Younger Siberians: life values and behavior models of the generation Z (studies of Irkutsk Region in 1991, 2013, and 2018)

Release:

2019, Vol. 3. №1

Title: 
Younger Siberians: life values and behavior models of the generation Z (studies of Irkutsk Region in 1991, 2013, and 2018)


For citation: Lisauskene M. V. 2019. “Younger Siberians: life values and behavior models of the generation Z (studies of Irkutsk Region in 1991, 2013, and 2018)”. Siberian Socium, vol. 3, no 1, pp. 46-60. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-1-46-60

About the author:

Maria V. Lisauskene, Cand. Sci. (Philos.), Associate Professor, Director of the East Siberian Institute of System Research and Sociology (Irkutsk, Russian Federation); Associate Professor, Department of Public Relations and Advertising Technologies, Irkutsk State University (Irkutsk, Russian Federation); lisaus@mail.ru

Abstract:

This article studies the defining features of the digital generation, or the “Generation Z”, which has recently entered the global public relations, in the context of the modern theory of generations. The author presents a comparative analysis of changes in life values and behaviors of post-Soviet generations X, Y, and Z. The main results and conclusions presented in the article rely on the materials of perennial sociological generational studies of young people, conducted by the author in 1989-2018. This study lists the features of the Russian digital generation and their differences from their Western peers. The results show that the value priorities of young people include a commitment to traditional family values, which are considered to be the foundation for their success in life. The author reveals the features of communicative actions and patterns of young Siberians in the virtual and real space and defines the political positions and models of the political activity of Irkutsk schoolchildren and students, their attitude to the government and the opposition. This paper identifies migration strategies of young Siberians and their relationship to the motherland. The results prove that in the context of globalization and the development of computer technology, there have been changes in the self-identification of young people, and that the desire for cosmopolitanism and identification with the “Man of the Earth” has been fixed in the minds and life strategies of the respondents. The author concludes that there is a need for a comparative sociological study of generations of young people, based on a uniform methodology and technique, both in Russia and abroad.

References:

  1. Abindex.ru. 2017. “Google Research: what is cool for the generation z”. Strategies, no 4. Accessed 3 February 2019. https://adindex.ru/publication/analitics/108384/2017/04/4/159056.phtml [In Russian]
  2. Sostav.ru. “Research: Sberbank has studied the generation of Z. The report of the bank is devoted to “centenials”. Accessed 3 February 2019. http://www.sostav.ru/publication/issledovanie-sberbank-izuchil-pokolenie-z-25885.html [In Russian]
  3. Kirilova E. 2015. “Generation Z and its place in history. Theory of generations. Generations X, Y and Z”. FB.ru. Accessed 15 February 2019. http://fb.ru/article/210221/pokolenie-z-i-ego-mesto-v-istorii-teoriya-pokoleniy-pokoleniya-x-y-i-z [In Russian]
  4. Lisauskene M. V. 2017. “The generation Z in the socio-cultural context of the region”. Proceedings of the All-Russian Research Conference “Sotsiokulturnaya dinamika Irkutskoy oblasti v XX — nachale XXI veka”. Edited by А. V. Аrguchintsev and I. А. Zhuravlyova. Pp. 199-206. Irkutsk: Irkutsk State University. [In Russian]
  5. Lisauskene M. V. 2006. “The generation ‘next’ — pragmatic perfectionists or romantics of consumption”. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya, no 4, pp. 111-115. DOI: 10.2753/RES1060-9393490405
  6. Lisauskene M. V. 2008. “Educational strategies and behavior patterns of the “generation of changes”: a regional aspect”. Sotsiologiya obrazovaniya, no 11, pp. 49-59. [In Russian]
  7. Lisauskene M. V. 2010. “Twenty years later — a retrospective of the opinions of generations about the ways of development of the Russian civilization”. Izvestiya Irkutskogo gosudarstvennogo universiteta seriya Politologiya, no 4, pp. 9-17. [In Russian]
  8. Marakhovskiy V. 2019. “Global cooling: the basic instinct disappears from the new generation”. Russkaya vesna. https://rusvesna.su/news/1550596522 [In Russian]
  9. Gorshkov M. K., Andreev A. L., Anikin V. A., Goryunova S. V., Davydova N. M., Zadorin I. V., Lezhnina Yu. P., Ovchinnikova Yu. V., Pakhomova E. I., Petukhov V. V., Sedova N. N., Tikhonova N. E., Khromov K. A., Bube M. 2007. Youth of the New Russia: Lifestyle and Value Priorities. Moscow: Institute of Sociology of the Russian Academy of Sciences. [In Russian]
  10. Ovsyannikov А. А. (ed.). 2016. The New Generation: Hopes, Goals, and Ideals. Twenty Years Later. Moscow: Izdatelskiy dom Mezhdunarodnogo universiteta v Moskve. [In Russian]
  11. Omelchenko E. L., Sabirova G. А. 2017. “To the question of youth cultures in modern Russia”. Proceedings of the 17th April International Research Conference on the Issues of Economics and Society in 4 vols. Edited by E. G. Yasin. Vol. 4, pp. 183-191. Moscow: Nigher School of Economics. [In Russian]
  12. Omelchenko E. L. 2015. “Risks and pleasures on the stages of youth activism in the contemporary modern Russia”. In: Pugacheva M. G., Filippov А. F. (eds.). Russian Ways. Alternatives to Social Development. 2.0. Vol. 20, pp. 25-47. Moscow: Novoe literaturnoe obozrenie. [In Russian]
  13. Radaev V. V. 2018. “Millennials against the background of previous generations: an empirical analysis”. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya, no 3, pp. 15-33. DOI: 10.7868/S0132162518030029 [In Russian]
  14. Semenova V. V. 2009. Social Dynamics of Generations: Problem and Reality. Moscow: ROSSPEHN. [In Russian]
  15. Rugenerations. “Russian school of generation theory”. Accessed 12 March 2019. https://rugenerations.su/category [In Russian]
  16. Shamis E., Nikonov E. 2016. Theory of Generations. Unusual X. Moscow: Sinergiya. [In Russian]
  17. Howe N., Strauss W. 1991. Generations: The History of America’s Future, 1584 to 2069. New York: William Morrow & Company.
  18. Howe N., Strauss W. 1997. The Fourth Turning: What the Cycles of History Tell Us about America’s Next Rendezvous with Destiny. New York: Broadway Books.
  19. Jones G. L. 1992. “Strauss, William and Neil Howe ‘Generations: The History of America’s Future, 1584-2069’ (Book Review)”. Perspectives on Political Science, vol. 21, no 4, p. 218.

Молодые сибиряки: жизненные ценности и модели поведения «поколения Z» (опыт исследований молодежи Иркутской области в 1991, 2013, 2018 гг.)

Выпуск:

2019. Том 3. №1

Название: 
Молодые сибиряки: жизненные ценности и модели поведения «поколения Z» (опыт исследований молодежи Иркутской области в 1991, 2013, 2018 гг.)


Для цитирования: Лисаускене М. В. Молодые сибиряки: жизненные ценности и модели поведения «поколения Z» (опыт исследований молодежи Иркутской области в 1991, 2013, 2018 гг.) / М. В. Лисаускене // Siberian Socium. 2019. Том 3. № 1. С. 46-60. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2019-3-1-46-60

Об авторе:

Лисаускене Мария Вадимовна, кандидат философских наук, доцент, директор Восточно-Сибирского института системных исследований и социологии (г. Иркутск, РФ); доцент кафедры связей с общественностью и рекламных технологий, Иркутский государственный университет (г. Иркутск, РФ); lisaus@mail.ru

Аннотация:

В данной статье с позиций современной теории поколений рассматриваются характерные особенности цифрового поколения, или «поколения Z», не так давно вступившего в глобальные общественные отношения. Цель статьи — сравнительный анализ изменения жизненных ценностей и моделей поведения постсоветских поколений X, Y, Z. Основные результаты и выводы, представленные в ней, базируются на материалах многолетних социологических поколенческих исследований молодежи, проведенных автором в 1989-2018 гг. Приведена характеристика цифрового поколения россиян и их отличия от западных сверстников. Доказано, что важнейшим ценностным приоритетом молодых россиян выступает приверженность традиционным семейным ценностям, которые являются для них основой жизненного успеха. Выявлены особенности коммуникативных действий и модели коммуникаций молодых сибиряков в виртуальном и реальном пространстве. Определены политические позиции и модели политической активности иркутских школьников и студентов, их отношение к власти и оппозиции. Выявлены миграционные стратегии молодых сибиряков, их отношение к Родине. Доказано, что в условиях глобализации и развития компьютерных технологий произошли изменения в самоидентификации молодежи, в сознании и жизненных стратегиях респондентов зафиксировано стремление к космополитизму и отождествление себя с «человеком Земли». Автором делается вывод о необходимости проведения компаративного социологического исследования поколений молодежи, базирующегося на единой методике и технике, как в России, так и за рубежом.

Список литературы:

  1. Исследование Google: что круто для поколения Z // Strategies. 2017. № 4. URL: https://adindex.ru/publication/analitics/108384/2017/04/4/159056.phtml (дата обращения: 14.02.2019).
  2. Исследование: Сбербанк изучил поколение Z. Доклад банка посвящен «центениалам». URL: http://www.sostav.ru/publication/issledovanie-sberbank-izuchil-pokolenie-z-25885.html (дата обращения: 13.02.2019).
  3. Кирилова Е. Поколение Z и его место в истории. Теория поколений. Поколения X, Y и Z / Е. Кирилова // Сайт FB.ru. URL: http://fb.ru/article/210221/pokolenie-z-i-ego-mesto-v-istorii-teoriya-pokoleniy-pokoleniya-x-y-i-z (дата обращения: 15.02.2019).
  4. Лисаускене М. В. Поколение Z в социокультурном контексте региона / М. В. Лисаускене // Социокультурная динамика Иркутской области в XX — начале XXI века: материалы Всероссийской научно-практической конференции с международным участием / ФГБОУ ВО «ИГУ»; под общ. ред. А. В. Аргучинцева, И. А. Журавлёвой. Иркутск: Изд-во ИГУ, 2017. С. 199-206.
  5. Лисаускене М. В. Поколение next — прагматичные перфекционисты или романтики потребления / М. В. Лисаускене // Социологические исследования. 2006. № 4. С. 111-115. 
  6. Лисаускене М. В. Образовательные стратегии и модели поведения «поколения перемен»: региональный аспект / М. В. Лисаускене // Социология образования. 2008. № 11. С. 49-59.
  7. Лисаускене М. В. Двадцать лет спустя — ретроспектива мнений поколений о путях развития российской цивилизации / М. В. Лисаускене // Известия Иркутского государственного университета. Серия: политология. 2010. № 4. С. 9-17.
  8. Мараховский В. Глобальное охлаждение: у нового поколения исчезает основной инстинкт / В. Мараховский // Русская весна. URL: https://rusvesna.su/news/1550596522 (дата обращения: 15.02.2019).
  9. Молодежь новой России: образ жизни и ценностные приоритеты. М.: Институт социологии РАН, Представительство Фонда им. Ф. Эберта в РФ, 2007. 143 с.
  10. Новое поколение: надежды, цели и идеалы. Двадцать лет спустя / науч. ред. А. А. Овсянников. М.: Изд. дом Международного ун-та в Москве, 2016. 352 с.
  11. Омельченко Е. Л. К вопросу о молодежных культурах в современной России / Е. Л. Омельченко, Г. А. Сабирова // XVII Апрельская международная научная конференция по проблемам развития экономики и общества: в 4 кн. / отв. ред.: Е. Г. Ясин. М.: Издательский дом НИУ ВШЭ, 2017. Кн. 4. С. 183-191.
  12. Омельченко Е. Л. Риски и удовольствия на сценах молодежного активизма современной России / Е. Л. Омельченко // Пути России. Альтернативы общественного развития. 2.0: сб. статей / под общ. ред. М. Г. Пугачевой, А. Ф. Филиппова. М.: Новое литературное обозрение, 2015. Том ХХ. С. 25-47.
  13. Радаев В. В. Миллениалы на фоне предшествующих поколений: эмпирический анализ / В. В. Радаев // Социологические исследования. 2018. № 3. С. 15-33. DOI: 10.7868/S0132162518030029
  14. Семенова В. В. Социальная динамика поколений: проблема и реальность / В. В. Семенова. М.: РОССПЭН, 2009. 271 с.
  15. Российская школа теории поколений — Rugenerations. URL: https://rugenerations.su/category (дата обращения: 12.03.2019).
  16. Шамис Е. Теория поколений. Необыкновенный Икс / Е. Шамис, Е. Никонов. М.: Изд. Университет «Синергия», 2016. 140 с.
  17. Howe N. Generations: The History of America’s Future, 1584 to 2069 / N. Howe, W. Strauss. New York: William Morrow & Company, 1991.
  18. Howe N. The Fourth Turning: What the Cycles of History Tell Us About America’s Next Rendezvous with Destiny / N. Howe, W. Strauss. New York: Broadway Books, 1997.
  19. Jones G. L. Strauss, William and Neil Howe ‘Generations: The History of America’s Future, 1584—2069’ (Book Review) / G. L. Jones // Perspectives on Political Science. Fall 1992. Vol. 21. No 4. Pp. 218. ISSN 1045-7097.