Social Networks as an Infrastructure of Interpersonal Communication: Transformation and Diffusion of Communication Frames (Tomsk Students’ Case)

Release:

2017, Vol. 1. №2

Title: 
Social Networks as an Infrastructure of Interpersonal Communication: Transformation and Diffusion of Communication Frames (Tomsk Students’ Case)


For citation: Glukhov A. P., Bulatova T. A. 2017. “Social Networks as an Infrastructure of Interpersonal Communication: Transformation and Diffusion of Communication Frames (Tomsk Students’ Case)”. Siberian Socium, vol. 1, no 2, pp. 82-96. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2017-1-2-82-96

About the authors:

Andrei P. Glukhov, Cand. Sci. (Philos.), Associate Professor, Department of Social Communications, Tomsk State University; glukhovap@tspu.edu.ru

Tatiana A. Bulatova, Cand. Sci. (Med.), Associate Professor, Tomsk State Pedagogical University (Tomsk, Russia); Web of Science RecheacherID: AAB-1578-2020; bulatowa@mail.ru

Abstract:

This article analyses the transformation of the communicative culture of virtual interpersonal relations and the virtual identity of the youth audience in social media space. The empirical base of the project is the field research of virtual interpersonal communications of student youth in Tomsk universities. Thus, this study has a pronounced regional specificity. The authors have used semi-formalized interviews and focus groups in offline and online formats on virtual social media sites. The main methodological method is the reinterpretation and transposition of theoretical conceptual schemes from the traditional offline communication to network communications. This allowed to identify the key frames of organising interpersonal communications in the social network space. In accordance with the hypothesis, the social media, as a new communicative infrastructure of interpersonal communications, becomes a carrier platform for two types of interpersonal communications — interpersonal strong close ties (as in a private communication organization) and interpersonal weak ties (as in semi-public communication). Based on analytics and the conducted qualitative research, the authors have come to the following conclusions: social platforms in relation to close interpersonal relationships do not change their structure and organization. Yet, they provide new opportunities for logistics (planning and alignment) of relations, management of communications (in terms of regulating the impression of oneself, the level of involvement, synchronization of contacts and access), and removing risks and uncertainty (greater transparency and ease of entry/exit). Weak network ties (in the format of semi-public communications) are masked as “quasi-close” relationships, and their participants use them for the purposes of self-presentation and acquisition of social capital among their acquaintances and other people. The authors see the further prospect of research of virtual interpersonal communications in the analysis of changes in the balance of communication modes under the influence of network platforms. Additionally, a further thorough study requires the transfer of interpersonal “frames” and patterns of relations into the sphere of professional and business communication, actively implemented in networked semi-public communications.

References:

  1. Batygin G. S. 2001. “Kontinuum freymov: dramaturgicheskiy realizm Irvinga Gofmana” [Continuum of Frames: The Dramatic Realism of Erving Goffmann]. Vestnik RUDN. Seriya: Sotsiologiya, no 2, pp. 15.
  2. Glukhov A. P., Bulatova T. A., Bychkova M. N., Okushova G. A. et al. 2016. Sotsial’nye seti kak ploshchadka organizatsii mezhlichnostnykh kommunikatsiy i performansa identichnosti tsifrovogo pokoleniya: sbornik materialov issledovaniya [Social Networks as a Platform for the Organization of Interpersonal Communications and the Performance of the Identity of the Digital Generation: A Collection of Research Materials]. Edited by I. P. Kuzheleva-Sagan. Tomsk: Tomsk State University.
  3. Goffman E. 2000. Predstavlenie sebya drugim v povsednevnoy zhizni [The Presentation of Self in Every Day Life]. Moscow: KANON-PRESS.
  4. Ploshchadka-gruppa, sozdannaya v ramkakh avtorskogo issledovatel’skogo proekta “Frending, virt, trolling i layking: issledovanie” [Site Created in the Framework of the Author’s Research Project “Friending, Virt, Trolling, and Liking: Research”]. https://www.facebook.com/groups/1087976241225793/
  5. Ploshchadka-gruppa, sozdannaya v ramkakh avtorskogo issledovatel’skogo proekta “Frending, layking, trolling: issledovanie” [Site Created in the Framework of the Author’s Research Project “Friending, Virt, Trolling, and Liking: Research”]. https://vk.com/club119169854
  6. Frindte V., Keller T., Shubert T. 2000. “Publichnoe konstruirovanie ‘Ya’ v oposredstvovannom komp’yuterom obshchenii” [Public Construction of the “I” in Computer-Mediated Communication]. In: Voyskunskiy A. E. (ed.).  Gumanitarnye issledovaniya v Internete. Moscow. 
  7. Berlinger M. R. 2000. “Internet and Alienation”. The New York Times, February 23. Accessed on: 7 October 2017. http://www.nytimes.com/2000/02/23/opinion/l-internet-andalienation-946346.html?scp=1&sq=inte... 
  8. Burke M. 2011. “Reading, Writing, Relationships: The Impact of Social Network Sites on Relationships and Well-Being”. Ph. D. diss. Pittsburgh: Human-Computer Interaction Institute, School of Computer Science, Carnegie Mellon University.
  9. Goffman E. 1974. Frame Analysis: An Essay in the Organization of Experience. New York: Harper and Row.
  10. Granovetter M. S. 1973. “The Strength of Weak Ties”. The American Journal of Sociology, no 78 (6), pp. 1360-1380.
  11. Keol L., Keol E., Meier B. 2012. “International Student’s Use of Social Network Services in the New Culture: A Case Study with Korean Youths in the United States”. Asia Pacific Educ. Review. 
  12. Kraut R., Patterson M., Lundmark V., Kiesler S., Mukophadhyay T., Scherlis W. 1998. “Internet Paradox: A Social Technology that Reduces Social Involvement and Psychological Well-Being?”. American Psychologist, no 53 (9), pp. 1017-1031.
  13. Peluchette J., Karl K. 2008. “Social Networking Profiles: An Examination of Student Attitudes Regarding Use and Appropriateness of Content”. Cyberpsychology and Behaviour, no 11 (1), pp. 95-97.
  14. Turkle S. 2011. Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other. Basic Books.
  15. Wellman B., Hogan B. 2006. “Connected Lives: The Project”. In P. Purcell (ed.). Networked Neighbourhoods. London: Springer-Verlag. DOI: 10.1007/1-84628-601-8_8
  16. Wolak J., Mitchell K., Finkelhor D. 2003. “Escaping or Connecting? Characteristics of Youth Who Form Close Online Relationships”. Journal of Adolescence, no 26 (1), pp. 105-119.

Социальные сети как инфраструктура межличностного общения: трансформация и диффузия фреймов коммуникации (кейс томских студентов)

Выпуск:

2017. Том 1. №2

Название: 
Социальные сети как инфраструктура межличностного общения: трансформация и диффузия фреймов коммуникации (кейс томских студентов)


Для цитирования: Глухов А. П. Социальные сети как инфраструктура межличностного общения: трансформация и диффузия фреймов коммуникации (кейс томских студентов) / А. П. Глухов, Т. А. Булатова // Siberian Socium. 2017. Том 1. № 2. С. 82-96. DOI: 10.21684/2587-8484-2017-1-2-82-96

Об авторах:

Глухов Андрей Петрович, кандидат философских наук, доцент кафедры социальных коммуникаций, Томский государственный университет; GlukhovAP@tspu.edu.ru

Булатова Татьяна Алексеевна, кандидат медицинских наук, доцент, заведующий кафедрой рекламы и связей с общественностью, Томский государственный педагогический университет; bulatowa@mail.ru

Аннотация:

Статья посвящена анализу трансформации коммуникативной культуры виртуальных межличностных отношений и виртуальной идентичности молодежной аудитории в пространстве социальных медиа. Эмпирической базой проекта выступили полевые исследования виртуальных межличностных коммуникаций студенческой молодежи вузов г. Томска. Тем самым исследование имеет ярко выраженную региональную специфику. Были использованы методы полуформализованных интервью и фокус-групп в форматах офлайн и онлайн, на виртуальных пабликах социальных сетей. Ведущий методологический прием — это реинтерпретация и транспонирование концептуальных схем теории с традиционного офлайн-общения на сетевые коммуникации. Это позволило выявить ключевые фреймы организации межличностных коммуникаций в пространстве социальных сетей. В соответствии с выдвинутой гипотезой, социальные медиа, выступая в качестве новой коммуникативной инфраструктуры межличностных коммуникаций, становятся несущей платформой для двух типов межличностных коммуникаций: межличностных близких сильных связей в формате приватной организации коммуникаций и межличностных слабых связей в формате полупубличной коммуникации. На основании аналитики и проведенных качественных исследований авторы пришли к выводу, что социальные платформы в отношении близких межличностных связей не меняют их структуры и организации. Но они предоставляют новые возможности логистики (планирования и выстраивания) отношений, менеджмента коммуникаций (в плане регулирования впечатления о себе, уровня вовлеченности, синхронизации контактов и доступа), а также снятия рисков и неопределенности (большей транспарентности отношений и легкости входа/выхода). Сетевые слабые связи в формате полупубличных коммуникаций маскируются в сетях под формат «квазиблизких» отношений и используются их участниками в целях самопрезентации и приобретения социального капитала в среде знакомых и профессионалов. Дальнейшая перспектива исследований виртуальных межличностных коммуникаций видится авторам в анализе изменения баланса режимов коммуникации под воздействием сетевых платформ. Также дальнейшего пристального изучения требует трансфер межличностных «фреймов» и паттернов отношений в сферу профессионально-делового общения, активно осуществляемый в сетевых полупубличных коммуникациях.

Список литературы:

  1. Батыгин Г. С. Континуум фреймов: драматургический реализм Ирвинга Гофмана / Г. С. Батыгин // Вестник РУДН. Серия: Социология. 2001. № 2. С. 15.
  2. Глухов А. П. Социальные сети как площадка организации межличностных коммуникаций и перформанса идентичности цифрового поколения: сборник материалов исследования / А. П. Глухов, Т. А. Булатова, М. Н. Бычкова, Г. А. Окушова и др.; науч. ред. И. П. Кужелева-Саган. Томск: Издательский дом Томского государственного университета, 2016. 112 с.
  3. Гоффман И. Представление себя другим в повседневной жизни / И. Гоффман. М.: КАНОН-ПРЕСС, 2000. 304 с.
  4. Площадка-группа, созданная в рамках авторского исследовательского проекта «Френдинг, вирт, троллинг и лайкинг: исследование». URL: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1087976241225793/
  5. Площадка-группа, созданная в рамках авторского исследовательского проекта «Френдинг, лайкинг, троллинг: исследование». URL: https://vk.com/club119169854
  6. Фриндте В. Публичное конструирование «Я» в опосредствованном компьютером общении / В. Фриндте, Т. Келлер, Т. Шуберт // Гуманитарные исследования в Интернете / под ред. А. Е. Войскунского. М., 2000.
  7. Berlinger M. R. Internet and Alienation / M. R. Berlinger // The New York Times. 2000. February 23. URL: http://www.nytimes.com/2000/02/23/opinion/l-internet-andalienation-946346.html?scp=1&sq=inte... (accessed on: 7 October 2017).
  8. Burke M. Reading, Writing, Relationships: The Impact of Social Network Sites on Relationships and Well-Being / M. Burke // Human-Computer Interaction Institute School of Computer Science Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh. Pennsylvania, 2011. 
  9. Goffman E. Frame Analysis: An Essay in the Organization of Experience / E. Goffman. New York: Harper and Row, 1974.
  10. Granovetter M. S. The Strength of Weak Ties / M. S. Granovetter // The American Journal of Sociology. 1973. No 78 (6). Pp. 1360-1380.
  11. Keol L. International Student’s Use of Social Network Services in the New Culture: A Case Study with Korean Youths in the United States / L. Keol, E. B. Meier // Asia Pacific Educ. Review. 2012.
  12. Kraut R. Internet Paradox: A Social Technology that Reduces Social Involvement and Psychological Well-Being? / R. Kraut, M. Patterson, V. Lundmark, S. Kiesler, T. Mukophadhyay, W. Scherlis // American Psychologist. 1998. No 53 (9). Pp. 1017-1031.
  13. Peluchette J. Social Networking Profiles: An Examination of Student Attitudes Regarding Use and Appropriateness of Content / J. Peluchette, K. Karl // Cyberpsychology and Behaviour. 2008. No 11 (1). Pp. 95-97.
  14. Turkle S. Alone Together: Why We Expect More from Technology and Less from Each Other / S. Turkle. Published by Basic Books, 2011.
  15. Wellman B. Connected Lives: The Project / B. Wellman, B. Hogan // In P. Purcell (ed.). Networked Neighbourhoods. London: Springer-Verlag, 2006. DOI: 10.1007/1-84628-601-8_8
  16. Wolak J. Escaping or Connecting? Characteristics of Youth Who Form Close Online Relationships / J. Wolak, K. Mitchell, D. Finkelhor // Journal of Adolescence. 2003. No 26 (1). Pp. 105-119.