Trends in educational migration in the Russian Federation

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №2

Title: 
Trends in educational migration in the Russian Federation


For citation: Kuznetsova A. R. 2019. “Trends in educational migration in the Russian Federation”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 2, pp. 52-65. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-2-52-65

About the author:

Alfiya R. Kuznetsova, Dr. Sci. (Econ.), Professor, Professor, Department of Economics and Management, Bashkir State Agrarian University (Ufa, Russian Federation); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, alfia_2009@mail.ru

Abstract:

This article analyzes the trends in international migration processes in federal districts. The analysis of state statistics (2016-2018) revealed conflicting trends in its various aspects. The results show that international educational migration in Russia has an extremely low proportion, which is only 3% of the total migration inflow. The number of educated migrants has grown by almost a third. The main contributing countries of the educational sphere are Kazakhstan, China, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan, India, and Iraq among others. At the same time, the number of educational migrants from Kazakhstan, Ukraine, and Moldova has slightly decreased over three years. The results show significant imbalances in the territorial distribution of educational migration flows in the Russian Federation. They mostly take place in the regions and the North-West Federal District (about 50% of migrants by educational institutions, Volga and Siberia — more than 30%). This means that the education system and the use of infrastructure are unlimited. This article identifies the types of dynamics of the formed clusters in federal districts, which resulted in the corresponding typology. The author has calculated the growth rate of educational migration, which is the ratio of the growth in the number of educational migrants to the increase in the total number of people who arrived in the federal district and registered as migrants. It seems appropriate that within the framework of research in the field of the modern sociocultural approach, the mechanism of redistribution of human capital should be involved. This will allow a deeper study of sociocultural factors and the consequences of educational migration.

References:

  1. Alekseeva E. N. 2012. “Features and prospects of educational migration in the era of global transformations”. Moscow State University Bulletin. Series 18. Sociology and Political Science, no 4, pp. 113-136. [In Russian]
  2. Arefyev A. L., Sheregi F. E. 2014. Foreign Students in Russian Universities. Section 1: Russia in the International Education Market. Section 2: Formation of the Contingent of Foreign Students for Russian Universities. Moscow: RF Ministry of Education and Science, Tsentr sotsiologicheskikh issledovaniy. Accessed 22 May 2019. http://www.socioprognoz.ru/files/File/2014/full.pdf [In Russian]
  3. Vartanyan A. A. 2016. “International educational migration: the regional aspect”. Mirovaya ekonomika i mezhdunarodnye otnosheniya, vol. 60, no 2, pp. 113-121. [In Russian]
  4. Volokh V. A., Grishaeva S. A. 2017. “International educational migration in modern Russia: peculiarities, problems and prospects”. Social Policy and Sociology, vol. 16, no 1 (120), pp. 80-87. Accessed 22 May 2019. http://www.migimo.ru/razdel/153 DOI: 10.17922/2071-3665-2017-16-1-80-87 [In Russian]
  5. Gromova E. A., Boyarkin G. N. 2011. “Problems and prospects for the development of educational (training) migration in modern Russia”. Kreativnaya ekonomika, no 7, pp. 105-113. [In Russian]
  6. Klyucharev G. A., Mukomel V. I. 2008. “Migration policy in the context of education”. In: Klyucharev G. A. (ed.). Continuing Education in Political and Economic Contexts, pp. 300-323. Moscow: Institut sotsiologii RAN. [In Russian]
  7. Kononov L. A. 2010. “Migration policy of Russia: problems and ways to solve them”. Analiticheskie obzory Instituta nauchnyh issledovanij i informacii RAGS pri Prezidente RF: periodicheskoe izdanie (otkrytaya seriya), no 4 (14). [In Russian]
  8. RF Concept of state migration policy for the period until 2025. Accessed 15 May 2019. http://kremlin.ru/events/president/news/58986 [In Russian].
  9. Kuznetsova A. R., Yagafarova V. A. 2013. “Education as a key factor in increasing the competitiveness of the country”. Vysshee obrazovanie segodnya, no 1, pp. 31-33. [In Russian]
  10. Kuznetsova A. R., Kadyrov E. M., Yagafarova V. A. 2013. “Basic socio-economic indicators of the development of the education system in Russia and the world”. Vysshee obrazovanie segodnya, no 3, pp. 18-21. [In Russian]
  11. Ledeneva V. Yu. 2014. “International educational migration in Russia: potential and prospects”. Sociologiya obrazovaniya, no 3, pp. 68-78. [In Russian]
  12. Maslennikov M. I. 2016. “Current trends in the international educational migration of the workforce”. In: Dynamics and inertia of population reproduction and generation replacement in Russia and the CIS. Vol. 2. Demographic potential of the regions of Russia and the CIS: growth dynamics and inertia of changes, pp. 376-380. Ekaterinburg: Institut ekonomiki UrO RAN. [In Russian]
  13. RF Federal Migration Service. Accessed 22 May 2019. http://fms.gov.ru/ 
  14. Tregubova N. D., Starikov V. S. 2017. “Educational migration and ethnosocial conflicts in universities of Russia, Ukraine and the USA”. Monitoring obshchestvennogo mneniya: ekonomicheskie i sotsial’nye peremeny, no 1, pp. 121-139. DOI: 10.14515/monitoring.2017.1.08 [In Russian]
  15. Fursa E. V., Rogova T. M. 2012. “International educational migration: basic trends and features of modern development”. Journal of economic regulation, vol. 3, no 3, pp. 42-51. [In Russian]
  16. Agrawal T., Agrawal A. 2019. “Who gains more from education? A comparative analysis of business, farm and wage workers in India”. Journal of Development Studies, vol. 55, no 6, pp. 1081-1098. DOI: 10.1080/00220388.2018.1443209
  17. Gries T., Jungblut S., Krieger T., Meyer H. 2019. “Economic retirement age and lifelong learning: a theoretical model with heterogeneous labor, biased technical change and international sourcing”. German Economic Review, vol. 20, no 2, pp.129-170. DOI: 10.1111/geer.12140
  18. Guetto R., Panikella N. 2019. “Family arrangements and children’s educational outcomes: heterogeneous penalties in upper-secondary school”. Demographic Research, vol. 40, pp. 1015-1046. DOI: 10.4054/DemRes.2019.40.35
  19. Haghighi N. F., Bijani M., Parhizkar M. 2019. “An analysis of major social obstacles affecting human resource development in Iran”. Journal of Human Behavior in the Social Environment, vol. 29, no 3, pp. 372-388. DOI: 10.1080/10911359.2018.1536577
  20. Mulliqi A., Adnett N., Hisarcclilar M. 2019. “Human capital and exports: a micro-level analysis of transition economies”. Journal of International Trade and Economic Development, vol. 28, no 7, pp. 775-800. DOI: 10.1080/09638199.2019.1603319
  21. Odoardi I., Muratore F. 2019. “The role of human capital after the crisis in Italy: a regional analysis”. Socio-Economic Planning Sciences, vol. 66 (C), pp. 58-67. DOI: 10.1016/j.seps.2018.07.002

Тенденции образовательной миграции в Российской Федерации

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №2

Название: 
Тенденции образовательной миграции в Российской Федерации


Для цитирования: Кузнецова А. Р. Тенденции образовательной миграции в Российской Федерации / А. Р. Кузнецова // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 2. С. 52-65. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-2-52-65

Об авторе:

Кузнецова Альфия Рашитовна, доктор экономических наук, профессор кафедры экономики и менеджмента, Башкирский государственный аграрный университет (г. Уфа, РФ); eLibrary AuthorID, ORCID, Web of Science ResearcherID, alfia_2009@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Цель настоящей статьи — проанализировать тенденции международной образовательной миграции в рамках общих миграционных процессов в контексте федеральных округов Российской Федерации и входящих в них регионов. Осуществленный анализ данных государственной статистики (2016-2018 гг.) выявил наличие ряда противоречивых тенденций в ее различных аспектах. Показано, что международная образовательная миграция в России имеет крайне низкий удельный вес, который составляет лишь 3% в общем миграционном притоке. При этом в целом число образовательных мигрантов выросло почти на треть. Основными странами-«донорами» образовательной миграции являются: Казахстан, Китай, Туркмения, Таджикистан, Узбекистан, Индия, Ирак и др. Одновременно количество образовательных мигрантов из Казахстана, Украины, Молдовы за три года несколько снизилось. Выявлены существенные диспропорции в территориальном распределении образовательных миграционных потоков в Российской Федерации. Они направлены, главным образом, в регионы Центрального и Северо-Западного федеральных округов (учебные заведения которых совместно принимают к себе около 50% мигрантов на учебу, Приволжский и Сибирский — более 30%). Тем самым проявляется еще один из существенных показателей территориальных диспропорций в развитии нашей страны, в данном случае — системы образования и связанной с ней инфраструктуры. В данной статье автором впервые выделены типы динамики образовательной миграции в федеральных округах и построена соответствующая типология. Предложен коэффициент роста образовательной миграции, представляющий собой отношение роста количества образовательных мигрантов к увеличению общего числа лиц, прибывших в федеральный округ и зарегистрированных как мигранты. Представляется целесообразным, наряду с анализом международной образовательной миграции с позиций механизма перераспределения человеческого капитала, обратиться к его изучению в ракурсе современного социокультурного подхода. Это позволит более глубоко исследовать социокультурные факторы и последствия образовательной миграции.

Список литературы:

  1. Алексеева Е. Н. Особенности и перспективы образовательной миграции в эпоху глобальных трансформаций / Е. Н. Алексеева // Вестник Московского университета. Серия 18: Социология и политология. 2012. № 4. С. 113-136. 
  2. Арефьев А. Л. Иностранные студенты в российских вузах. Раздел первый: Россия на международном рынке образования. Раздел второй: Формирование контингента иностранных студентов для российских вузов / А. Л. Арефьев, Ф. Э. Шереги; Министерство образования и науки Российской Федерации. М.: Центр социологических исследований, 2014. URL: http://www.socioprognoz.ru/files/File/2014/full.pdf (дата обращения: 22.05.2019). 
  3. Вартанян А. А. Международная образовательная миграция: региональный аспект / А. А. Вартанян // Мировая экономика и международные отношения. 2016. Том 60. № 2. С. 113-121. 
  4. Волох В. А. Международная образовательная миграция в современной России: особенности, проблемы и перспективы / В. А. Волох, С. А. Гришаева // Институт миграции и межнациональных отношений. URL: http://www.migimo.ru/razdel/153 (дата обращения: 22.05.2019). DOI: 10.17922/2071-3665-2017-16-1-80-87
  5. Громова Е. А. Проблемы и перспективы развития образовательной (учебной) миграции в современной России / Е. А. Громова, Г. Н. Бояркин // Креативная экономика. 2011. № 7. С. 105-113. 
  6. Ключарев Г. А. Миграционная политика в контексте образования / Г. А. Ключарев, В. И. Мукомель // Непрерывное образование в политическом и экономическом контекстах / отв. ред. Г. А. Ключарев. М.: Институт социологии РАН, 2008. С. 300-323. 
  7. Кононов Л. А. Миграционная политика России: проблемы и пути их решения / Л. А. Кононов / Аналитические обзоры Института научных исследований и информации РАГС при Президенте РФ: периодическое издание (открытая серия). М.: Изд-во РАГС, 2010. № 4 (14). 34 с. 
  8. Концепция государственной миграционной политики Российской Федерации на период до 2025 года. URL: http://kremlin.ru/events/president/news/58986 (дата обращения: 15.05.19). 
  9. Кузнецова А. Р. Образование как ключевой фактор повышения конкурентоспособности страны / А. Р. Кузнецова, В. А. Ягафарова // Высшее образование сегодня. 2013. № 1. С. 31-33. 
  10. Кузнецова А. Р. Основные социально-экономические индикаторы развития системы образования в России и мире / А. Р. Кузнецова, Э. М. Кадыров, В. А. Ягафарова // Высшее образование сегодня. 2013. № 3. С. 18-21. 
  11. Леденёва В. Ю. Международная образовательная миграция в России: потенциал и перспективы / В. Ю. Леденёва // Социология образования. 2014. № 3. С. 68-78. 
  12. Масленников М. И. Современные тренды в международной образовательной миграции рабочей силы / М. И. Масленников // Динамика и инерционность воспроизводства населения и замещения поколений в России и СНГ. Екатеринбург: Институт экономики Уральского отделения РАН, 2016. Том 2: Демографический потенциал регионов России и СНГ: динамика роста и инерционность изменений. С. 376-380. 
  13. Официальный сайт Федеральной миграционной службы Российской Федерации. URL: http://fms.gov.ru/ (дата обращения: 22.05.2019). 
  14. Трегубова Н. Д. Образовательная миграция и этносоциальные конфликты в вузах России, Украины и США / Н. Д. Трегубова, В. С. Стариков // Мониторинг общественного мнения: экономические и социальные перемены. 2017. № 1. С. 121-139. DOI: 10.14515/monitoring.2017.1.08
  15. Фурса Е. В. Международная учебная миграция: тенденции и особенности современного развития / Е. В. Фурса, Т. М. Рогова // Journal of Economic Regulation (Вопросы регулирования экономики). 2012. Том 3. № 3. С. 42-51. 
  16. Agrawal T. Who gains more from education? A comparative analysis of business, farm and wage workers in India / T. Agrawal, A. Agrawal // Journal of Development Studies. 2019. Vol. 55. No 6. Pp. 1081-1098. DOI: 10.1080/00220388.2018.1443209
  17. Gries T. Economic retirement age and lifelong learning: a theoretical model with heterogeneous labor, biased technical change and international sourcing / T. Gries, S. Jungblut, T. Krieger, H. Meyer // German Economic Review. 2019. Vol. 20. No 2. Pp. 129-170. DOI: 10.1111/geer.12140
  18. Guetto R. Family arrangements and children’s educational outcomes: heterogeneous penalties in upper-secondary school / R. Guetto, N. Panichella // Demographic Research. 2019. Vol. 40. Pp. 1015-1046. DOI: 10.4054/DemRes.2019.40.35
  19. Haghighi N. F. An analysis of major social obstacles affecting human resource development in Iran / N. F. Haghighi, M. Bijani, M. Parhizkar // Journal of Human Behavior in the Social Environment. 2019. Vol. 29. No 3. Pp. 372-388. DOI: 10.1080/10911359.2018.1536577
  20. Mulliqi A. Human capital and exports: a micro-level analysis of transition economies / A. Mulliqi, N. Adnett, M. Hisarcclilar // Journal of International Trade and Economic Development. 2019. In print. DOI: 10.1080/09638199.2019.1603319
  21. Odoardi I. The role of human capital after the crisis in Italy: a regional analysis / I. Odoardi, F. Muratore // Socio-Economic Planning Sciences. 2019. Vol. 66 (C). Pp. 58-67. DOI: 10.1016/j.seps.2018.07.002