Civil and ethnic identification of regional youth of the Republic of Kazakhstan

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №2

Title: 
Civil and ethnic identification of regional youth of the Republic of Kazakhstan


For citation: Bekturganova B. I. 2019. “Civil and ethnic iden­tification of regional youth of the Republic of Kazakhstan”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 2, pp. 8-17. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-2-8-17

About the author:

Bakhytzhamal I. Bekturganova, Dr. Sci. (Philos.), Academician, Academy of Sociology of the Republic of Kazakhstan; Chairman of the Board “Association of Social and Political Scientists”; Professor, Department of Comprehensive Disciplines; Leading Research Associate, Research Center “Rukhaniyat”, Bolashaq Academy (Karaganda, Kazakhstan); asipkz@mail.ru

Abstract:

Kazakhstan is transitioning to a national state as a new subject of sovereignty. In the Kazakhstan’s case, the national-state construction has received an ethnolinguistic connotation and symbolizes the Kazakh nation’s revival. This complicates the formation of a new national identity on a civil basis and leads to the strengthening of ethnic identifications among younger people, especially in the Kazakh-speaking regions. This highlights the need to study the role and influence which the modal tendencies of nation building have on identification of the regional youth. Meanwhile, the key dimensions of young people’s life include social disorder and insecurity, which, combined with the uncertain prospects of education and employment, worsen social sentiment and complicate their self-identification in this environment. This, in fact, determines the relevance of this study, as well as its scientific and practical significance. The purpose of this article involves a comparative analysis of the role and influence of modal tendencies of nation building in Kazakhstan on the formation of certain types of social identity, namely, civil and ethnic — youth living in various regions of the Republic of Kazakhstan. The empirical basis of the article includes the results of a survey of young people aged 15-29 years conducted in all the regions of Kazakhstan from 23 April to 6 May 2016. These results show the role and influence of modal trends in nation building on identification processes in regional youth groups and the ethnic conflict potential. The author highlights the specifics of the existing risks associated with the growth of ethnic identity of the young residents of Kazakhstan in the context of potential social and political consequences for the republic.

References:

  1. Aryn R. S. 2006. “Status of the Titular Ethnic Group: Conceptual Approaches”. Pavlodar: EKO. [In Russian]
  2. Bekturganova B., Furman D. 2004. “Mass consciousness and religion in Kazakhstan and Russia”. InL Furman D. E. (ed.). Kazakhstan and Russia: Societies and States, pp. 355-368. Moscow: Prava cheloveka. [In Russian]
  3. Bilyalova G. N. 2008. “Ethnic identification of Kazakhs: theoretical and methodological aspects”. Kazahstan Spektr, no 1, pp. 59-70. [In Russian]
  4. Bilyalova G. N. 2007. “Ethnic identity and social identity: a psychoanalytic approach”. Evraziyskoe soobshchestvo: obshchestvo, politika, kultura, no 2, pp. 117-124. [In Russian]
  5. Dogan M., Pelassi D. 1994. Comparative Political Sociology. Translated from English. Moscow: Sotsialno politicheskiy zhurnal. [In Russian]
  6. Natsuko O. 2004. “The state — an ethnic minority — the birthplace of this minority (Russians, Uyghurs and Koreans in post-Soviet Kazakhstan and their homeland)”. In: Furman D. E. (ed.). Kazakhstan and Russia: Societies and States. Answer, pp. 389-405. Moscow: Prava cheloveka. [In Russian]
  7. Nysanbaev A. N., Shaykemelev M. S. 2013. “Methodological approaches to studies of ethnic identities in post-soviet humanitarian discourse: Kazakhstan experience”. Sociological Studies, no 9, pp. 80-91. [In Russian]
  8. Sartori Dzh. 1995. “Concept Misformation in Comparative Politics.” Polis. Political Studies, no 3, p. 75. [In Russian]
  9. Toshchenko Zh. T. 2002. O ponyatijnom apparate sociologii. Sociologicheskie issledovaniya, no 9, pp. 4. [In Russian]
  10. Shaykemelev M. S. 2003. Kazakh Identity, edited by Z. K. Shaukenova. Almaty. Institut filosofii politologii i religiovedeniya KN MON RK. [In Russian]
  11. Shoykh E. 1995. Step by Step. Comparative Sociology. Selected Translated Works, pp. 16-17. Moscow: Akademia. [In Russian]
  12. Report on the results of a youth survey 23 April —6 May 2016 “Ethnoreligious identifications of regional youth”, pp. 5-6. http://agkipr.kz/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/ОТЧЕТ-АСиП-ЭТНОРЕЛИГИОЗНЫЕ-ИДЕНТИФИКАЦИИ-РЕГИОНАЛЬНОЙ-МО... [In Russian]

Гражданская и этническая идентификации региональной молодежи Республики Казахстан

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №2

Название: 
Гражданская и этническая идентификации региональной молодежи Республики Казахстан


Для цитирования: Бектурганова Б. И. Гражданская и этническая идентификации региональной молодежи Республики Казахстан / Б. И. Бектурганова // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 2. С. 8-17. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-2-8-17

Об авторе:

Бектурганова Бахытжамал Иркеновна, доктор философских наук, академик Академии социологии РК, председатель правления Ассоциации социологов и политологов, профессор кафедры общеобразовательных дисциплин, ведущий научный сотрудник НИЦ «Руханият», Академия «Болашак» (г. Караганда, Казахстан); asipkz@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Казахстан находится на стадии перехода к национальному государству как новому субъекту суверенитета. Специфика ситуации, в которой оказался Казахстан, состоит в том, что процесс национально-государственного строительства получил этноязыковую коннотацию и идет под знаком возрождения казахской нации. Это затрудняет формирование новой национальной идентичности на общегражданской основе и ведет к усилению этнических идентификаций в среде молодежи, особенно в казахоязычных регионах. Данная тенденция актуализирует необходимость изучения роли и влияния модальных тенденций нациестроительства на идентификационные процессы в среде региональной молодежи. Последняя — социологически малоизученный сегмент молодежи Казахстана. Между тем ключевыми измерениями ее жизни становятся социальная неустроенность и незащищенность, что в сочетании с неопределенностью перспектив образования, занятости и трудоустройства ухудшает социальные настроения и затрудняет идентификационные процессы в этой среде. Этим, по сути, и определяются актуальность исследования, его научная и практическая значимость. Целью статьи выступает сравнительный анализ роли и влияния модальных тенденций нациестроительства в Казахстане на становление некоторых видов социальной идентичности, а именно гражданской и этнической, молодежи, проживающей в различных регионах Республики Казахстан. Эмпирическую основу статьи составляют результаты опроса молодежи 15-29 лет, проведенного во всех регионах Казахстана с 23 апреля по 6 мая 2016 г. На основании его результатов определены роль и влияние модальных тенденций нациестроительства на идентификационные процессы в региональных группах молодежи. Выявлен конфликтогенный потенциал на этнической почве. Сделаны выводы относительно специфики существующих рисков, связанных с ростом этнического самосознания молодых жителей Казахстана в контексте потенциальных социальных и политических последствий для республики.

Список литературы:

  1. Арын Р. С. Статус титульного этноса: концептуальные подходы: монография / Р. С. Арын. Павлодар: ЭКО, 2006. 232 с. 
  2. Бектурганова Б. Массовое сознание и религия в Казахстане и России / Б. Бектурганова, Д. Фурман // Казахстан и Россия: общества и государства / отв. ред.-сост. Д. Е. Фурман. М.: Права человека, 2004. С. 355-368. 
  3. Билялова Г. Н. Этническая идентификация казахов: теоретическо-методологические аспекты / Г. Н. Билялова // Казахстан Спектр. 2008. № 1. С. 59-70. 
  4. Билялова Г. Н. Этническое самосознание и социальная идентичность: психоаналитический подход / Г. Н. Билялова // Евразийское сообщество: общество, политика, культура. 2007. № 2. С. 117-124. 
  5. Доган М. Сравнительная политическая социология / М. Доган, Д. Пеласси; пер. с англ. М.: Социально-политический журнал, 1994. С. 149. 
  6. Нацуко О. Государство — этническое меньшинство — родина этого меньшинства (русские, уйгуры и корейцы в постсоветском Казахстане и своей родине) / О. Нацуко // Казахстан и Россия: общества и государства / отв. ред.-сост. Д. Е. Фурман. М.: Права человека, 2004. С. 389-405. 
  7. Нысанбаев А. Н. Методологические подходы к изучению этноидентичности в постсоветском гуманитарном дискурсе: казахстанский опыт / А. Н. Нысанбаев, М. С. Шайкемелев // Социологические исследования. 2013. № 9. С. 80-91. 
  8. Сартори Дж. Искажение концептов в сравнительной политологии / Дж. Сартори // Политические исследования. 1995. № 3. С. 75. 
  9. Тощенко Ж. Т. О понятийном аппарате социологии / Ж. Т. Тощенко // Социологические исследования. 2002. № 9. С. 4. 
  10. Шайкемелев М. С. Казахская идентичность: монография / М. С. Шайкемелев; под общ. ред. З. К. Шаукеновой. Алматы: Институт философии, политологии и религиоведения КН МОН РК, 2003. 272 с. 
  11. Шойх Э. Шаг за шагом / Э. Шойх // Сравнительная социология. Избранные переводы. М.: Academia, 1995. С. 16-17. 
  12. Этнорелигиозные идентификации региональной молодежи. Отчет по результатам опроса молодежи 23 апреля — 6 мая 2016 г. С. 5-6. URL: http://agkipr.kz/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/ОТЧЕТ-АСиП-ЭТНОРЕЛИГИОЗНЫЕ-ИДЕНТИФИКАЦИИ-РЕГИОНАЛЬНОЙ-МО... (дата обращения: 15.05.2009).