Modernization approaches towards public policy in the context of the “social system” concept by N. Luhmann

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №1

Title: 
Modernization approaches towards public policy in the context of the “social system” concept by N. Luhmann


For citation: Andreev A. V. 2019. “Modernization approaches towards public policy in the context of the ‘social system’ concept by N. Luhmann”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 1, pp. 73-84. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-1-73-84

About the author:

Andrey V. Andreev, Cand. Sci. (Polit.), Director of the STRK “Kuzbass” (Kemerovo, Russian Federation); andreev@gtrk.kuzbass.net

Abstract:

The contemporary changes in the system of political communications associated with the expansion of media in the life of the contemporary person and society aim at better understanding of their nature and character. That makes relevant the appeal to the classical theory of media, which provides opportunities for the formation of new research approaches to improve existing theoretical concepts. This article discusses and clarifies the contribution of Niklas Luhmann (a classicist of the world sociology) to the sociology of media in the context of his theory of the social system. He characterized the latter as being autopoietic — that is, capable of self-reproduction (which also implies its ability to build relationships with itself — self-reflection), and of self-description. This article presents the author’s interpretation of Luhmann’s theories of the social system and media in the conditions of deep transformations of the media sphere. The latter is observed from the standpoint of the theory of political resonances, which play an important role in the processes of self-organization and self-description of the contemporary society and its public sphere. The concepts of media and its classification proposed by Luhmann are analyzed too. Luhmann’s approach to the analysis of the specifics of mass communications in the contemporary conditions is studied as a possible basis for the modernization of the theory of public policy in the context of modern information and political challenges. Such interpretation is considered as the moment of scientific novelty of this work.

References:

  1. Andreev A. V. 2012. “Formation of global information society and model of resonant management”. Philosophy of economy. Almanac of the center of social Sciences and faculty of Economics of MSU, no 2 (80), pp. 247-254. Moscow. [In Russian]
  2. Baudrillard J. 2007. “From Resistance to Hyperconformity”. In: Jaspers K., Baudrillard J. The Phantom of the Crowd. Moscow: Algoritm. [In Russian]
  3. Luhmann N. 2001. Power. Translated from German by A. Yu. Antonovsky. Moscow: Praksis. [In Russian]
  4. Luhmann N. 2003. “The Reality of the Mass Media: the abstract by A. Filippov”. Otechestvennye zapiski, no 4. http://magazines.russ.ru/oz/2003/4/2003_4_46-pr.html [In Russian]
  5. Celikates R., Gosepath S. 2013. Basic Course in Philosophy. Vol. 6. Political Philosophy. Stuttgart. [In German]
  6. Luhmann, N. 1988. Power. Stuttgart: Lucius & Lucius Verlagsgesellschaft. [In German]
  7. Luhmann N. 1975. “System theory, evolution theory, and communication theory”. Soziologische Gids, vol. 22, no 3, pp. 154–168. [In German]
  8. Luhmann N. 1975. “Changes in systems of social communication and mass media”. In: Sociological declaration 3. Social System, Society, Organization. Opladen. [In German]
  9. Luhmann N. 1991-1992. “Operational closure and structural coupling: the differentiation of the legal system”. Cardozo Law Review, vol. 13, pp. 1419-1441.
  10. Luhmann N. 1995. Social Systems. Stanford University Press.
  11. Luhmann N. 1995. The Reality of Mass Media. 1. Opladen: Westdeutscher Verlag. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-663-16287-2 [In German]
  12. Luhmann N. 1996. The Reality of Mass Media. 2. Extended edition. Opladen: Westdeutscher Verlag. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-663-01103-3 [In German]
  13. Luhmann N. 1997. Society of Society. Frankfurt: Suhrkamp. [In German]
  14. Luhmann N. 2012. Theory of Society. Vol. 1. Stanford University Press. [In German]

Модернизация подходов к публичной политике в контексте концепции социальных систем Н. Лумана

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №1

Название: 
Модернизация подходов к публичной политике в контексте концепции социальных систем Н. Лумана


Для цитирования: Андреев А. В. Модернизация подходов к публичной политике в контексте концепции социальных систем Н. Лумана / А. В. Андреев // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 1. С. 73-84. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-1-73-84

Об авторе:

Андреев Андрей Владимирович, кандидат политических наук, директор ГТРК «Кузбасс» (г. Кемерово, РФ); andreev@gtrk.kuzbass.net

Аннотация:

Современные изменения в системе политических коммуникаций, связанные с экспансией медиа в жизнь современных человека и общества, делают актуальным обращение к классической теории медиа, которая предоставляет возможности для формирования новых исследовательских подходов с целью совершенствования уже существующих теоретических представлений об этой проблеме. В статье рассматривается и уточняется вклад в социологию медиа классика мировой социологии Никласа Лумана в контексте его теории социальной системы, которую сам исследователь характеризовал как аутопойетическую — то есть способную к самовоспроизводству. Последнее также предполагает ее способность к выстраиванию отношений с самой собой (самореференции) и к самоописанию. Целью статьи является обоснование авторского толкования теории социальной системы Н. Лумана и его теории медиа в условиях глубоких трансформаций медиасферы, которые автор статьи рассматривает с позиций теории политических резонансов, играющих важную роль в процессах самоорганизации и самоописания современного общества и его публичной сферы. Анализируются предложенные Н. Луманом понятия медиа и их классификация. Подход Н. Лумана к анализу специфики современных массовых коммуникаций рассматривается автором статьи как возможное основание для модернизации теории публичной политики в контексте насущных информационно-политических вызовов. Одним из необходимых условий этого выступает признание и акцентирование исследователями резонансного характера самого публичного пространства, что предполагает возможность гибкого и адаптивного воздействия социальных институтов власти на процессы публичной коммуникации. Подобная интерпретация рассматривается автором статьи как момент научной новизны его работы.

Список литературы:

  1. Андреев А. В. Становление глобального информационного общества и модель резонансного управления / А. В. Андреев // Философия хозяйства. Альманах центра общественных наук и экономического факультета МГУ. Москва, 2012. № 2 (80). С. 247-254.
  2. Бодрийар Ж. От сопротивления к гиперконформизму / Ж. Бодрийяр // Ясперс К., Бодрийар Ж. Призрак толпы. М.: Алгоритм, 2007. 
  3. Луман Н. Власть / Н. Луман; пер. с нем. А. Ю. Антоновского. М.: Праксис, 2001.
  4. Луман Н. Реальность масс-медиа: реферат А. Филиппова / Н. Луман // Отечественные записки. 2003. № 4. URL: http://magazines.russ.ru/oz/2003/4/2003_4_46-pr.html
  5. Celikates R. Grundkurs Philosophie. Band 6. Politische Philosophie / R. Celikates, S. Gosepath. Stuttgart, 2013. 
  6. Luhmann N. Macht / N. Luhmann. Stuttgart: Lucius & Lucius Verlagsgesellschaft, 1988.
  7. Luhmann N. Systemtheorie, Evolutionstheorie und Kommunikationstheorie / N. Luhmann // Soziologische Gids. 1975. Vol. 22. No 3. Pp. 154-168.
  8. Luhmann N. Veranderungen in System gesellschaftischen Kommunikation und die Massenmedien / N. Luhmann // Soziologische Aufklarung 3. Soziales System, Gesellschaft, Organisation. Opladen, 1975. 
  9. Luhmann N. Operational closure and structural coupling: the differentiation of the legal system / N. Luhmann // Cardozo Law Review. 1991-1992. Vol. 13. Pp. 1419-1441.
  10. Luhmann N. Social Systems / N. Luhmann. Stanford University Press, 1995.
  11. Luhmann N. Die Realität der Massenmedien. 1 / N. Luhmann. Opladen: Westdeutscher Verlag, 1995. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-663-16287-2
  12. Luhmann N. Die Realität der Massmedien. 2, erweiterte Auflage / N. Luhmann. Opladen: Westdeutscher Verlag, 1996. DOI: 10.1007/978-3-663-01103-3
  13. Luhmann N. Die Gesellschaft der Gesellschaft / N. Luhmann. Frankfurt: Suhrkamp, 1997.
  14. Luhmann N. Theory of Society / N. Luhmann. Stanford University Press, 2012. Vol. 1.