Modeling the factors determining transformation of mental trust into trusting behavior (the case of monitoring studies of the adult population in the Tyumen Region in 2007-2017)

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №3

Title: 
Modeling the factors determining transformation of mental trust into trusting behavior (the case of monitoring studies of the adult population in the Tyumen Region in 2007-2017)


For citation: Andrianova E. V., Tarasova A. N. 2019. “Modeling the factors determining transformation of mental trust into trusting behavior (the case of monitoring studies of the adult population in the Tyumen Region in 2007-2017)”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 3, pp. 8-19. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-3-8-19

About the authors:

Elena V. Andrianova, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Head of the Department of General and Economic Sociology, University of Tyumen; Senior Researcher, West-Siberian Branch of the Federal Center of Theoretical and Applied Sociology of the Russian Academy of Sciences (Tyumen, Russian Federation); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, e.v.andrianova@utmn.ru

Anna N. Tarasova, Cand. Sci. (Soc.), Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and Technology of State and Municipal Administration, Ural Federal University named after the first President of Russia B. N. Yeltsin (Yekaterinburg, Russian Federation); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, Scopus AuthorID, a.n.tarasova@mail.ru

Abstract:

One of the main practical questions, which the researchers of trust deal with, is the definition of its “value”, or effects. This is especially true in the sphere of economic and organizational relations. Confidence is a factor contributing to the growth of wealth and competitiveness, saving transaction costs. The role of trust in the relations between the employer and the employee is important as a necessary condition for organizational innovation. Deepening further into the problem of building trust between the employee and the employer, the authors dwell into the differences of trust as a mental state and as a trusting action, which, according to Bart Nooteboom, is one of the sources of confusion in the corresponding studies. Based on the results of several waves of sociological research (2004-2017), this article shows how Russia undergoes a transformation of trust as a state of mind in the employee—employer relationship and how this affects their actions. Using the methods of correlation and variance analysis, the authors show the relationship between the interrelation between the experience of labor rights violation, protection from job loss, satisfaction with guarantied stability and permanent employment provided by the employer, and the level of trust in them. Studying the influence, which the level of trust as a mental state has on the employees’ behavior, has showed that the high level of trust in the employer serves as an incentive to continued labor relations, though does not guarantee it. Among the 18% of the workers interviewed, who demonstrated a high level of trust in their employer, noted at the same time their desire to change jobs. Likewise, distrust of the employer does not always lead to resignation. Among the employees who do not trust their employer, 38% expressed their readiness to continue their employment relations. The authors draw attention to some characteristics of workers who set the choice of this or that strategy of action with the same level of trust. Proceeding from this, the effect brought by trust will depend not only and not so much on the mental level of trust, but on how this trust transforms into actions and, most importantly, in what actions.

References:

  1. Lapin N. I. (ed.). 2016. Modernisation Atlas of Russia and Its Regions: Socio-Economic and Socio-Cultural Trends and Challenges Moscow: Ves mir. [In Russian] 
  2. Davydenko V. A., Andrianova E. V., Lazutina D. V. 2018. “‘Light’ and ‘Dark’ Aspects of Trust: Analysizing the Ideas of the International Conference on Trust (Tokyo, 18-20 November 2017)”. Tyumen State University Herald. Social, Economic, and Law Research, vol. 4, no 1, pp. 28-75. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2018-4-1-28-75 [In Russian]
  3. Davydenko V. A., Romashkina G. F., Andrianova E. V., Lazutina D. V. 2018. “Metaphor for trust: the ‘umbrella effect’ in global science”. Economic and Social Changes: Facts, Trends, Forecast, vol. 11, no 6, pp. 127-142. DOI: 10.15838/esc.2018.6.60.8 [In Russian] 
  4. Lapin N. I., Belyaeva L. A. 2010. The Program and Standard Tools “Sociocultural Portrait of a Russian Region” (Modification 2010). Moscow: MFRAN. [In Russian] 
  5. Tarasova A. N., Andrianova E. V. 2016. “Innovative activity and intra-organizational trust: the problem of interrelations”. Power, no 11, pp. 130-137. [In Russian] 
  6. Bachmann R. 2007. Trust, Power and Control in Trans-Organizational Relations. Jena, Germany: University of Jena, Department of Sociology Otto-Schott-Str.
  7. Fukuyama F. 2006. Trust: Social Virtues and the Path to Prosperity. Translated from English. Moscow: AST: The Guardian. [In Russian]
  8. Kotarski H. 2013. Kapitał ludzki i kapitał społeczny a rozwój województwa podkarpackiego. Rzeszów: Wydawnictwo uniwersytetu rzeszowskiego. [In Polish]
  9. Markowska-Przybyła U. 2014. “Kapitał społeczny a wzrost i rozwój gospodarczy — wybrane aspekty teoretyczne”. Gospodarka przestrzenna Dylematy i wyzwania współczesności, no 339, pp. 109-121. [In Polish]
  10. Nooteboom B. 2015. “Agent-based simulation of trust”. In: Lyon F., Möllering G., Saunders M. N. K. (eds.). Handbook of Research Methods on Trust. 2nd edition. Pp. 65-74. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar. DOI: 10.4337/9781782547419.00014
  11. Nooteboom B. 2019. “Uncertainty and the Economic Need for Trust”. In: Sasaki M. (ed.). 2019. Trust in Contemporary Society, pp. 60-73. Leiden: Brill. DOI: 10.1163/9789004390430_006
  12. Sztompka P. 2014. “Trust”. In: Sasaki M. et al. (eds.). Concise Encyclopedia of Comparative Sociology, pp. 492-498. Leiden: Brill. DOI: 10.1163/9789004266179_052
  13. Sztompka P. 2019. “Trust in the Moral Space”. In: Sasaki M. et al. (eds.). Concise Encyclopedia of Comparative Sociology, pp. 31-40. Leiden: Brill. DOI: 10.1163/9789004390430_004
  14. Sztompka P. 1999. Trust: A Sociological Theory. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press.
  15. Sasaki M. (ed.). 2019. Trust in Contemporary Society. Leiden: Publication Brill. DOI: 10.1163/9789004390430

Моделирование факторов, определяющих переход ментального доверия в доверительные действия (на материалах мониторинговых исследований взрослого населения Тюменской области в 2007-2017 гг.)

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №3

Название: 
Моделирование факторов, определяющих переход ментального доверия в доверительные действия (на материалах мониторинговых исследований взрослого населения Тюменской области в 2007-2017 гг.)


Для цитирования: Андрианова Е. В. Моделирование факторов, определяющих переход ментального доверия в доверительные действия (на материалах мониторинговых исследований взрослого населения Тюменской области в 2007-2017 гг.) / Е. В. Андрианова, А. Н. Тарасова // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 3. С. 8-19. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-3-8-19

Об авторах:

Андрианова Елена Владимировна, кандидат социологических наук, заведующая кафедрой общей и экономической социологии, Тюменский государственный университет (г. Тюмень, РФ); старший научный сотрудник Западно-Сибирского филиала Федерального научно-исследовательского социологического центра РАН (г. Тюмень, РФ); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, e.v.andrianova@utmn.ru

Тарасова Анна Николаевна, кандидат социологических наук, доцент, доцент кафедры социологии и технологий государственного и муниципального управления, Уральский федеральный университет имени первого Президента России Б. Н. Ельцина (г. Екатеринбург, РФ); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, Scopus AuthorID, a.n.tarasova@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Цель данной статьи — социологический анализ расхождения между доверием как состоянием ума (mental state) и доверием как действием (trusting action), поиск факторов, определяющих переход из одного состояния доверия в другое. Один из основных практических вопросов проблемы доверия состоит в определении его «ценности», т. е. приносимых эффектов. Особенно это актуально в сфере экономических и организационных отношений. Доверие является фактором, способствующим росту благосостояния и конкурентоспособности, экономии транзакционных издержек. Важна роль доверия в отношениях работодателя и работника как необходимого условия организационных инноваций. Углубляясь далее в проблему формирования доверия между работником и работодателем, в статье рассмотрено соотношение доверия как ментального состояния (mental state) и доверия как доверяющего действия (trusting action), что, по мнению Барта Нотебома, является одним из источников путаницы при исследовании доверия. По результатам нескольких волн социологических исследований (период с 2004 по 2017 г.) показано, как в России идет трансформация доверия как состояния ума (state of mind) в отношениях «работник — работодатель» и как это отражается на их действиях. С использованием методов корреляционного и дисперсионного анализа выявлены взаимосвязи между наличием опыта нарушения трудовых прав, защищенностью от потери работы, удовлетворенностью предоставленными работодателем гарантиями стабильности и постоянной занятости и уровнем доверия к работодателю. В ходе исследования влияния уровня доверия как ментального состояния на поведение работников определено, что высокий уровень доверия к работодателю служит стимулом для продолжения взаимодействия с ним (т. е. продолжения трудовых отношений), но отнюдь не гарантирует этого. Порядка 18% опрошенных работников, продемонстрировавших высокий уровень доверия к своему работодателю, вместе с тем отметили свое желание перейти на другую работу. Точно так же и недоверие к работодателю далеко не всегда сопровождается «выходом» (т. е. желанием прекратить взаимодействие). Среди работников, не доверяющих своему работодателю, 38% выразили готовность продолжить трудовые отношения. Выделены некоторые характеристики работников, задающих выбор той или иной стратегии действия при одинаковом уровне доверия. Исходя из этого, привносимый доверием эффект будет зависеть не только и не столько от ментального уровня доверия, сколько от того, каким образом это доверие реализуется в действия, а главное — в какие действия.

Список литературы:

  1. Атлас модернизации России и ее регионов: социоэкономические и социокультурные тенденции и проблемы / сост. и отв. ред. член-корр. РАН Н. И. Лапин. М.: Весь Мир, 2016. 360 с.
  2. Давыденко В. А. «Светлые» и «темные» стороны доверия: анализ идей участников мирового научного форума “Trust” (Токио, 18-20 ноября 2017 г.) / В. А. Давыденко, Е. В. Андрианова, Д. В. Лазутина // Вестник Тюменского государственного университета. Социально-экономические и правовые исследования. 2018. Том 4. № 1. С. 28-75. DOI: 10.21684/2411-7897-2018-4-1-28-75
  3. Давыденко В. А. Метафора доверия: «зонтичный эффект» в мировой науке / В. А. Давыденко, Г. Ф. Ромашкина, Е. В. Андрианова, Д. В. Лазутина // Экономические и социальные перемены: факты, тенденции, прогноз. 2018. Том 11. № 6. С. 127-142. DOI: 10.15838/esc.2018.6.60.8
  4. Лапин Н. И. Программа и типовой инструментарий «Социокультурный портрет региона России» (Модификация-2010) / Н. И. Лапин, Л. А. Беляева. М.: МФРАН, 2010.
  5. Тарасова А. Н. Инновационная деятельность и внутриорганизационное доверие: проблема взаимоотношений / А. Н. Тарасова, Е. В. Андрианова // Власть. 2016. № 11. С. 130-137.
  6. Bachmann R. Trust, Power and Control in Trans-Organizational Relations / R. Bachmann. Germany, Jena: University of Jena, Department of Sociology, 2007. 27 р.
  7. Fukuyama F. Trust: Social Virtues and the Path to Prosperity / F. Fukuyama; рer. with English. M.: AST: The Guardian, 2006. Рp. 179-181.
  8. Kotarski H. Kapitał ludzki i kapitał społeczny a rozwój województwa podkarpackiego / H. Kotarski. Rzeszów: Wydawnictwo uniwersytetu rzeszowskiego, 2013. 249 p.
  9. Markowska-Przybyła U. Kapitał społeczny a wzrost i rozwój gospodarczy — wybrane aspekty teoretyczne / U. Markowska-Przybyła // Gospodarka przestrzenna Dylematy i wyzwania współczesności. 2014. № 339. Рp. 109-121.
  10. Nooteboom B. Agent-based simulation of trust / B. Nooteboom // Handbook of Research Methods on Trust // F. Lyon, G. Möllering, M. N. K. Saunders (еds.). 2nd ed. Cheltenham: Edward Elgar, 2015. Рр. 65-74. DOI: 10.4337/9781782547419.00014
  11. Nooteboom B. Uncertainty and the economic need for trust / B. Nooteboom // Trust in Contemporary Society / M. Sasaki (еd.). Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2019. Рp. 60-73. DOI: 10.1163/9789004390430_006
  12. Sztompka P. Trust / P. Sztompka // Concise Encyclopedia of Comparative Sociology / M. Sasaki et al. (eds.). Leiden: Brill, 2014. Рp. 492-498. DOI: 10.1163/9789004266179_052
  13. Sztompka P. Trust in the moral space / P. Sztompka // Trust in Contemporary Society / M. Sasaki (еd.). Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2019. Рp. 31-40. DOI: 10.1163/9789004390430_004
  14. Sztompka P. Trust: A Sociological Theory / P. Sztompka. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 1999. 214 p.
  15. Trust in Contemporary Society / M. Sasaki (еd.). Leiden; Boston: Brill, 2019. 270 p. DOI: 10.1163/9789004390430