Features of students’ perception of a university’s organizational culture depending on their organizational identification

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №3

Title: 
Features of students’ perception of a university’s organizational culture depending on their organizational identification


For citation: Pomyalova V. O., Volkova N. V. 2019. “Features of students’ perception of a university’s organizational culture depending on their organizational identification”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 3, pp. 40-52. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-3-40-52

About the authors:

Valeria O. Pomyalova, Undergraduate Student, School of Social Science and Area Studies, National Research University Higher School of Economics (Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation); ORCID, vopomyalova@edu.hse.ru

Natalia V. Volkova, Cand. Sci. (Psych.), Associate Professor, Department of Management, Saint Petersburg School of Economics and Management, National Research University Higher School of Economics (Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, nv.volkova@hse.ru

Abstract:

In the current reality, the higher education as the trajectory for the academic career faces particular difficulties. There is a downward trend regarding the number of young academic specialists — a negative factor for the entire educational system. The discussed problem may arise according to various reasons: changes in the law sphere or peculiarities of the educational organization activity. Both Western and Russian researchers conclude that the relations between an organization and its staff members are the key aspect of their loyalty. Thus, this article aims to examine the connection of a university organizational culture perception by the students with different types of identification demonstrated. The authors study the peculiarities of students’ perception of the university organizational culture. Altogether, 118 students participated in questionnaires that measure organizational culture with Organizational Culture Assessment Instrument and four types of identification with the university. The findings show the gap between students’ current and preferred perception of the university organizational culture. Consequently, the dominance of market culture that contradicts the desired “clan” culture orientation with the values of friendly and close relations environment, may influence the choice of academic career and postgraduate studies.

References:

  1. Balabanov S. S., Bednyi B. I., Mironov A. A. 2007. “Factors of efficiency and quality of training in Ph.D. programs (sociological analysis)”. Universitetskoe upravlenie, no 5, pp. 56-65. [In Russian]
  2. Berezhnaya Yu. N., Gurtov V. A. 2017. “Postgraduate studies in a new reality”. Universitetskoe upravlenie: praktika i analiz, vol. 21, no 3, pp. 57-65. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2017.03.037 [In Russian]
  3. Kadochnikov S. M., Fedyunina A. A. 2019. “Change management in Russian research university in a changing context. The case study of HSE branch in St. Petersburg”. Universitetskoe upravlenie: praktika i analiz, vol. 23, no 1-2, pp. 93-100. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2019.01-2.007 [In Russian]
  4. Cameron K. S., Queen R. E. 2006. Diagnostics and Changes in the Organizational Culture. [In Russian]
  5. Klyuev A.K. 2018. “Universities and business: prospects of development of diffused structures and processes”. Universitetskoe upravlenie: praktika i analiz, vol. 22, no 6, pp. 72-80. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2018.06.059 [In Russian]
  6. Manokin M. A., Ozhegova A. R., Shenkman E. A. 2018. “Agile methodology in education”. Universitetskoe upravlenie: praktika i analiz, vol. 22, no 4, pp. 83-96. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2018.04.042 [In Russian]
  7. Mironos A. A., Bednyi B. I., Rybakov N. V. 2017. “Academic careers in the spectrum of postgraduate students’ professional preferences”. Universitetskoe upravlenie: praktika i analiz, vol. 21, no 3, pp. 74-84. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2017.03.039 [In Russian]
  8. Pakhomova N. V., Rikhter K. K. 2013. “Contemporary university and the innovation challenge”. Universitetskoe upravlenie: praktika i analiz, vol. 83, no 1, pp. 28-42. [In Russian]
  9. RF Federal service of State Statistics.Research and Innovations. Accessed 21 June 2019. http://www.gks.ru/wps/wcm/connect/rosstat_main/rosstat/ru/statistics/science/#/ [In Russian]
  10. Yablonskene N. L. 2006. “Corporative culture of contemporary university”. Universitetskoe upravlenie, no 2 (42), pp. 7-25. [In Russian]
  11. Benfield J. A., Szlemko W. J. 2006. “Internet-based data collection: promises and realities”. Journal of Research Practice, vol. 2, no 2, art. D1. https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ805689.pdf
  12. Kreiner G. E., Ashforth B. E. 2004. “Evidence toward an expanded model of organizational identification”. Journal of Organizational Behavior: The International Journal of Industrial, Occupational and Organizational Psychology and Behavior, vol. 25, no 1, pp. 1-27. DOI: 10.1002/job.234
  13. Shein E. H. 1985. Organizational Culture and Leadership: A Dynamic View, vol. 4. San Fransisco, CA: Jossey—Bass Inc.

Особенности восприятия организационной культуры университета студентами с различными уровнями идентификации

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №3

Название: 
Особенности восприятия организационной культуры университета студентами с различными уровнями идентификации


Для цитирования: Помялова В. О. Особенности восприятия организационной культуры университета студентами с различными уровнями идентификации / В. О. Помялова, Н. В. Волкова // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 3. С. 40-52. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-3-40-52

Об авторах:

Помялова Валерия Олеговна, студентка 3-го курса образовательной программы «Социология и социальная информатика», Школа социальных наук и востоковедения, Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики» (г. Санкт-Петербург, РФ); ORCID, vopomyalova@edu.hse.ru

Волкова Наталья Владимировна, кандидат психологических наук, доцент Департамента менеджмента, Санкт-Петербургская школа экономики и менеджмента, Национальный исследовательский университет «Высшая школа экономики» (г. Санкт-Петербург, РФ); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, nv.volkova@hse.ru

Аннотация:

Высшее образование в современных реалиях как траектория для построения академической карьеры претерпевает определенные трудности. В частности, наблюдается тенденция сокращения молодых научных специалистов, что становится негативным фактором, влияющим на образовательную среду в целом. Данная проблема может возникать по ряду причин: от изменений в сфере законодательства об образовании до специфики деятельности образовательных учреждений. Ряд исследований, как зарубежных, так и отечественных, сходятся в том, что отношение сотрудников к организации — фактор их лояльности, поэтому целью статьи является рассмотрение аспекта взаимосвязи организационной культуры, установившейся в стенах университета, и отношения студентов к нему как к потенциально привлекательному месту работы. Целью исследования, изложенного в данной статье, выступает измерение организационной культуры и ее взаимосвязи с идентификацией с университетом на примере НИУ ВШЭ в Санкт-Петербурге. В статье рассматривается специфика восприятия организационной культуры студентами университета. В ходе исследования было проанализировано 118 человек с использованием двух методик по оценке организационной культуры и четырем типам идентификации. В результате полученные данные и построенные профили организационной культуры продемонстрировали значимые различия между восприятием текущей организационной культуры и ожиданиями студентов, что в результате позволило более детально рассмотреть организационную культуру в среде университета и выявить ряд особенностей. Так, преобладание в университетской среде рыночных отношений, подразумевающих конкуренцию и ориентацию на достижение лучшего результата, в то время как ожидалась дружественная атмосфера с акцентом на значимости и ценности человека, присущая клановой культуре, вероятно, оказывает влияние на последующие решения о карьере в этой сфере.

Список литературы:

  1. Балабанов С. С. Факторы эффективности и качества подготовки научных кадров в аспирантуре (социологический анализ) / С. С. Балабанов, Б. И. Бедный, А. А. Миронов // Университетское управление. 2007. № 5. С. 56-65.
  2. Бережная Ю. Н. Аспирантура в новых реалиях / Ю. Н. Бережная, В. А. Гуртов // Университетское управление: практика и анализ. 2017. Том 21. № 3. С. 57-65. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2017.03.037
  3. Кадочников С. М. Управление изменениями в российском исследовательском университете в меняющемся контексте. Кейс петербургского кампуса НИУ ВШЭ / С. М. Кадочников, А. А. Федюнина // Университетское управление: практика и анализ. 2019. Том 23. № 1-2. С. 93-100. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2019.01-2.007
  4. Камерон К. С. Диагностика и изменение организационной культуры / К. С. Камерон, Р. Э. Куинн. 2006.
  5. Клюев А. К. Университеты и бизнес: перспективы развития диффузных структур и процессов / А. К. Клюев // Университетское управление: практика и анализ. 2018. Tом 22. № 6. С. 72-80. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2018.06.059
  6. Манокин М. А. Методология agile в образовательной среде / М. А. Манокин, А. Р. Ожегова, Е. А. Шенкман // Университетское управление: практика и анализ. 2018. Том 22. № 4. С. 83-96. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2018.04.042
  7. Миронос А. А. Академические профессии в спектре профессиональных предпочтений аспирантов / А. А. Миронос, Б. И. Бедный, Н. В. Рыбаков // Университетское управление: практика и анализ. 2017. Том 21. № 3. С. 74-84. DOI: 10.15826/umpa.2017.03.039
  8. Пахомова Н. В. Современный университет и вызовы инноваций / Н. В. Пахомова, К. К. Рихтер // Университетское управление: практика и анализ. 2013. № 1. С. 28-42.
  9. Федеральная служба государственной статистики. Наука и инновации. URL: http://www.gks.ru/wps/wcm/connect/rosstat_main/rosstat/ru/statistics/science/#/ (дата обращения: 21.06.2019).
  10. Яблонскене Н. Л. Корпоративная культура современного университета / Н. Л. Яблонскене // Университетское управление. 2006. № 2 (42). С. 7-25.
  11. Benfield J. A. Internet-based data collection: рromises and realities / J. A. Benfield, W. J. Szlemko // Journal of Research Practice. 2006. Vol. 2. Issue 2. Article D1. URL: https://files.eric.ed.gov/fulltext/EJ805689.pdf
  12. Kreiner G. E. Evidence toward an expanded model of organizational identification / G. E. Kreiner, B. E. Ashforth // Journal of Organizational Behavior: The International Journal of Industrial, Occupational and Organizational Psychology and Behavior. 2004. Vol. 25. No 1. Pp. 1-27. DOI: 10.1002/job.234
  13. Shein E. H. Organizational Culture and Leadership: A dynamic view / E. H. Shein. San Fransisco, CA: Jossey-Bass Inc., 1985. Vol. 4. 437 p.