultural transformations


For citation: Popkov Yu. V., Tiugashev E. A. 2019. “Ethno-cultural neo-traditionalism as a resource of identity formation in the contemporary social and cultural transformations”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 3, pp. 53-64. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-3-53-64

About the authors:

Yuriy V. Popkov, Dr. Sci. (Philos.), Chief Research Associate, Institute of Philosophy and Law, Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Novosibirsk, Russian Federation); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, yuripopkov54@mail.ru

Evgeny A. Tyugashev, Dr. Sci. (Philos.), Associate Professor, Senior Research Associate, Institute of Philosophy and Law, Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Novosibirsk, Russian Federation); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Scopus AuthorID, filosof10@yandex.ru

Abstract:

This article aims to explain ethnocultural neo-traditionalism as a tool for the formation of ethnic and national identity and for identification of possible interconnection and synergy of these types of identity. The authors interpret ethno-cultural neo-traditionalism and identity problems as the global manifestation of ambiguous consequences of the contemporary socio-cultural transformations. They argue for treating it as a resource for the formation of ethnic and national identity, analyzing the problems and contradictions arising in this case. The potential possibilities of the proposed conceptual scheme are illustrated by two illustrative cases: Breton (Celtic people in France) and Selkup (Siberian people in Russia). In order to achieve this goal, besides the case study, the authors have used sociocultural approach in its authorial interpretation, which allows considering ethnocultural neo-traditionalism, first, as an inter-cultural phenomenon — the effect of interaction between different ethnocultures — and second, as an integrative policy that consolidates the potential of the ethnos in synchrony and diachrony. The analysis of Breton neo-traditionalism from the abovementioned positions allowed to reveal such features as participation in the Breton cultural movement of authentic bearers of tradition, its transmission to new generations through direct immersion in a living tradition, participation in the movement of families and its mass character, absence of borders between spectators and performers, accumulation of various modifications and local variations of cultures, enrichment of tradition with modern elements and experimentation, urban localization of holidays, formation of cultural industry, and organization of international cultural festivals, inclusive of various social and cultural practices. Such experience, presented in the Selkup cultural movement, forms and confirms a positive ethnic identity with the assistance of the state. Cultural expansion and international recognition of ethnocultural non-traditionalism practices remove the problem of local ethno-political ambitions and strengthen national identity as a prerequisite for the development of ethnic identity. Thus, the analysis shows the possibilities of cooperation, synergy of national and ethnic identities based on the implementation of the strategy of ethno-cultural non-traditionalism.

References:

  1. Angzhanova L. V. 2012. “Ethnic non-traditionalism in the conditions of socio-cultural transformations”. World of Science, Culture of Education, no 6, pp. 438-440. [In Russian]
  2. Borisova I. Z. 2017. “Historical and sociolinguistic foundations of Breton identity”. Vestnik Bashkirskogo universiteta (=Bulletin of Bashkir University), no 1, pp. 184-189. [In Russian]
  3. Gromov M. N. 2003. “Problems of the future of Russia: modernization or restoration”. Proceedings of the Research Conference on the 300th anniversary of Lodeinoe Pole “Ladoga and the Russian North: history, traditions, and modernity” (8-12 July 2002), pp.  55-60. Moscow: Russian Humanistic Society. [In Russian]
  4. Semenenko I. S. (ed.). 2017. Identity: personality, society, politics. Encyclopedia. Moscow: Ves mir. [In Russian]
  5. Kovalska E. Kh. A. S. 2016. “Historical and sociolinguistic foundations of Breton identity”. Proceedings of International Research Conference “Science as a driving force of anti-crisis: innovative transformations, priority directions and trends of development of fundamental and applied scientific research” (15-16 January, Saint Petersburg), pp. 120-124. Saint Petersburg: KULT-INFORM-PRESS. [In Russian]
  6. Kryukov V. A. 2017. “‘Raznotsvetnaya’ economy”. ECO, no 10, pp. 2-4. DOI: 10.30680/ECO0131-7652-2017-10-2-4 [In Russian]
  7. Losev A. F. 2000. History of Ancient Aesthetics. Classical Works. Kharkiv; Moscow: Folio: AST. [In Russian]
  8. Lubart M. K. 2013. “‘Fez-noz’ holiday as a phenomenon in the modern Breton culture”. In: Martynova M. Yu. (ed.). Essays on European Identity and Multiculturalism. Pp. 323-358. Moscow: IEA RAN. [In Russian]
  9. Madiukova S. A., Popkov Yu. V. 2011. Phenomenon of Sociocultural Neo-Traditionalism. Saint Petersburg: Aletea. [In Russian]
  10. Morgan L. G. 1983. League of Hodenosauni, or Iroquois. Moscow: Nauka. [In Russian]
  11. Nikolaeva E. G. 2004. “Neo-traditionalism in the culture of everyday life: Russian version of the late 20th century”. Cand. Sci. (Cult.) diss. abstract. Moscow. [In Russian]
  12. Novikova O. S. 2016. “Features of social self-identification in the transition from traditional to modern society (the case of Japan)”. Cand. Sci. (Philos.) diss. Novosibirsk. [In Russian]
  13. Pivneva E. A. 2011. “‘We are one, but we are all different’: about obscene eels, classifications, and identities”. Ural Historical Journal, no 2, pp. 57-62. [In Russian]
  14. Popkov Yu. V., Tyugashev E. A. 2015. “Phenomenon of ethno-cultural neo-traditionalism”. In: Derevyanko A. P., Tishkova V. A. (eds.). Traditions and Innovations in History and Culture. Pp. 235-243. Moscow: IEA. [In Russian]
  15. Rykhtik M. I., Zhernovaya O. R. 2011. “Influence of the ethnic factor on the cultural and linguistic identity of the Welsh in contemporary English jokes and anecdotes”. Historical, Philosophical, Political and Law Sciences, Culturology and Study of Art. Issues of Theory and Practice, no 2 (8) in 3 parts, part 1, pp. 151-157. [In Russian]
  16. Semenenko I. S. 2016. “Identity policy and identity in politics: ethno-national perspectives, European context”. Policy. Political Studies, no 4, pp. 8-28. DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2016.04.03 [In Russian]
  17. Sisauri V. I. 2008. Ceremonial music of China and Japan. Saint Petersburg: Saint Petersburg State University. [In Russian]
  18. Tishkov V. A. 2013. Russian People: History and Meaning of the National Consciousness. Moscow: Nauka. [In Russian]
  19. Tuchkova N. V. 2015. “Fiction and folklore as ethnically consolidating factors stimulating the growth of ethnic identity (based on the materials of the Parabel District of the Tomsk Region”. Tomsk Journal of Linguistics and Anthropology, no 2, pp. 102-111. [In Russian]
  20. U Gen-Ir. 2012. “Traditional music of the Far East (China, Korea, Japan): Historical and theoretical analysis”. Dr. Sci. (Art Studies) diss. abstract. Saint Petersburg. [In Russian]
  21. RF President Decree of 19 December 2012 No 1666 (as of 6 December 2018) “On the Strategy of the State National Policy of the Russian Federation until 2025”. [In Russian]
  22. Huntington S. 2008. Who Are We? Challenges of American National Identity. Translated by A. Bashkirov. Moscow: AST: AST MOSCOW. [In Russian]
  23. Sztompka P. 2005. Sociology. Analysis of Contemporary Society. Moscow: Logos. [In Russian]
  24. Shubin, Yu. A. 2011. “Contemporary transformations of ethno-cultural identity: universal tendencies and Russian specificity”. Cand. SCi. (Cult.) diss. abstract. Moscow. [In Russian]
  25. Jakson R. L. II, Hogg M. A. (ed.). 2010. Encyclopedia of Identity. SAGE Publications, Inc. DOI: 10.4135/9781412979306
  26. Scwartz S., Luyckx K., Vignoles V. (eds.). 2011. Handbook of Identity Theory and Research. Springer.

Этнокультурный неотрадиционализм как ресурс формирования идентичности в современных социокультурных трансформациях

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №3

Название: 
Этнокультурный неотрадиционализм как ресурс формирования идентичности в современных социокультурных трансформациях


Для цитирования: Попков Ю. В. Этнокультурный неотрадиционализм как ресурс формирования идентичности в современных социокультурных трансформациях / Ю. В. Попков, Е. А. Тюгашев // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 3. С. 53-64. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-3-53-64

Об авторах:

Попков Юрий Владимирович, доктор философских наук, профессор, главный научный сотрудник Института философии и права Сибирского отделения РАН (г. Новосибирск, РФ); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, yuripopkov54@mail.ru

Тюгашев Евгений Александрович, доктор философских наук, доцент, старший научный сотрудник Института философии и права Сибирского отделения РАН (г. Новосибирск, РФ); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Scopus AuthorID, filosof10@yandex.ru

Аннотация:

Цель настоящей статьи состоит в обосновании этнокультурного неотрадиционализма в качестве инструмента формирования этнической и общенациональной идентичности, в выявлении возможностей взаимосвязи, синергии данных видов идентичности. В статье актуализация этнокультурного неотрадиционализма и проблемы идентичности интерпретируются как глобальное проявление неоднозначных последствий современных социокультурных трансформаций. Обосновывается идея рассмотрения феномена этнокультурного неотрадиционализма в качестве ресурса формирования этнической и общенациональной идентичности, анализируются возникающие при этом проблемы и противоречия. Потенциальные возможности предложенной концептуальной схемы иллюстрируются на примере двух показательных кейсов: бретонского (народа кельтского происхождения во Франции) и селькупского (сибирского народа в России). Для реализации цели исследования помимо кейс-метода используется социокультурный подход в его авторской интерпретации, позволяющей рассматривать этнокультурный неотрадиционализм, во-первых, как интеркультурное явление — эффект взаимодействия различных этнокультур, во-вторых, как интегративную политику, консолидирующую потенциал этноса в синхронии и диахронии. Анализ бретонского неотрадиционализма с обозначенных позиций позволил выявить такие его черты, как участие в бретонском культурном движении аутентичных носителей традиции, ее передача новым поколениям через непосредственное погружение в живую традицию, участие в движении семей и его массовый характер, отсутствие границ между зрителями и исполнителями, аккумуляция различных модификаций и локальных вариаций культур, обогащение традиции современными элементами и экспериментирование, городская локализация праздников, формирование культурной индустрии и проведение интернациональных многожанровых фестивалей, включающих различные социокультурные практики. Подобный опыт, представленный в селькупском культурном движении, формирует и утверждает позитивную этническую идентичность при содействии государства. Культурная экспансия и международное признание практик этнокультурного неотрадиционализма снимают проблему локальных этнополитических амбиций и укрепляют общенациональную идентичность как предпосылку развития этнической идентичности. Таким образом, проведенный анализ показывает возможности кооперации, синергии общенациональной и этнической идентичностей на основе реализации стратегии этнокультурного неотрадиционализма.

Список литературы:

  1. Анжиганова Л. В. Этнический неотрадиционализм в условиях социокультурных трансформаций / Л. В. Анжиганова // Мир науки, культуры, образования. 2012. № 6. С. 438-440.
  2. Борисова И. З. Исторические и социолингвистические основы бретонской идентичности / И. З. Борисова // Вестник Башкирского университета. 2017. № 1. С. 184-189.
  3. Громов М. Н. Проблемы будущего России: модернизация или реставрация / М. Н. Громов // Приладожье и Русский Север: история, традиции, современность: материалы научно-практической конференции в честь 300-летия г. Лодейное Поле (8-12 июля 2002 г.). М.: Российское гуманистическое общество, 2003. С. 55-60.
  4. Идентичность: Личность, общество, политика. Энциклопедическое издание / отв. ред. И. С. Семененко. М.: Весь мир, 2017. 992 с.
  5. Ковальска Э. Х. А. С. Исторические и социолингвистические основы бретонской идентичности / Э. Х. А. С. Ковальска // Наука как движущая антикризисная сила: инновационные преобразования, приоритетные направления и тенденции развития фундаментальных и прикладных научных исследований (г. Санкт-Петербург, 15-16 января 2016 г.). СПб.: Редакционно-издательский центр «КУЛЬТ-ИНФОРМ-ПРЕСС», 2016. С. 120-124.
  6. Крюков В. А. «Разноцветная» экономика / В. А. Крюков // ЭКО. 2017. № 10. С. 2-4. DOI: 10.30680/ECO0131-7652-2017-10-2-4
  7. Лосев А. Ф. История античной эстетики. Высокая классика / А. Ф. Лосев. Харьков; Москва: Фолио: АСТ, 2000. 624 с.
  8. Любарт М. К. Праздник «Фес-ноз» как явление в современной культуре бретонцев / М. К. Любарт // Очерки о европейской идентичности и многокультурности: сборник / под ред. М. Ю. Мартыновой. М.: ИЭА РАН, 2013. С. 323-358.
  9. Мадюкова С. А. Феномен социокультурного неотрадиционализма / С. А. Мадюкова, Ю. В. Попков. СПб.: Алетейя, 2011. 132 с.
  10. Морган Л. Г. Лига ходеносауни, или ирокезов / Л. Г. Морган. М.: Наука, 1983. 301 с.
  11. Николаева Е. В. Неотрадиционализм в культуре повседневности: российская версия конца XX века: автореф. дис. … канд. культурологи: 24.00.01 / Е. В. Николаева. М., 2004. 27 с.
  12. Новикова О. С. Особенности социальной самоидентификации при переходе от традиционного общества к современному (на примере Японии): дис. … канд. филос. наук: 09.00.11 / О. С. Новикова. Новосибирск, 2016. 183 с.
  13. Пивнева Е. А. «Мы одни, но мы все разные»: об обских уграх, классификациях и идентичностях / Е. А. Пивнева // Уральский исторический вестник. 2011. № 2. С. 57-62.
  14. Попков Ю. В. Феномен этнокультурного неотрадиционализма / Ю. В. Попков, Е. А. Тюгашев // Традиции и инновации в истории и культуре / отв. ред. А. П. Деревянко, В. А. Тишкова. М.: ИЭА, 2015. С. 235-243.
  15. Рыхтик М. И. Влияние этнического фактора на культурную и языковую идентичность валлийцев в современных английских шутках и анекдотах / М. И. Рыхтик, О. Р. Жерновая // Исторические, философские, политические и юридические науки, культурология и искусствоведение. Вопросы теории и практики. 2011. № 2 (8): в 3-х ч. Ч. I. С. 151-157.
  16. Семененко И. С. Политика идентичности и идентичность в политике: этнонациональные ракурсы, европейский контекст / И. С. Семененко // Полис. Политические исследования. 2016. № 4. С. 8-28. DOI: 10.17976/jpps/2016.04.03
  17. Сисаури В. И. Церемониальная музыка Китая и Японии / В. И. Сисаури. СПб.: СПбГУ, 2008. 292 с. 
  18. Тишков В. А. Российский народ: история и смысл национального самосознания / В. А. Тишков. М.: Наука, 2013. 649 с.
  19. Тучкова Н. В. Художественная самодеятельность и фольклоро-мифотворческий процесс как этноконсолидирующие факторы, стимулирующие рост этнической идентичности (по материалам Парабельского района Томской области) / Н. В. Тучкова // Томский журнал лингвистических и антропологических исследований. 2015. № 2. С. 102-111.
  20. У Ген-Ир. Традиционная музыка Дальнего Востока (Китай, Корея, Япония): историко-теоретический анализ: автореф. дис. … д-ра искусствоведения: 17.00.02 / У Ген-Ир. СПб., 2012. 41 с.
  21. Указ Президента РФ от 19 декабря 2012 г. № 1666 «О Стратегии государственной национальной политики Российской Федерации на период до 2025 года»: по сост. на 06.12.2018.
  22. Хантингтон С. Кто мы? Вызовы американской национальной идентичности / С. Хантингтон; пер. с англ. А. Башкирова. М.: АСТ: АСТ МОСКВА, 2008. 635 с.
  23. Штомпка П. Социология. Анализ современного общества / П. Штомпка. М.: Логос, 2005. 664 с.
  24. Шубин Ю. А. Современные трансформации этнокультурной идентичности: универсальные тенденции и российская специфика: автореф. дис. ... канд. культурологи: 24.00.01 / Ю. А. Шубин. М., 2011. 28 с.
  25. Encyclopedia of Identity / ed. by R. L. II Jakson, M. A. Hogg. SAGE Publications, Inc., 2010. 953 p. DOI: 10.4135/9781412979306
  26. Handbook of Identity Theory and Research / ed. by. S. Scwartz, K. Luyckx, V. Vignoles. Springer, 2011. 998 p.